Buy Used
£0.80
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from USA. Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. A tradition of quality and service.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Days Are Just Packed (Calvin and Hobbes) Paperback – 1 Jan 2000

4.6 out of 5 stars 41 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 1 Jan 2000
£0.78
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 175 pages
  • Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing; 01 edition (1 Jan. 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0836217357
  • ISBN-13: 978-0836217353
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 1.5 x 30 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (41 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 843,873 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

riotous fun. (TIME OUT)

Beautifully drawn, with hilarious and often thought-provoking text. (JERSEY EVENING POST) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

Spaceman Spliff, Stupendous Man, the ferocious tiger Hobbes, and the rest of Calvin's imaginary friends return in this book. Other books featuring these characters include "Something Under the Bed is Drooling", "Weirdos from Another Planet" and "Scientific Progress Goes Boink". --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
As a Calvin and Hobbes enthusiast, I must point out that "The Days are Just Packed!" is my personal favourite of all the albums ever released. While there is not a single Calvin and Hobbes album that is short of excellence, this one in particular stands out in my preference because it features what is possibly the best streak of excellent strips ever made in the Calvin and Hobbes world.

Everything in this album will be thoroughly appreciated by every Calvin and hobbes fan and while it features strips published at a time when all the characters were fully developed (the album was originally released in 1993), it will leave a strong impression in a new reader who has just been introduced to the Calvin and Hobbes universe.

If there is one highlight to point in this album, it has to be the series of strips where Calvin must write and illustrate an assignment for school - truly, a classic involving virtually everything we cherish about Calvin and Hobbes.
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The comic itself is fantastic, I already have it as a book. But, I ordered this in kindle and it is really not well presented. The captions are so small that you have to enlarge the screen to read it, and the design does not carry well in the screen.

This is not the kind of thing that can be done well in kindle - for fans of Calvin and Hobbes (and I am a big one), stick to the book version !
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The Days are Just Packed was the first Calvin and Hobbes book I ever read and I remember it fondly. It was summer 1995 and I was 14. It was probably one of the best summers ever and while staying at my grandparents I found this book. I had never heard of Calvin and Hobbes and ever since sitting with this book in the garden all day in the sun I have been a huge fan of them.

It's not really a humor accessible to children, such as Garfield, but humor for adults based on a child's unique view on the world. I'm sure we were all like Calvin at some point, and we all had a Hobbes. No matter what your age Calvin and Hobbes will always remind you of the innocence of childhood and the outrageous imagination within.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This collects cartoons originally published between April 1991 and November 1992 and is made all the better by reproducing the Sunday strips in full colour. With his usual mix of humour and poignancy, Watterson has Calvin try to take on the world, thwarted by his parents, his age and his occasional bouts of extreme laziness. My highlights include the title panel (waiting to waterbomb Susie), “I’m home….”, Calvin twisted around (“oh wait, there’s my belly button…”), the flying car, Hobbes dreaming, Dad cycling, Astrology (and being a girl-magnet), Chewing magazine, a mention of The Noodle Incident, creativity (last minute panic!), Hobbes writing the class story, sitting out and looking at the stars, smooching the ladies, the big slide, Halcyon days, monsters under the bed, survival kits, pictures for a “fictitious childhood” and re-reading (again) ‘Hamster Huey’. Funny, smart, touching at times and occasionally melancholic, this is a superb collection and well worth a read. Very much recommended.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I suppose I should be too old for cartoons by now but obviously not as I enjoyed these as much as I did 20+ years ago. so if you like a wry, very humorous take on life and families with a small energetic child, give these a go. Great for children of all ages.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I got this for xmas some years ago and re-read it from time to time. It sill makes me laugh our loud, especially where Calvin is playing doctors & nurses with Susie. I woke up in the middle of night laughing about that after I read this.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The first few pages didn't quite hook me, but because I love Calvin and Hobbes, I continued reading, and then I found myself really getting into it. I love the way Bill Watterson combines his long stories with his brief four-panel ones. (A bonus for this book was the color Sunday strips, which previous collections didn't have [except the treasuries.]) I loved the long stories in this book, including Calvin and Hobbes' war against each other and then Susie, the reappearance of the time machine, and the first appearance of Chewing magazine! I loved this book, but there was just something lacking that made me give it 4 out of 5 stars. (The title definitely wasn't as creative as Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons.)
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 13 April 1999
Format: Hardcover
It's FUNNY! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA...( gasp....) Well, you get the point.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback