Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2012
a fairly light story with a rather irritating heroine. it was obvious who the baddie was from fairly early on. won't be searching out more stories from this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Really good first novel, sadly ruined by the sheer volume of mistakes. I found myself having to stop and try and translate what the sentence should have said in so many places it was a real spoiler. Obviously there has been a lot of rejigging, which sadly left much of the book garbled. There were a lot of words used incorrectly, such as eminent instead of imminent. So, all in all, a great plot, with believable characters, but ruined with errors. It would be good to see more from this new author, but seriously tidied up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Needed better editing. Good character, but descriptive paragraphs were too long for me - perhaps I was reading it too late at night. I found myself flicking over them. I knew the guilty party fairly early in the book, but this did not stop me reading. Similar plot and characters to other books in this vein. Single, working girl, becomes involved in a death at work, meets very attractive police officer, unintentionally solves the crime.
I wait for the sequel......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Considering how many books I have read in the past year, all being cosy or thriller mysteries, the fact this one stays in my mind 6months down the line really says something about the strength of character development. Some elements were classic "cosy" but I really could help but feel fond of Louisa; amidst a quickly changing work dynamic, combined roles and responsibilities due to personelle crisis following a death, treading on toes of more experienced colleagues plus trying not to get herself killed!
It didn't matter Louisa worked for a toy factory, this workplace setting was different from the average amateur sleuth mystery where you join them before and after their work day when they are investigating, or cramming far more than physically possible into a lunch hour and yet never get sacked for tardiness! It was cleverly familiar yet universal and the action kept happening on company time!

I liked it for the twists and turns too, obviously. But everyone will say that. I didn't guess the killer until at least 82% of the way through, and the climax started by 88%! Must have been good!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
This is well written, and moves along in a measured way for the most part. Unfortunately, the narration reflects the character and behaviour of the central character: skittish and all over the place. There are long descriptions of clothes, make-up, etc., and the first-person narrator lurches from one drinking binge, lover or would-be lover, to the next. The pace quickens towards the end, and suddenly we are into a whole new set of scenarios, most of them, unfortunately, pretty predicatble. All ends well, however. Quite an enjoyable read, really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This book was easy to read. The storyline doesn't have too many surprises though it is interesting to find out 'whodunnit'. It felt it was average hence the 3 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
An easy read but a little bland. The story seemed to meander along with not too many surprises and didn't give a sense of mystery or suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Extremely unpleasant reading, every single person is described as having bad breath, filthy hair, body odour, hygiene problems, bad dress sense, bad manners, all of the locations are smelly, drab, filthy, painted in disagreeable colours, even the flowers Lulu receives are 'ostentatious'...
Not one single iota of the promised 'humour', just boring moaning and whining, made worse by dozens of typos, very bad grammar and sorely lacking in vocabulary (the heroine's supervisor is her 'principle' and many such malapropisms...)WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here