Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
7
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2005
Fans of Horror and dark gothic films such as the Crow, this is the book to start reading.
The storyline, combies eight diffrent people who are all teaken to see a millionaire recuse, in his own private stronghold. Some by choice, someotherwise.
When they arrive they disocver the true reason why they have been invited. Within this Laws keeps the reader engrossed in his dark gothic and truely fringhting world of Jack Draegerman.
The book itself is a total page turner that leaves you wnating to call in to work sick, just to see what happens next.
With twists and turns at every corner, Deamonic is a truly great read, for any horror fan, and a great buy
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2001
If you are a fan of the films "The House On Haunted Hill" then read this book. It takes that story to the depths of darkness. From the opening chapters on character selection to the closing finale, this book keeps your attention riveted. The characters build in complexity and motivations come in layer after layer, never leaving you wanting. An excellent offering from another master of horror. Also for fans of Dean R Koontz, I would recommend another Laws book "Somewhere South Of Midnight". Laws books can blend with the tastes of fans of some of the top horror writers of our time. Whether you favour King, Koontz or Herbert, this author will not fail to delight.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
I found this in my local Oxfam Books, and even though I'd never heard of Stephen Laws liked the blurb on the back enough to give it a whirl.

First some qualifications. Some of the characters are a bit clichéd: the mercenary on one last mission, the feisty female journalist etc. There's also little in the way of psychological insight into them (then again, I don't think Stephen Laws intended this book to be an examination of the human psyche). The writing is not the best I've ever read either. It certainly won't be winning any awards.

But if you can put these issues aside 'Daemonic' is great fun. A pure page-pumping adrenalin rush!

The book is basically a series of set pieces based around scenes from the horror movies of fictional movie producer Jack Draegerman, with a secondary story about a mercenary called Taylor trying to save his daughter. Naturally the two strands connect towards the end - but not before loads of heart-racing tension, some clever horror scenes, plenty of twists and turns (including one HUGE surprise) and more action than you can handle.

The book's two greatest strengths are the character of Draegerman himself (a sort of demonic version of Roger Corman) with quite a subtle backstory that hints rather than spells-out his life. And his house - 'The Rock'. The latter is the masterstroke of the book. About as an original and vividly drawn setting as you can imagine.

To sum up, a real treat especially if, like me, you're a big horror and thriller fan. Once you pick it up you'll certainly find it hard to put down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
I read this in the 90s. I was already a fan of Stephen Laws style of writing but what really impressed me with this was the amazing setting. The end was a killer too. All in all it was an amazing read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Another great book from Stephen laws he gets better with every book he writes,.he has also written a very good anthology which is good too.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Excellent book. I bought this copy for my grand daughter to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2008
I reckon the author and his agent wrote these other articles, because the book is absolutely awful. The characters have no depth whatsoever and the ill-justified plot has no credibility. It has a promising start, however this leads into a narrative that reads about as engaging as the companion literature to a platform game. I waded through this book, enduring the wet dishcloth twists, hoping for a grandstand finish- only to be disappointed again.

If you want 'gripping' do not read, borrow or buy this book. You'll find more grip in a Blackpool arcade grabber machine.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here