Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
60
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2006
So, i've had a sneaky listen of the album and I was so glad with the final product. Now being a huge fan I was concerned that through time the band would conform, like a whole heap of other bands, and 'go pop'. However, Killswitch have retained their integrity and produced an album that is inspiring and memorable. I am a big fan of riff driven songs, and decent breakdowns that get my heart beating and head banging. Killswitch deleiver the goods with stand out tracks such as first single 'My Curse', 'For You', 'Break the Silence', 'Through the Eye of the Storm' and 'This is Absolution'. Howard Jones's vocals are just incredible, with breathtaking versatility, the guitars are as always technical and heavy, with a hint of ambience at times. Justin Foley nails the drums as if he were powered by some kind of machine. One pleasent suprise was to hear a lot more of Adam D singing on certain tracks, a great set of chords right there if I don't say so myself! All in all superb!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Another gr8 metal album from KSE. There now lod singer Howard Jones was a very muscular man and it told in his singing and the music which became ever more metal and powerful, loud, heavy metal at that.Buy!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I like this album when my mood negates it great driving music I think would recommend I always try to buy from zoverstocks as I've purchased a lot from them and Always get great price and never a bad disc recommend them highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
It's an album. A piece and collection of music. Therefore, having made the purchase this should be obvious, I can say I like it. You may not. It's got some great songs on there. If you like My Curse, Break this Silence etc. it's worth the small price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
This is the only Killswitch Engage album that I have on CD and it is totally amazing! The music is heavily influenced by 1980's Thrash Metal with the guitars sounding heavy, crisp and clear. The vocals are influenced by Burton C Bell of Fear Factory and range from melodic singing to coarse raspy screaming and are delivered at a very high standard. Musically speaking each of the musicians in this band are superb and deliver a quality of song writing you would expect from a more seasoned act. There are beautiful choruses and melodies that enhance the heavier sections of the album which makes each song memorable and groovy. I was taken aback by the quality and power of this modern day Thrash Metal Master piece and can highly recommend it to anyone who loves heavy music that transcends mere genre. This album will blow your mind and make you sit up and pay attention to the proficiency that Killswitch Engage deliver in a seemingly effortless way. In my humble opinion this album deserves to be spoken of in the same category as "Master of Puppets", "Reign in Blood", "Among the Living", "Impact is Imminent", "Practice what you Preach" and "Peace Sells but who's Buying". If you love Thrash Metal with Death Metal leanings then you owe it to yourself to buy this incredible piece of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2007
Killswitch Engage, go into there fourth studio album, with a lot of promise. After the huge success of 'End Of Heartache', KsE were bound to come up with something good, and they certainly did.

'As Daylight Dies' starts off with the title track, Daylight Dies, which starts off slow, but straight away you can tell, that they have grown again. Each album getting stronger, in riffs and vocals. Howard Jones vocals are more melodic, but still as heavy on the screaming. The riffs more technical, and the songs just as infectious. This is proved no more when the second song kicks in straight after the first. 'This is Absolution' is one of my favourites, this is because it has everything, technical guitar work, fast drums, brilliant singing and hard hitting bass.

The first single from this album, 'My Curse', is a good choice, as it appeals to all rock fans, moshing away will be easy to do, and so will just listening to it in your room. And with the second single 'Arms Of Sorrow' similar, KsE are on a winner with this album.

With a sell out tour started, KsE's set list will be even stronger, and the gigs even better. If you have a ticket, get ready for the show of your lives. Three major albums worth of songs, a cover of Dio's Holy Diver, what more can you need. KsE are coming to take over the metalcore world, look out Shadows Fall, the KsE boys are here to kick some ass!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2006
I've been a KSE fan since the self titled album back when Adam D was the drummer and Jesse Leach was in charge of vocals. Alive of Just Breathing followed on smoothly, the sound barely changed. Although on that album Adam D moved to the guitars and Tom Gomes came in to play drums.

Then Jesse and Tom left, I thought it may be the end for KSE, most bands tend to die when they bring in a new singer. But Howard Jones and Justin Foley came in from BloodHasBeenShed, The End of Heartache came out, and they proved that the right changes can improve even a band as great as KSE.

Howards vocals are a perfect blend of agression and melody. He's also a big guy, which makes KSE look as hard as they sound. As Daylight Dies is in my opinion the best album yet, it's got a much more polished sound than the previous albums, and with Adam D producing in the same way he's produced many hardcore albums its no suprise this sounds so good.

I've listened to this album a lot already but can't choose a standout song. They're all amazing, and when the CD finishes you want to hear it all again. If you are already a fan then this is a no brainer, you just have to buy it. If you're into Hardcore/Metalcore then the same applies. Not only are they great on CD they are also great live so I'd recomened getting tickets for the shows in 2007.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2008
Whilst it may not be the biggest compliment, there is some truth in the fact that Killswitch Engage are the acceptable face of metalcore; heavy enough, melodic enough and, if this genre is your thing, easily accessible.

'As Daylight Dies' sees the band putting in a heavier performance than we last saw on 2004's 'The End Of Heartache', and this is evident from opener 'Daylight Dies', with its simple, hulking but effective verse riff. It feels more muscular than its predecessor, and thats further backed up through songs like 'Still Beats Your Name' with its fast and desperate delivery. And the band's single writing ability doesnt seem to have been dampened with age with 'My Curse'; yet another contagiously catchy tune. Elsewhere, 'Desperate Times' provides a welcome change of (snail) pace, and intense album closer 'Reject Yourself' might just be the best song the band have done.

I cant claim to subscribe to the 5 star rated views of everyone else here, because 'Alive Or Just Breathing' will probably remain this band's high point. But the return to a harder edge and heavier sound are still very welcome here, and Killswitch have again done what they do best; write a solid, consistent and impressive metalcore album with every tick box from breakdowns to breakups covered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
This album is basically another good killswitch album, if you liked there previous work I can't see why this won't appeal. Howards voice sounds beter than ever, heavier screaming & better melodic vocals.

Get it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2006
If you don't have this album you should buy it immediately! Straight from the get go Killswitch unleash a fury of guitars and heavy beats into your aural passages. There is nothing, i repeat nothing that i can pick about this album that i don't like. First single "My Curse" is a fantastic pick to give you the general gist of the album. From the first time i heard Killswitch back in the day with "My Last Serenade" i was hooked. When Jessie Leach quit the band in a hurry i did not know how Howard Jones would replace such a talent. What Howard brought to the band increased their power ten fold. Jones has an unmatched vocal ability and Joel Stroetzel (lead guitar) has even been said to "channel God through his fingers". I believe that not only are they a step ahead of the rest of the Metal bands around these days but are one of the most powerful and influential Metal bands of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)