Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
56
4.4 out of 5 stars
Cyberlink Power DVD 14 Ultra (PC)
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Change
Price:£34.99 - £79.99


on 23 May 2015
BRILLIANT SOFTWARE VERY USEFUL I REALLY ENJOYED IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 August 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Power DVD14 Ultra is the latest media player from Cyberlink and plays absolutely everything from Blu-Ray, 3D, HD, DVD, AVCHD, 4K (untested) to MP4 and MTS movie files which can be imported straight from the camera/camcorder as well as batching photos together for slideshows. The ‘True Theater’ feature is superb - poor colours on original files can be brought to life in better quality visuals than the original files. As a dedicated YouTube fan (and with several channels of my own) a feature I especially enjoy is watching upscaled and enhanced YouTube and Facebook videos with all the wobbliness removed.

This version also offers a generous 10GB of Cloud storage so files can be viewed anywhere on a PC, laptop, smartphone (android or iphone) and files on these can be seamlessly synched to the Cloud storage.

It’s a powerful package for anyone regularly using multimedia files, especially when on the move. It’s intuitive to use, can be remotely controlled via smartphone. There’s really nothing at all not like – other than the high price point. It’s undoubtedly the best media-playing package I have ever used and while I am thoroughly enjoying its features and benefits which deserve its 5-star rating on performance, I have to question whether I would pay £67 for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you've got a blu-ray drive on your PC with no software to play stuff on it- or the software you've got is limited and/or outdated- Cyberlink provide what is probably the market standard in proprietary software to sort those problems out.

And it's a very comprehensive bit of kit too with an intuitive UI and the advantage of receiving updates and, in addition, has handy mobile apps for Android or iOS that enable you to control the functions remotely from your smartphone.

So as comprehensive a package as you could hope for if playing blu-ray and DVD media on your PC is a top activity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 August 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As I have said before in previous reviews of PowerDVD I am not keen on Windows Media Player or it's limited functionality. CyberLink are slowly evolving into a respectable software developer, however they need to eliminate the cheap tricks. Ads interrupting programs on TV is fine, but ads interrupting programs on my computer is unacceptable.

The streaming services are great if your broadband can accommodate it, personally I'd rather download films on a time-limit but that's just me. The search function only seems to work for newer movies too. Virtually all media formats are catered for here including 4k playback for those of you who have 4k TVs. But you'll be limited to self-shot camcorder footage for that codec as there are currently no movies available on physical media or downloadable (to my knowledge) that are in 4k. That is a resolution which will not be made fully available to the consumer for a while (if ever - as I doubt people will want to upgrade from BD to whatever the 4k format arrives on).

It'll work on your laptops, tablets and phones too, if you are the kind of person who enjoys watching things on tiny screens. I do find the YouTube and other social media accessibility to be quite good though. I currently use my PS3 for such browsing, but PowerDVD offers a rival counterpart that is just as good.

I'm not currently big on cloud storage, so I never bothered with that. But please do make sure that you have a Blu-ray drive before you load BDs into it. Not making assumptions about other reviewers, but you do need the hardware to go with the software.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 July 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an old favourite and now in its 14th release. It comes as three versions with a common core to which various additions are made in the more advanced and costlier versions; they are in progression, Standard (the basic package), Pro (adds PowerDVD Remote and provides Blu-Ray and 4K video support) and Ultra (adds PowerMedia Player and 3D support to the previous package). Also with Ultra, it adds the capability to sync your various media files including photos to the Cloud and adds DLNA support for NAS devices.

There are other broadly similar alternatives of which WinDVD (now part of Corel) is one. Each have their own loyal followers, but one brand may support something that others do not. If that feature is important, then go for it. However, CyberLink have other media-centric software packages and others that have a photo- or video-editing function with which PowerDVD may interlink.

PowerDVD is primarily an advanced media player, not just for videos but for audio files too, and is claimed to provide superior video performance compared with some of the less costly or freebie packages. If your needs are modest or you don't play a lot of video one of the freebies will probably suffice but, if you are more demanding and have some of the less common formats within your varied collection, then PowerDVD may well be a more effective answer. It supports most formats of both audio and video files and has sufficient inbuilt technology to use the more advanced capabilities of today's video adapters which few of the freebies are able to provide.

A downloadable app, PowerDVD Remote, may be used with any Android, iPhone or iPad to act together as a remote control with PowerDVD and your computer. There are other free CyberLink apps that are available, details of which are included within the limited documentation. Together, they add much functionality to a fully-featured package. Installation is normally via the DVD but, in the event that your computer does not have the necessary optical drive, you now have the option to download the full package via a members' page (Signup required) and to install via a USB stick, hard drive or an SD card. This should relieve concerns of some of its potential users.

It has had issues in the past that have attracted adverse comments from some users using specific hardware. Many will have never encounterd any such problem. Hopefully, all those past problems have now been resolved.

There was a hiccup at the end of installation when inputting the key; a character may have been incorrect as an error message appeared and the sequence was then about to be checked and corrected. However, the program instantly uninstalled without warning and left no traces. On reinstallation, much faster this time, the key installed without error.

As PowerDVD can be a moderately costly package in its advanced versions, you may want to ensure that you purchase the most appropriate package for your own requirements. For example, there is no need to buy the Ultra if you never play 3D movies and have no means to view them on your PC, or don't need Cloud or NAS support; a lesser version would probably suffice. You could upgrade at a later date should your needs change.

