Buy Used
£9.50
+ £2.78 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: In VERY GOOD general conditon, with some signs of previous ownership. Dispatched daily from the UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Darling Strumpet Hardcover – Large Print, 2 Apr 2012

4.2 out of 5 stars 109 customer reviews

See all 17 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Large Print
"Please retry"
£9.50
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Windsor; Large type edition edition (2 April 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1445879042
  • ISBN-13: 978-1445879048
  • Package Dimensions: 23.6 x 15.4 x 4.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 109 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,636,162 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"[A] richly engaging portrait of the life and times of one of history's most appealing characters!"
Diana Gabaldon
, author of the best-selling Outlander series
 
"Bawdy and poignant ... an ebullient page-turner!"
Leslie Carroll, author of Royal Affairs
 
"Hard to resist this sort of seduction – a Nell Gwynn who pleasures the crowds upon the stages of London and the noblest men of England in their bedrooms. A vivid portrait of an age that makes our own seem prudish, told with verve, humour, pathos... and not a little eroticism."
C.C. Humphreys, Actor and Author of Jack Absolute.
age."

"Now this was the novel about Nell Gwyn I was waiting for!”
The Incurable Blue Stocking

"An absolute triumph as a debut novel.... [It] is an absolutely brilliant addition to the historical fiction genre and might be the best novel on Nell Gwynn ever. …Nell would have applauded in approval and probably done a little jig to celebrate her tribute.”
Pittsburgh Historical Fiction Examiner

Five Stars! “Gillian Bagwell’s meticulously researched novel takes us from the cobbled, rubbish-strewn alleys of Covent Garden to the Royal Theatre in Drury Lane and into the royal court. She handles the 17th Century London street vernacular with aplomb….. I can thoroughly recommend this book, and look forward to Miss Bagwell's next foray into 17th Century England.”
Historical Novel Reviews

Five Stars! “….the reader is kept in absolute rapture from start to finish!... I enthusiastically recommend The Darling Strumpet  and if her debut novel is any indication of the fabulousness we can look forward to in future books by Gillian Bagwell then consider me hooked!!”
Passages to the Past

Five Stars Plus! “For …Restoration England lovers this book is a must…. The sky is the limit for Gillian’s future in historical fiction.”
Historically Obsessed

Five Stars! “This book was just all around solid.  The characters were rich and complex, the plot was paced well and the period language felt natural…. I LOVED it…..If you are a Nell fan, or a fan of historical fiction in general, this is a must read, and if you haven't read much his/fic, this book would be a great introduction!”
The Book Buff

 “The atmosphere of Restoration London is beautifully rendered in this richly textured novel. Sedan chairs, frost fairs, hot wassail, changeable silks – the details on every page evoke time and place.... I would definitely recommend The Darling Strumpet to anyone looking for a rich and spicy January read.”
The Misadventures of Moppet

“Written in the vein of Philippa Gregory’s Other Boleyn Girl and Tracy Chevalier’s Lady and the Unicorn…Gillian Bagwell is a masterful writer….  A thrilling and enchanting story that will stay with you long after you turn the last page.”
The Season for Romance

“A beautifully written and lively romp through Restoration England. Gillian Bagwell has captured the very essence of the period with a charm and wit that keeps you turning the pages… Don't you just love it when you find a new favourite author!!!!”
Jaffa Reads Too

“Bagwell’s presentation of a familiar and popular Restoration-era character brings to life the players, wits, wenches, and mistresses who populated the court of King Charles II…. Bagwell provides rich period flavor through dialogue, scene setting, verses, and quotations from plays in which Nell appeared to such acclaim…. A highly readable debut.”
Historical Novel Reviews

 “…as bawdy and engaging as Nell herself was reputed to be. Bagwell’s well-researched novel accurately captures the rowdy, sexy Restoration period…. Romantics will devour this engaging, sexy page-turner.”
Dolce Dolce

“Fans of historical fiction or the Restoration era, or simply desirous of an immersive, fast-paced look into another time, will likely find much to enjoy here.”
Pop Matters

“After this fabulous debut piece of work I cannot wait to see what else Gillian Bagwell has for us historical fiction fans.”
Burton Review

 “I loved it. I sat down and read it in one sitting. Yup. That good. I found myself caught up in the story and just didn't want to put it down…. This is a very enjoyable book on an extraordinary woman.”
Broken Teepee

“Nell claims her place in history and Charles Stuart’s heart, a memorable footnote to an era of flourishing theater and outrageous personalities, ever the people’s darling…. The lusty, good-hearted Nell has secured her place in England’s turbulent past, a destitute girl who wins the undying love of the Restoration king. Bagwell does her story justice.”
Curled Up with a Good Book

“Bagwell delights readers with tales of Nell Gwynn's escapades in historically accurate detail…. Nell would have given Madonna and Lady Gaga a run for their money had they been around back then! The Darling Strumpet is a well-told historical romance that will be enjoyed by Anglophiles and fans of the days of old alike.”
Fresh Fiction

“This is probably not a book I will ever re-read.  I don’t need to . . . I will never forget it…. Gillian Bagwell spent twenty years researching this, her debut book.  The wealth of historical detail makes it obvious that the time was well spent.”
Seductive Musings

Review

Praise for The Darling Strumpet: "Richly engaging portrait of the life and times of one of history's most appealing characters!" -- Diana Gabaldon "Bawdy and poignant ! an ebullient page-turner!" -- Leslie Carroll, author of Royal Affairs "Hard to resist this sort of seduction -- a Nell Gwynn who pleasures the crowds upon the stages of London and the noblest men of England in their bedrooms. A vivid portrait of an age that makes our own seem prudish, told with verve, humour, pathos! and not a little eroticism." -- C.C. Humphreys, Author of Jack Absolute "! an absolute triumph as a debut novel!. The Darling Strumpet is an absolutely brilliant addition to the historical fiction genre and might be the best novel on Nell Gwynn ever!. Nell would have applauded in approval and probably done a little jig to celebrate her tribute." -- Kayla Posney, Pittsburgh Historical Fiction Examiner

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 7 January 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 February 2012
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
33 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Format: Paperback
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?


Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?