Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 24 June 2017
Excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Haynes. Says it all really. In depth information on something you want to know more about to get something done.

So far as it goes this is a good book. Due to it being under the Haynes umberlla I was expecting far more than what was actually published here. That said it is still a very good book. I had high hopes for a good range of reference material in the Sources section but it is very light.

The Mulberrry information was very enlightening. I frequently see the Phoenix caisson off Havant Island but never knew excatly what it was or how it ended up there.

One area, completely missed, is that of the work of the Assault Engineers. There is an aside about Hobart's Funnies but nothing about how the breaching teams operated and succeeded on the beaches.

Overall this is an informative book for those with little knowledge of Neptune and Overlord. I don't think it comes close to covering the actual Battle of Normandy.

A worthwhile buy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
I really liked this book, it gives a superb, in depth background to the technology behind the invasion, and the people who were the brains behind that technology, often lightly dealt with in the historical accounts of the fighting.
I have a holiday rental in Normandy, and have bought this book as part of my holiday reading for guests, along with military accounts and battlefield guides, which I think it complements perfectly.
Highly recommended!
CK
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
This book covers everything you are likely to need to know about the planning and execution of D-Day, the landing craft, tanks, mulberry harbour , gliders and forward landing strips for example.

Everything you need under one cover - at a fair price - what more could you ask for?!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Book arrived very swiftly and well packaged.
bought as gift for a friend who absolutely loved it. Friend travelling to France for a D Day tour so very pleased - book just the job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
It is one of the best books on D-Day operations I have purchased in that it explains with good diagrams and photographs
plus more details on the more unusual subjects, such as the Horsa glider which has been most useful to complete a model
I am constructing for my museum as a tribute to soldiers that crash landed just outside Arnhem at Megen . One criticism is that it would have been nice to see more detailed drawings of the Hamilcar glider and explanation to the numbers in the photograph. The coverage of Mulberry is also very good. On the whole very good value for money
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 July 2014
Brought as a present, but I did get to look through it when the person it was for received it! He was really pleased with the level of detail, and the range of things covered. As it was a present I did not get to study it in too much detail, but it may actually end up in my Xmas stocking next year! A great book written in the same way as the Haynes Manuals loved by many. If in doubt get it. It is one of those books that would make a great coffee table conversation starter ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
This was purchased with Gold beach and again will be a great read. SO MUCH DETAIL NEVER BEFORE seen and glad I came across this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
A very good overview of the mechanics of D-Day. Ideal for the modeller & historian alike. It fills in a lot of the background missing from the usual accounts of the action.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Excellent. I really felt this WAS a how to do it manual - some Haynes manual books miss the point. The sections about the Normandy air landing grounds and artificial harbours seems particularly well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)