FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Dance Dance Dance has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Greener_Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dance Dance Dance Paperback – 7 Feb 2002

4.4 out of 5 stars 69 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£3.28 £0.18
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • Dance Dance Dance
  • +
  • A Wild Sheep Chase
  • +
  • Hard-Boiled Wonderland And The End Of The World
Total price: £26.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage; New Ed edition (7 Feb. 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099448769
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099448761
  • Product Dimensions: 19.3 x 12.7 x 2.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (69 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 33,241 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"If Raymond Chandler had lived long enough to see Blade Runner, he might have written something like Dance Dance Dance" (Observer)

"An entertaining mix of modern sci-fi, nail-biting suspense and ancient myth...a sometimes funny, sometimes sinister mystery spoof, but like all good postmodern fiction, it also aims at contemporary human concerns, philosophical as well as literary" (Chicago Tribune)

"An entertaining adventure that takes us to the frozen north of Japan, to Hawaii and to the dark, damp corners of the imagination... Reading Dance Dance Dance is a bit like being taken blindfold on a joy-ride" (Independent)

"Mr Murakami writes metaphysical Far Easterns with a Western beat...there are echoes of Raymond Chandler, John Irving and Raymond Carver, but Mr. Murakami's mysterious plots and original characters are very much his own creation" (New York Times)

"Brilliantly combines elements of the surreal, film noir and existentialist enquiry" (Sunday Times)

Book Description

An assault on the senses, part murder mystery, part metaphysical speculation; a fable for our times as catchy as a rock song blasting from the window of a sports car.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
With 'Dance, Dance, Dance' Murakami has scored another major hit. Here we have a typical Murakami anti hero, a journalist who specialises in magazine articles of the most un-inspiring variety. He is fascinated by an old relationship and by the hotel in which this came to an end. he re-traces his steps back to the hotel which is no more and that has been replaced by a stylish and modern hotel. But something is not right. The resulting quest to find out the truth about his past lover, the hotel and the other characters he meets takes us into the usual Murakami world, part urban realism and part magical realism.
It say on the sleeve that Murakami most be one of the greatest novelists in the world - probably true this! A truly original talent.
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I've been aware of Murakami as a writer for a couple of years now, but it wasn't until last year that I finally bought a couple of his books (needless to say, very soon afterwards I bought the rest and devoured them one after the other). Dance Dance Dance is very much in the vein of Hard Boiled Wonderland & The End Of The World, and A Wild Sheep Chase (to which this book is a sequel, though it doesn't matter too much if you haven't read it) - in turns surreal, scary, funny, romantic and moving.
While it isn't my favourite story by this author - that would be a toss-up between Norwegian Wood and The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle - it does contain some utterly fantastic characters and typically unusual plotlines that keep you guessing even after you've reached the final page. If you've never read Murakami before, this perhaps isn't the best place to start, but it should on no account be missed.
Comment 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Dance Dance DAnce is a follow up novel to a Wild Sheep Chase, but it stands very much on its own as a book. You don't particularly need to read Wild Sheep Chase before this one. Anyway, I can say that Dance Dance Dance is a huge improvement on a Wild Sheep Chase (which I thought was pretty dire). Murakami delves into the surreal with this one, and usually when he writes about surreal metaphysical situations, it either tends to be really symbolic and thought provoking or really contrived. This however is Murakami on form I think, and found the peculiar situations that occur to the main protagonist to be reminiscent of Philip K Dick. Furthermore this books was definitely more mystery than his others too. And was really involved until the last page. He also manages to capture the feeling of loniliness really well within the book. And found myself thinking about the book alot days after I finished it. It's definitely one of the better Murakami novels, and definitely one of the darkest
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Having been increasingly disappointed by Murakami's more recent works (especially After Dark, a Murakami by numbers exercise and the reviews of the German translation of his 'Marathon' book aren't too promising either) I turned to one of the few early novels I hadn't read so far. Was the prequel 'A Wild Sheep Chase' extraordinary in subject matter, style and drama I am somewhat left deflated by 'Dance Dance Dance'. In contrast to other reviewers I believe it to be necessary to have read Sheep Chase to at least get some 'meaning' out of Dance. I have long since given up on a point in Murakami's books but this one comes across lost and warbling.
However, and this is what the 3 stars are for, it is, like all his books, a page turner. This will seem a contradiction to what was just said, and I really do not know how he does it, but his style is so smooth and likable that even when one ends up thinking 'so what for crying out loud?' one still wants to finish the book.
If you have never read Murakami, try Sheep Chase first, then the outstanding Hard- Boiled Wonderland, then Wind-up Bird. In my opinion that's all you ever have to read by this author, but those books will stay with you for a very long and happy time.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Intriguing as ever with Murakami with compelling characters that you wany to meet or know much more about. My only problem is the ending - or lack of one. I'm either lacking in sophistication in being disappointed with a failure to wrap up an ending that I can understand or the author fails. Well, that's for you to decide. Suffice to say that I'm an admirer of Murakami but that this left me frustrated. Still, beautiful simplistic prose
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Having recently found Murakami, and being entranced by his writing, I am in the process of reading all of his books.
I found this one the hardest to put down so far, and read it in 2 sittings over a weekend. As always Murakami blends the surreal with the everyday, and creates a mood and atmosphere which draws the reader in and holds you there. I found myself having to know what would happen next, slightly spooked by some of the surreal parts, and captivated by the mixture of alienation and hope which Marakami has created here.

I found myself lost into this book, and I was needing that. You can't ask for much more in a novel.

Great stuff - bring on the next one!

Highly recommended
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Guy on 8 Dec. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The sequel to A Wild Sheep Chase was another of Murakami's books I found it difficult to develop a strong opinion on either way. The first 100 pages or so breezed past, with echoes of the earlier novel reverberating around and opening up some interesting possibilities, unfortunately I didn't feel the second half the book lived up to the promised potential.

As always, Murakami writes beautifully and lyrically with a cast of well-thought out and believable characters and that will be enough to satisfy some. In recent interviews, the author's said that he doesn't really plan out his plots, he just sits down and writes, and I think the drawbacks of that style are particularly evident here, as things seem to rather peter out near an ending which is much more low-key than the build up suggested. I still quite liked it in places, but this is far from Murakami's best.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback