Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Damsel in Distress (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries (Audio)) Audio CD – Audiobook, CD

4.5 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD
£43.98 £32.35
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks; Unabridged edition (15 Jan. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1482950871
  • ISBN-13: 978-1482950878
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 1.8 x 14.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,969,007 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

A dauntless Daisy and good-natured fun. (Kirkus Reviews)

Appropriate historical detail and witty dialogue are the finishing touches on this engaging 1920s period piece. (Publishers Weekly)

As always, Dunn evokes the life and times of 1920s England while providing a plot that is a cut above the average British cosy. This will delight readers who love country-house mysteries. (Booklist)

For fans of Dorothy L. Sayers' novels. (Library Journal) --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

The fifth whodunnit in the Daisy Dalrymple murder mystery series --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Damaskcat HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 29 Oct. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Daisy Dalrymple's childhood friend Philip Petrie sends her an urgent telegram asking for her help. His girlfriend, Gloria Arbuckle has been kidnapped and is being held to ransom until her wealthy father can produce the large sum demanded for her release. Philip himself was also kidnapped but then dumped by the criminals and fortunately rescued by Daisy's cousin, Edgar Dalrymple.

Gloria's father does not want the police contacted so Daisy must try and solve the crime and rescue Gloria before the ransom is paid. This is a fast paced story as Philip and Daisy along with several friends try and track down where the kidnappers are holding Gloria without arousing anyone's suspicions which stretches Daisy's powers of invention to the limit.

I enjoyed this story and loved the way Daisy's cousin is portrayed as a bit of a bumbler even though it soon becomes clear her understands more than he will admit to and would quite like to be involved in whatever the young people have going on. If you have not read any of this series before then this might not be a good one to start with though the series can be read in any order. This is an enjoyable mystery set in the 1920s and will appeal to readers who enjoyed David Roberts' Lord Edward Corinth and Verity Browne series.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 13 Oct. 1997
Format: Hardcover
In 1923 just outside London, Phillip Petrie, the son of an English Lord, stops his car on the side of the road to see what is causing a terrible knocking sound. Gloria Arbuckle, the daughter of an American industrial giant, stops to offer her assistance. The pair begins to see each other and Phillip quickly falls in love with Gloria. Phillip courts Gloria and her poppa as he plans to win them both over and marry her.
One day, while Phillip and Gloria were driving together, the car breaks down. Phillip tries to fix it, but they are set upon by some thugs. He is tied up and she is abducted. The kidnappers instruct poppa to raise a ransom without involving the police if he wants his beloved daughter back alive. Phillip turns to his childhood chum, Daisy Dalyrmple, to save the life of his beloved.
DAMSEL IN DISTRESS is a fun to read, who-done-it that ironically laughs at itself as well as high society. Daisy and the support cast (both the recurring and new characters) are all wonderful in a zany way, making this a series worth reading.
Harriet Klausner
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Daisy Dalrymple is a jolly heroine and the novels are a good read - I have read most of them now and enjoyed them - they entertain without straining the emotions
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Aletheuon TOP 500 REVIEWER on 17 Mar. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is the fifth of the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple whodunnits and her romance with DCI Alec Fletcher is coming along nicely, although if course he is very much her social inferior. Not that she cares - she is a modern woman, 1920s style, earning her own precarious living and striking out for freedom from her suffocating aristocratic family.
The Hon Philip Petrie is much more Daisy's social equal, but not her intellectual equal, although she is no bluestocking, but a rather charmingly chaotic and fun young woman. The very English Philip has fallen for an American girl, Gloria Arbuckle, daughter of a millionaire. The clash of cultures and expectations between the two cultures is amusingly drawn. Carola Dunn is a British woman living in the US and she makes full use of her knowledge of her knowledge of the two cultures. There are lots of jolly japes as Daisy romps to a triumphant solution to the mystery of Gloria's kidnap.
Carola Dunn successfully evokes the atmosphere of the England of the 1920s, at least as it appears in the books of writers such as PG Wodehouse. It pokes the same kind of gentle fun at both the antics of the British aristocracy and the brash attitudes of Americans. It is an entertaining romp with a fairly inconsequential plot, very well-written and amusing. I enjoyed it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
While I didn't find this story quite as engrossing as the other books I have read in the Daisy Dalrymple series, it was still very enjoyable. The plot was a bit "obvious" but the characters were just as well-drawn as usual.
I like the fact that one "meets" several of the characters again and again in this series.
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I find these books such easy reading, light-hearted but interesting plots. Daisy is believable and the fact that everyone talks to her so easily leads her into trouble all the time. This story is as good as all the others.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Graham R. Hill VINE VOICE on 18 Nov. 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Ms Dunn demonstrates in this, the fifth Daisy Dalrymple novel, that she can not just knock out a well crafted, cosy mystery set in the classic inter-war period, but that she can also create a sustainably and plausibly structured framework for a continuing series. The twin requirements of short-term plot and location, and the probably more difficult blend of longer term character development within a recognisably continuous background are handled so efficiently that one almost cannot see the join. Old faces change believably to suit the author's purpose and some entertaining new ones are introduced. Admittedly these later additions are increasingly straight from the pages of PG Woodhouse (eccentric aristocrat with obsessive hobby, comedic American millionaire with attractive daughter etc), but, as always, if one is going to steal then do it from the best.

There is nothing earth shatteringly different or challenging about these books, but what they do they do very well.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback