Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £7.49

Save £3.50 (32%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Curious Habits of Dr Adams: A 1950s Murder Mystery by [Robins, Jane]
Kindle App Ad

The Curious Habits of Dr Adams: A 1950s Murder Mystery Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 46 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£7.49

Length: 368 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Storyteller 2017 Winner - The Relic Hunters
This year's contest has found its winner: The Relic Hunters by David Leadbeater invites you to join the reckless relic smuggler and his comrades in the search of one of the world's lost ancient wonders. Learn more

Get a £1 reward for movies or TV

Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply.



Product description

Review

Jane Robins has written an endlessly enjoyable book, which reads like an Agatha Christie (Craig Brown Mail on Sunday)

She tells the story with great brio, and a real feeling for the vanished social milieu in which Adams operated (Lynn Barber Sunday Times)

The case against Adams as a serial killer is a classic of British crime, but Jane Robins takes nothing for granted. She re-examines the evidence, consults modern experts (some of whom worked on the enquiry into the activities of Dr Harold Shipman) and presents her own perturbing conclusions. On the basis of this book, would you have convicted the curiously behaved Dr Adams? (Saga)

Vividly characterised, wonderfully atmospheric and thoroughly riveting (Daily Mail)

This is a compelling, very well-written story. It will feed the British love of a good murder mystery. Robins gives her own verdict in the final chapter but her readers are the jury (Scotsman)

One to keep you alert on the beach (Observer)

A compelling account of a murder mystery (Oldie)

Vividly characterised, wonderfully atmospheric and thoroughly gripping (Evening Standard Book of the Year)

A gripping tale that bears an uncanny resemblance to the case of Harold Shipman (Sunday Telegraph)

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Kate Summerscale, this is the chilling true tale of Dr John Bodkin Adams, the family doctor suspected of murdering 160 of his patients in 1950s Eastbourne.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2022 KB
  • Print Length: 368 pages
  • Publisher: John Murray (23 May 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AFAYGK0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 46 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #290,444 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?



Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 24 May 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 August 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 July 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?