£21.95 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by EliteDigital UK
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Cutting Butter Box set

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £21.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by EliteDigital UK.
3 used from £4.98
£21.95 Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by EliteDigital UK.

Product details

  • Audio CD (25 Feb. 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Sugarbeats
  • ASIN: B00005YXMI
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 643,120 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Apple jump
  2. I left my baby
  3. Riff interlude
  4. Volcano
  5. Between the devil and the deep blue sea
  6. Ham 'n' eggs
  7. Hollywood jump
  8. Someday sweetheart
  9. I never knew
  10. Tickle toe
  11. Let's make hey while the sun shines
  12. Louisiana
  13. Easy does it
  14. Let me see
  15. Blues (I still think of her)
  16. Somebody stole my gal
  17. Blow top
  18. Gone with 'what' wind
  19. Super chief
  20. You can't run around
  21. Evening
  22. World is mad (part 1)
  23. World is mad (part 2)
  24. Moten swing

Disc: 2

  1. It's torture
  2. I want a little girl
  3. All or nothing at all
  4. Moon fell in the river
  5. What's your number
  6. Draftin' blues
  7. Five o'clock whistle
  8. Love jumped out
  9. My wandering man
  10. Broadway
  11. It's the same old south
  12. Stampede in G minor
  13. Who am I
  14. Rockin' the blues
  15. It's square but it rocks
  16. I'll forget
  17. You lied to me
  18. Wiggle woogie
  19. Beau Brummel
  20. Music makers
  21. Jump the blues away
  22. Deep in the blues
  23. Jitters
  24. Tuesday at ten

Disc: 3

  1. Undecided blues
  2. I do mean you
  3. 9.20 special
  4. H and J
  5. Feedin' the bean
  6. Goin' to Chicago blues
  7. You betcha my life
  8. Down down down
  9. Tune town shuffle
  10. 123 O'Lairy
  11. Basie boogie
  12. Fancy meeting you
  13. Diggin' for Dex
  14. My old flame
  15. Fiesta in blue
  16. Tom Thumb
  17. Take me back baby
  18. King Joe (part 1)
  19. King Joe (part 2)
  20. Moon nocturn
  21. Something new
  22. I struck a match in the dark
  23. Platterbrains
  24. All of me

Disc: 4

  1. Feather merchant
  2. Down for double
  3. More than you know
  4. Havard blues
  5. Coming out party
  6. One o'clock jump
  7. Blue shadows and white gardenias
  8. Ay now
  9. Basie blues
  10. I'm gonna move to the outskirts of town
  11. How long blues
  12. Royal garden blues
  13. Bugle blues
  14. Sugar blues
  15. Farewell blues
  16. Cafe society blues
  17. Way back blues
  18. St Louis blues
  19. Rusty dusty blues
  20. Ride on
  21. Lose the blackout blues
  22. Time on my hands
  23. It's sand man
  24. Ain't it the truth
  25. For the good of your country

Product Description


Containing just under 100 tracks from the Count Basie band at its early peak, Cutting Butter is an appetising package. The title comes from a Basie remark about the ease with which he wanted his band to swing, and with a rhythm section featuring Freddie Green, Walter Page and Jo Jones, swing in this music is as natural as breathing. This is a chronological set providing complete master takes from the late autumn of 1939 to the summer of 1942 and therefore features tenor masters Lester Young, Buddy Tate and Don Byas, trumpeters Buck Clayton and Harry Edison and the two inimitable trombonists, Dicky Wells and Vic Dickenson. Classic vocals are provided by Jimmy Rushing and near-classic ones by Helen Humes while rather more commercial vocals come from Earle Warren. There are also two brief guest appearances--some rare blues singing by Paul Robeson (!) and some powerful tenor from the great pioneer, Coleman Hawkins. Though big band performances predominate there are four delightful tracks by the rhythm section alone and four more where they are joined by Clayton and Byas only. --Graham Colombé

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

I don't understand because this set don't have opinions of buyers. is a very cheap and very good set. But is much more important that is a great set. You have the Basie's Band full recordings between 1939-1942 from Columbia. Yes I know haven't "all" with Lester or Holiday (¿). The set have the last recordings with Lester Young in the band ( 34 tracks), but you have more: the band that ever was "cutting butter" with your swing in your time. The set ( disc 4) have a Basie perfomance with his All-American Rhythm Section ( in trio and sextet, recorded the day 24th july 1942).
When Lester go out of the band, you can found plays the sax tenor to Buddy Tate and Don Byas. And all the greats musicians of the Basie's Big Band : D. Wells,Buck Clayton, Harry "sweets" Edison, Freddie Green, Jo Jones and Walter Page. You can found singing to Jimmy Rushing or Helen Humes and "rare" recordings how "Suite Big Joe part 1 & 2" with Paul Robeson. you can found others greats tracks how "Goin'to Chicago", Fiesta in Blue" ( when Buck Clayton plays superb) or more commercials themes how "I struck a Match in the Dark". This song was sang by Warren in live ( and with the Basie's band) with a little candle in the darkness. Others tracks was V-dics, etc... the set have a 12 page with full information over date of the recordings, original number of track, all in chronological order. Is a nice little book. If you look the price, the very good sound and nice view of the set, and the great music that have the four records, I'm sure that you will think if you buy the set that was a great and enjoy purchase. Highly recommended!
2 Comments 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category