• RRP: £14.99
  • You Save: £1.51 (10%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Day Of Battle: The Wa... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: nice clean copy (280516B)
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Day Of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy 1943-44 (Liberation Trilogy) Paperback – 2 May 2013

3.6 out of 5 stars 36 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£13.48
£7.40 £7.93
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£13.48 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Day Of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy 1943-44 (Liberation Trilogy)
  • +
  • The Guns at Last Light: The War in Western Europe, 1944-1945 (Liberation Trilogy)
  • +
  • An Army At Dawn: The War in North Africa, 1942-1943 (Liberation Trilogy)
Total price: £41.95
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 816 pages
  • Publisher: Abacus (2 May 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0349116350
  • ISBN-13: 978-0349116358
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 4.3 x 19.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (36 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 193,980 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Majestic... Atkinson's achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war." --"The Wall Street Journal ""A triumph of narrative history, elegantly written, thick with unforgettable description and rooted in the sights and sounds of battle."--"The New York Times" "In "The Day of Battle," Rick Atkinson picks up where he left off in "An Army at Dawn," his history of the North African campaign, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2003. A planned third volume, on the Normandy invasion and the war in Europe, will complete "The Liberation Trilogy," which is shaping up as a triumph of narrative history, elegantly written, thick with unforgettable description and rooted in the sights and sounds of battle . . . He excels at describing the furor of battle, and the Italian campaign provides him with abundant raw material. . . Mr. Atkinson, a longtime correspondent and editor for "The Washington Post," conveys all of this with sharp-edged immediacy and a keen eye for the monstrous and the absurd."--William Grimes, "The New York Times" "Monumental ... With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose."--"The Washington Post""A very fine book .... Anyone who devoured "An Army at Dawn" with relish will be delighted with Atkinson's account of the Sicilian and Italian campaign."--"The New York Times Book Review""[A] fascinating account of the war in Sicily and Italy."--"USA"" Today""Gripping .... [Atkinson] combines an impressive depth of research with a knack for taut, compelling narrative."--"Star Tribune "(Minneapolis-St. Paul)"Splendid ... the infantrymen who did the fighting will grab at readers' hearts."--"St. Louis"" Post-Dispatch""With "The Day of Battle, " Atkinson again proves himself to stand among the ranks of our most talent

Book Description

The second volume of Rick Atkinson's monumental trilogy about the Liberation of Europe in the Second World War.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Very well written and readable. Deals with the human element and the author has an informed view of military tactics and strategies, and is prepared to evaluate (in hindsight) key variables.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Its James Holland. Buy it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
just what I wanted
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Okay
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Yet another US author attempting to re-write history so that the US Army appears to have won it all by themselves. This selective revisionism is getting very boring.............
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I bought Rick Atkinson's "An Army at Dawn" (which follows the North African campaign from Operation Torch to Tunis) and, like many people, have been eagerly awaiting his newest book which covers Sicily and Italy.

The book rumbles from one end of Italy to the other, following the campaign in detail, with clear maps and some excellent photos. It being primarily a book about the American fighting in Italy, non-American units are sidelined in that the level of detail devoted to them is far less. Atkinson's writing style is at times florid but he never fails to point out the brutality, the humanity and the sacrifice.

There are minor errors scattered through the book, which an editor with a comprehensive knowledge of WW2 would have picked up. These include incorrect designations for weapons or vehicles or wrong calibre sizes for artillery. They aren't anything more than a niggle, but they are there.

The biggest weakness of the book, though, and the reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars, is that Atkinson has a Montgomery axe to grind, and grind it he does. He contrasts him unfavourably with Mark Clark, and in my opinion glosses over Clark's numerous faults.

Yes, we all know Monty was a pompous, overbearing, arrogant man. Atkinson's criticisms of him, though, imply that he was a poor general, which he was not. Atkinson objects to Montgomery's refusal to risk casualties, which is exactly the reason his men loved him - they knew he would not risk their lives without a good reason.

Atkinson does, however, gloss over Mark Clark's failings, which include his almost incessant self-promotion, his lack of strategic vision and his unhealthy opinion of the fighting strength of the British and French.
Read more ›
6 Comments 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Dear oh dear. Although I found this book interesting I just had to write a review about it's bias toward the Americans and almost contempt toward the British.You would think the British played no part in the Italian campaign after reading this book.I was a bit surprised and disappointed about this,especially as I had already read An Army At Dawn and found that to be a more balanced and fair account of the war in north Africa.Not taking away from the bravery of anyone who fought in the war,I thought Mr.Atkinson was quick to praise every other nationality and equally quick to criticize the British.Fair enough,he didn't make out that every thing the Americans did was right or good,but he didn't have anything positive to say about the British at all.
I have bought The Guns At Last Light and am looking forward to reading it,but I hope the final installment of the trilogy is kinder and fairer to the nation that had been at war since 1939, and whose people and armed forces had fought on alone against the Nazis when everyone else had succumbed to them.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A very revealing read and for one who lived through the period as a pre-teenager, quite a sobering window on the reality of what, then, seemed so brave and gallant.
Such a waste of so many good young lives through the pig-headedness and egoism of those in charge.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category