Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
112
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2013
I've been a fan of David Beckham since he burst on to the scene for Manchester United when I was aged 12, one of those people of whom anyone would find it hard to have any animosity towards, a hardworking individual who wasn't born blessed with amazing skills or pace but someone who worked hard at his game and became a great player despise some of his limitations, my only regret is that this book isn't solely about Manchester United ( club level wise) it would have been so perfect had he had his whole career and his favourite club, fantastic photos and all the chapters explain in detail eveyrtjng people need to know about the real David Beckham.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2015
"David Beckham" by David Beckham is an A4-sized, hard-covered, glossy picture book with a few pages of David Beckham's written reflections in between. Across eight chapters (England part one, London, Manchester, England part two, Madrid, Los Angeles, Milan, Paris) Beckham "looks at some of the images from my career and talk about what I was feeling at the time."

Because this is not an autobiography, Beckham has done that already, it doesn't cover his whole life, e.g. the Alex Ferguson moment with the boot is not mentioned, but it does cover the major events of his career: the free-kick against Greece, the sending off versus Argentina, the treble season with United etc., and the pictures and words do cover his whole career, from boyhood teams to retirement at PSG. There are a few modelling pictures along the way too, for Beckham fans who enjoy that sort of thing.

Beckham also demonstrates his wry wit. On his sending off against Argentina at the 1998 World Cup he writes "I texted Victoria and asked her if she had seen what had happened. She replied straight away to say that it didn't seem as if I had done much wrong. That was reassuring to hear, although, to be fair, she was not a football expert."

Through the rest of the book Beckham's love for his family comes through, as well as how important hard work was to getting him to where he got too, and how important it is to reach the heights in any profession.

Altogether then a lavishly illustrated mini-autobiography of a superstar footballer that will satisfy all Beckham fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
My mum was pretty chuffed with this. It's not all pictures, there's some memoirs and autobiography text in there of important moments in the lovely Mr Beckham's life. My mum liked it :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I have always been a big fan and this book sums him up and his career very well - a dedicated sportsman and a loving dad and husband. He will continue to be a big icon that he is and inspire others.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
O.M.G. This`s An Amazing Book. (LARGER-THAN I THOUGHT-IT-WOULD`VE BEEN) :)

A MUST BUY FOR ALL "BECKHAM-FANS" EVERYWHERE. :)

Fantastic Pictures/Photographs.

SuitaBle ReaDing By EveryBoDy.

"NICE-ONE-BECKS".XXXX
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
As an admirer of David Beckham this volume provides dozens of images of this football icon. He is an amazingly good looking man and the photography captures his handsome features. Is there nothing that this man can't wear and look so ravishing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
This is a beautiful book......its a hardcover but no dustcover here....the picture is printed on quality hardback. The book looks and feels special in keeping with the Beckham brand. This is more of a pictorial autobiography with some writing rather than a detailed biography. Lovely book for any Beckham fan.....fantastic knock down price on Marketplace....glossy mags can cost more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I've bought this book for my grandson for Christmas. He loves football and David Beckham's determination and hardwork is an inspiration to all young lads whether sporty or not.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Daughter in law's present for Christmas (one of them!)
She took back to London and read it, cover to cover, in under a week. Family joke was "...she even took D.B. to bed with her - but don't let V.B. know!"

Excellently written book - a worthy read.

Received this the day BEFORE Christmas even though it was 'estimated' for the day after Boxing day! Thank you for the swift despatch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
I thought i was buying an autobiography, this is more of a magazine rather than a book. I saw that the reviews were very good and thought this would be an interesting read about his career, but I'm quite disappointed. After flicking through several pictures of Beckham, you'll finally get to read a few paragraphs....then several more pictures and so on. If you want to just stare at a bunch of pictures of Beckham, I would recommend Google imaging him instead ...it'll be cheaper.
I'm just baffled how this has a 5 star review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)