Buy Used
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Curious Habits of Dr Adams: A 1950s Murder Mystery Hardcover – 23 May 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£12.20 £0.50
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

All Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale. Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: John Murray (23 May 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1848544707
  • ISBN-13: 978-1848544703
  • Product Dimensions: 16.4 x 3.2 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 676,100 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description


Jane Robins has written an endlessly enjoyable book, which reads like an Agatha Christie (Craig Brown, Mail on Sunday)

She tells the story with great brio, and a real feeling for the vanished social milieu in which Adams operated (Lynn Barber, Sunday Times)

The case against Adams as a serial killer is a classic of British crime, but Jane Robins takes nothing for granted. She re-examines the evidence, consults modern experts (some of whom worked on the enquiry into the activities of Dr Harold Shipman) and presents her own perturbing conclusions. On the basis of this book, would you have convicted the curiously behaved Dr Adams? (Saga)

Vividly characterised, wonderfully atmospheric and thoroughly riveting (Daily Mail)

This is a compelling, very well-written story. It will feed the British love of a good murder mystery. Robins gives her own verdict in the final chapter but her readers are the jury (Scotsman)

One to keep you alert on the beach (Observer)

A compelling account of a murder mystery (Oldie)

Vividly characterised, wonderfully atmospheric and thoroughly gripping (Evening Standard Book of the Year)

A gripping tale that bears an uncanny resemblance to the case of Harold Shipman (Sunday Telegraph)

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Kate Summerscale, this is the chilling true tale of Dr John Bodkin Adams, the family doctor suspected of murdering 160 of his patients in 1950s Eastbourne.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

19 August 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
13 January 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?