Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Great for running routes as well as cycling. Very user friendly. Maps and descriptions are easy to follow. Lovely photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2008
Hooray - cycle routes that suitable for all the family! Having 'lost' my copy of this book to both friends and family members on several occasions, I have finally had to hide it! Before you even embark on one of the great routes, simply reading through this book is a real treat with lovely photos and interesting text. The routes are clear and easy to follow and provide helpful information as to the level of cycling 'challenge' - particularly useful when looking for routes to go on with children.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
I just had to write something after finding this book. Not only are the routes honestly described but photos are wonderful. As a fairweather cyclist it is great to have routes that "normal" people can have a go at.
The text provides clear and informative instructions with hints of where to stop off on the way.
What a great way to explore Sussex
I will be certainly working my way through the book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
This is an essential coffee table addition to any household with a bike (or 2 or 3 or 4!) in it - it is guaranteed to be well thumbed, stained, pored over and dog eared after a very short space of time. The routes vary from easy family rides (flat, off road and interesting for the kids) to the more exerting and adventurous. The ones we have tried (1 7yr old and 1 3yr old on a "drag"-along) have been great fun and left us wanting to do more the following weekend! I have even cycled a local trail on my own and loved being off-road, in the woods yet safe knowing where I was. The maps for each route are easy to read and the photography is beautiful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
Being an injured runner I thought I'd try and keep some fitness by taking up a mountain bike. I bought the book and quickly became completely hooked. I managed to complete all twenty rides in the summer/autumn of 2010 and can say I thoroughly enjoyed each one. Most can be done like a spin class or alternatively a leisurely ride for the family - its up to you. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
We've not tried any of the cycle rides yet (we are fair weather cyclists!) but there are lots which look suitable and appealing spread all over Suusex with plenty suitable for our family (kids aged 8 & 4). The book breaks them down into sections starting with family friendly ones which are very short, gradually increasing in length and challenge. Plenty of detail given.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
Gave this as a Christmas present, person receiving it thought it was a good book.
I thought from the image it was bigger but smaller size is better to take on a bike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Good clear maps, but was a little disappointed that not many of the routes were in W Sussex.we live in Hants, but if you live in Sussex would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Definitely a family-friendly mix. If this description makes you pause, then leaving this book alone is probably wise. The two longest routes are 14.5 and 17 miles. Some are exclusively off-road, while others are mostly on country lanes. Their common factor: being roughly within a 15-miles radius of Cuckfield.

Layout lacks the polish and functional clarity of more prolific publishers like the AA and Reader's Digest. It's not helped by silly typefaces for many of the headings; seemingly the publisher's attempt to impress their own identity. But all you need to know is certainly there. Readily comprehensible too, despite the slightly DTP feel.

The most important information is a definite plus. Route directions are well presented; the maps are not only extremely clear, but attractive in their own right.

The photos are all in keeping. Some are quite lovely.

The author adopts a distinctly chatty style. There are even ocassional hints of a repressed indulgent grandiloquence! Such informality could easily become tedious in a larger book, yet feel welcoming in a smaller volume. You might perhaps think it inappropriate.

So, for the target audience, a very nice little publication. Possibly appealing less outside this audience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Great little book can't wait to start trying out the rides!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)