Some PC manufacturers provide an older version of the basic package as part of their installations. Cyberlink provide an upgrade path and a discounted price should you wish to upgrade and update.

As a long-established package, the program is a solid performer that is likely to be around for several years to come. There should be few reasons not to consider its purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My son has been using this as his blu ray drive had no software with it to actually play blu ray movies (it could handle games but not films). This has been the solution to his problem. It was easy to install, though he thought the instructions might throw a novice pc user off a bit; generally, though, he found them clear and user-friendly. It also installed pretty quickly, all things considered. The user interface is not cluttered or confusing, and he has found it very easy to do whatever he liked with it. It has played blu rays of considerable length and with lots of bells and whistles, and never turned a hair; it plays dvds with ease, and the same for cds. Everything seems to run smoothly, good picture and sound quality, and no issues. As for online video, he has an HD monitor and says this is the first software that has given him online video at HD quality. He has also used it in conjunction with his iPad and says it does synch very well and works exactly as supposed to. All round, very happy with the software and all its features.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The new version of PowerDVD is here, and it's a lot like the old version. In fact it feels like the last few versions, which have seen very small incremental improvements over the past few years. That isn't necessarily a bad thing as it keeps everything consistent for old users, but it does mean if you've owned a PowerDVD from the past few years there is little here to make an upgrade worthwhile. The interface is much more Win7/8 friendly, but really that's the only real difference I can see after using it for an hour or two. In terms of playback it is as good as ever, it plays everything I've tried so far (except for some that even VLC wouldn't play, so I can't blame it for that, they may be corrupted files). It is smooth with perfect seeking, no judder, and all the options work as you would expect. Even very high bitrates didn't slow it. This also applies to disc playback, both DVD and BluRay.

Compared to 'free' or bundled software this is a big step above in terms of support and performance, so it comes down to the price. Are you going to use it enough to justify that premium price? If you watch several hours of good quality video a week then I'd recommend the investment - this will last you for a good few years before any upgrade is needed. If you're just watching low-bitrate downloads then I'd personally not bother - get a cheaper alternative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 July 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Power DVD 14 Ultra is the latest version of the PowerDVD Media player and builds further on the extensive feature set of previous versions. The biggest addition to this is the addition of cloud storage allowing you store your media in the cloud and then play it within PowerDVD from anywhere you install it. It also comes now with a free digital copy if you sign up for an account.

There are three versions of PowerDVD, the standard version with DVD playback, Pro which adds Blu Ray (pretty essential), 4k support and a remote app for tablets and phones and this ultra version which includes media sharing and 3d playback.

I've been using PowerDVD for years now and have been very happy with it. I've continued to use it since and had no problems with it meeting my needs so am more than happy to stick with it.

As with the previous version this Ultra Edition of PowerDVD also includes media sharing capability, enabling you to import your media libary from your PC in and share it out to a number of different devices.

It's worth noting that this doesn't un-install the previous version of PowerDVD as part of installation, so be sure to manually remove it first so the software all works correctly.

Overall this is still a good media player with a solid set of features and good quality Blu Ray playback. I'm not sure it has enough features to be an essential upgrade for recent buyers but it's an excellent option if you don't have it yet or have an older version.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you have a blu-ray drive on your PC, you probably already know that, because of high license costs, playing blu-ray discs is actually a bit of a pain. Free options are hard to come by.

Cyberlink has been going for a while now (well, it's in its fourteenth iteration) and is as good an option as anyway. I've been using it for a couple of versions now and this is as good as before, with some nifty features (though it's not at all essential if you have version 13).

Feature rich, it is as good a choice as any. Obviously, it plays your blu-rays. There's a cloud-player, although 10GB doesn't allow for that much to to be stored. I think my favourite new feature, however, is the remote control feature. You can, by using an app, make your Android mobile into a remote control for your PC. There are free versions, but this is an excellent one to use, if you have Cyberlink.

It's not cheap, certainly, but this is recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2014
Platform: PC|Edition: Ultra Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My main reason for purchasing Cyberlink PowerDVD 14 Ultra is to be able to watch Blu-ray discs on my laptop. The external Blu-ray drive I bought did not come with the relevant drivers/software and it took an expensive dedicated program such as PowerDVD to make it work.

Expensive PowerDVD certainly is but in my opinion it is worth it. The pleasant looking interface is easy to get around with its Explorer-type navigation on the left. It turns your computer into a media hub with its many features and high quality playback.

PowerDVD 14 Ultra is equipped with the latest audio and video standards to ensure the best Blu-ray viewing no matter what your PC configuration is. Its upscaling capabilities are superb - for example, the program can convert SD DVDs and videos to HD. And don't thnk PowerDVD is just for DVDs - it's a great universal player which can handle every format you can think of.

PowerDVD offers something unique that sets it apart from rival programs: it can act as a virtual platform which alows youto watch HD videos on smartphones and other gadgets. PowerDVD can also be set to be controlled using a mobile device.

Any niggles? PowerDVD 14 can sometimes take a while to load, and I have yet to figure out how to play videos from YouTube.

This is a great program that has come to replace VLC as my preferred media player. Though originally I bought it to play Blu-ray discs, I now use it to play all my video files (and it's also a very good music player).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)