Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 31 March 2016
I studied this text for my Literature A-level and fell in love. Wilde definitely doesn't disappoint here, in fact he excels, despite his challenging circumstances in which he composed this piece. I recall that he only saw the text in full only a handful of times (for final editing and so on) but wrote his love letter (and apologia) to Bosie page by page over the course of 3 months during his imprisonment.

My only complaint is that there's an error with the title, so be wary book collectors!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
This is very moving writing, but in the several biographies I have read of Oscar Wilde it has said that he addressed a great deal of de Profundis to Alfred Douglas, but I could find no mention of him. Does anyone know why?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2014
I think this is Oscar Wilde's best book.

he realisations he has in Jail give him a depth and a wisdom that only upon reading De Profundis we realise was absent in his other works, fabulous and seductive and witty and charming as they are! It takes a very big man to learn and grow from pain such as Oscar Wilde was put through and become more beautiful and more profound, more generous humble and compassionate - this book makes you realise Oscar Wilde was such a man.

Possibly my favourite book!

Only unfortunate thing here is the writing is very small.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
Despite what it says here, and on the back of the book, this is not the full text - only the second half is reproduced. Disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2013
So tragic in content, this slender volume is beautifully and sensitively presented and made a most interesting present combined with a DVD of the Stephen Fry movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2013
I bought this for my 16 year old, an avid Oscar Wilde fan, and was irritated to see an error in the title. It was written on the cover as De Profoundis. Careless. The work is superb but the product is disappointing as a result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2014
the man was a genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2016
No comment on the quality of what's here but it isn't what's shown using the look inside function. I bought this hoping to get the essays "The Decay of Lying" and "The Soul of Man Under Socialism" neither of which are included in the edition sold which instead has a selection of Wilde's letters.

If you want De Profundis or The Ballad of Reading Gaol then this edition is they are included but do not buy if for you're looking for Wilde's other essays and poems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2010
As a great lover of De Profundis, and the joyful owner of a facsimile copy, I really looked forward to hearing Colin Redgrave reading this audio version, especially as it was actually recorded in Reading Jail. Alas though that was the first big mistake as far as I am concerned, as the echo of the empty cell that we are supposed to imagine, really does at times drown out Corin Redgraves emotion filled voice. A voice, which a lot of the time is not very clear anyway, and made worse by an poor attempt at an Irish accent. An accent which incidentally, by the time Wilde wrote this letter, he had deliberately lost.
I am very disappointed with this reading, but would not dissuade anyone from buying it, as we all hear things differently..!
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2016
This is an early edited version of De Profunds, and as such a waste of time. CHECK that you are getting the complete thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)