D'Oyly Carte Opera Compan... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Brit-Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

D'Oyly Carte Opera Company Performs Gilbert & Sullivan

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £19.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Sold by Rikdev Media and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
2 new from £19.99 7 used from £0.24
£19.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by Rikdev Media and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Gilbert & Sullivan Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (29 Jan. 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Prism
  • ASIN: B000068ZTB
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 321,367 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Hark The Often Is Sounding
  2. Judge's Song
  3. We Sail The Ocean Blue...Buttercup's Song
  4. My Gallant Crew...I Am The Captain Of The Pinafore
  5. When I Was A Lad
  6. Never Mind The Why And Wherefore
  7. He Is An Englishman
  8. Pirate King's Song
  9. Oh Is There Not One Maiden Breast?...Poor Wandering One
  10. How Beautifully Blue The Sky
  11. I Am The Very Model Of A Modern Major General
  12. When The Foeman Bears His Steel
  13. When You Had Left Our Pirate Fold
  14. Ah! Leave Me Not To Pine Alone
  15. A Policeman's Lot Is Not A Happy One
  16. With Catlike Tread
  17. March And Entry Of The Peers
  18. The Law Is True Embodiment
  19. When I Went To The Bar
  20. When All Night Long
  21. When Britain Really Ruled The Waves
  22. Oh Foolish Fay
  23. Nightmare Song
  24. If You Go In
  25. Finale: Soon As We May

Disc: 2

  1. If You Want To Know Who We Are...A Wandering Mistrel I
  2. Our Great Mikado
  3. Behold The Lord High Executioner
  4. I've Got A Little List
  5. Three Little Mainds From School
  6. Braid The Raven Hair
  7. The Sun Whose Rays
  8. Here's A How-De-Do
  9. A More Humane Mikado
  10. The Flowers That Bloom In The Spring
  11. Tit Willow
  12. There Is Beauty In The Bellow Of The Blast
  13. Is Life A Boon?
  14. Where I Thy Bride
  15. Hereupon We're Both Agreed
  16. Strange Adventure
  17. A Man Who Would Woo A Fair Maid
  18. When A Wooer Goes A Wooing
  19. For The Merriest Fellow Are We
  20. We're Called Gondolieri
  21. From The Sunny Spanish Shore
  22. In Enterprise Of Martial Kind
  23. I Stole A Prince
  24. When I Merry Maiden Marries
  25. A Regular, Royal Queen
  26. Take A Pair Of Sparkling Eyes
  27. There Lived A King
  28. In A Contemplative Fashion
  29. Small Titles And Orders
  30. I Am A Courtier Grave And Serious
  31. Finale: Once More Gondolieri

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x8e9512d0) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8ebac750) out of 5 stars Whoever chose the selections and the performances did the choosing with love and knowledge 10 Aug. 2014
By Allen R. Levy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have had this CD for many years. It is my go-to Gilbert & Sullivan collection. Whoever chose the selections and the performances did the choosing with love and knowledge. The CD is from a British company called Prism Leisure, which is, unfortunately, defunct. I have CDs of some of the other operas, and they are fine, but this is by far the best single collection I have encountered. If this thing is still around (used, probably), jump on it. You won't be disappointed---and you will be charmed and, dare I say it, uplifted. Rapture!---and not modified rapture, either.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8e737144) out of 5 stars The best of G&S 23 Sept. 2013
By Donald L. Kass - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This appears to be a reissue of two Israeli CDs which I picked up for about $5 each about twenty years ago. All the performances are from the classic Sargent 78 sets of the late 1920s --so this is as close to the original savoyard
tradition as you are likely to get in listenable sound. The complete recordings would be preferable but for the
non-G&S fanatic, this is really the best of them. Here are the real classic performers: Bertha Lewis, Ella Halman,
George Baker, Martyn Green, Leslie Rands, Darryl Fancourt. I listen to these CDs over and over again. Truly priceless
HASH(0x8e67b9e4) out of 5 stars Classic Old-Style Collection of a Generous 56 of Gilbert & Sullivan Faves From 7 Operettas 15 Oct. 2014
By Lady LiberTEA - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Quality heavy materials used to reproduce these old recordings in the maximally stylized music & phrasing of the original D'oyly Carte Opera Company, but I find Gilbert & Sullivan's oh so cleverly amusing & even moving lyrics easier to discern in the American-made "Pirates of Penzance" with celebrities Linda Ronstadt & Kevin Kline, and that I prefer more modernly sophisticated sound & recording technology.

But I'm happy to have been able to purchase this rare collection at a reasonable price & enjoy challenging my memory & verbal dexterity singing along w/ soloists & heartily resounding dual-gender choruses of this generous 2-CD collection of 56 songs classically performed from seven of G&S' best-loved opera/operettas Mikado, Pinafore, Penzance, Gondoliers, Iolanthe, Trial By Jury, & Yeoman :)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8e9c1a8c) out of 5 stars Good bargain. 25 Aug. 2004
By Kimba W. Lion - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The performances are good--this is the D'Oyly Carte Opera Company, after all--and you get 2 full CDs, with 2 selections from "Trial by Jury", 5 from "HMS Pinafore", 9 from "The Pirates of Penzance", 9 from "Iolanthe", 12 from "The Mikado", 6 from "The Yeomen of the Guard", and 13 from "The Gondoliers". The booklet is a bit skimpy, and only lists recording dates for the first CD (1929-1949). But the sound is good, and the music is great, and at this price it's a great "greatest hits" collection.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8e77b024) out of 5 stars Fun Music!! 29 Jan. 2011
By Gina - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This Gilbert & Sullivan cd is great! Their music is fun, catchy & good motivating music. I can put the cd in & get lots of housework done while listening. It's full of energy & easy, if you listen, to sing along. I am glad I found this cd. I am not disappointed in it & carry it in my car as well as have it on my Zune.

Great buy, I recommend to anyone who wants an energized cd.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category