Crystal Silence - The ECM... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Crystal Silence - The ECM Recordings 1972-79 Box set

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £25.72 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
21 new from £23.56 6 used from £17.99
£25.72 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • Crystal Silence - The ECM Recordings 1972-79
  • +
  • Like Minds
Total price: £33.99
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (24 Jun. 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: ECM
  • ASIN: B002EIMRK2
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 216,254 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Señor Mouse
  2. Arise, Her Eyes
  3. I'm Your Pal
  4. Desert Air
  5. Crystal Silence
  6. Falling Grace
  7. Feelings and Things
  8. Children's Song
  9. What Game Shall We Play Today

Disc: 2

  1. Duet Suite
  2. Children's Song # 15
  3. Children's Song # 2
  4. Children's Song # 5
  5. Children's Song # 6
  6. Radio
  7. Song to Gayle
  8. Never
  9. La Fiesta

Disc: 3

  1. Señor Mouse
  2. Bud Powell
  3. Crystal Silence
  4. Tweak

Disc: 4

  1. I'm Your Pal
  2. Hullo, Bolinas
  3. Love Castle
  4. Falling Grace
  5. Mirror, Mirror
  6. Song to Gayle
  7. Endless Trouble, Endless Pleasure

Product Description

Product Description

Dazzling duo recordings by two of modern jazz's most creative players in a 4-CD Set, bringing together the history-making recordings 'Crystal Silence' (1972), 'Duet' (1978) and the live double album 'In Concert, Z³rich, October 28, 1979'.

The duo was a seldom-tested format in jazz when pianist Chick Corea and vibraphonist Gary Burton, at the instigation of Manfred Eicher, came together for 'Crystal Silence', but its luminous music proved a resounding success and that first ECM recording became enormously influential, changing directions in modern jazz. Both 'Duet' and the Z³rich recording won Grammy awards, and Chick and Gary toured to worldwide acclaim, astonishing audiences with their improvisational fluency. They have continued to make music together, for almost 40 years now. In 2008 Concord Records issued 'The New Crystal Silence' which promptly topped the US jazz charts. Now is the moment for younger audiences to discover the real thing - the original 'Crystal Silence'. The essential and authentic 'Crystal Silence - The ECM Recordings' shows how the story began. Two live selections, "I'm Your Pal/Hullo Bolinas" and "Love Castle", appear on CD for the first time in this collection. Other bonuses include rare artist photos, reproductions of original covers, and liner notes.

Personnel: Chick Corea (piano), Gary Burton (vibes)


(4 stars) Corea's regular liaisons with Burton have been consistent for their taste and imagination. -- The Times, (John Bungey), September 12, 2009

(5 stars) These albums retain their freshness, intensity and still manage to communicate the sheer joy of music making. -- Jazzwise, (Stuart Nicholson), November 2009

It's all very good...the live version of "Señor Mouse" is particularly amazing. -- Independent On Sunday, (Phil Johnson), September 13, 2009

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I find the interplay between vibes and piano breathtaking I saw them both in1980 they are both legends in their own right.this music classical and jazz even chamber abounds with energy and vitality in particular la fiesta tweak and bud powell are amazing.this is not simply mood music if you like these two artists they complement each other
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x8e5c4354) out of 5 stars 6 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8d6c4c90) out of 5 stars Classic Recordings Collected 16 Mar. 2012
By Gonzo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
These albums were groundbreaking and exciting when released. Now, 40 years later, they retain their vitality, and have seemingly improved with age. (I always thought that cd's made quiet music better because the eventual pops and clicks of vinyl are absent. These discs sound really good to my ear. Note: I did not gauge them or electronically measure them against the original vinyl like some reviewers; they just sound great. ) This package is a great way to get all the discs for a reasonable price. And I know of no other way to get the additional live tracks form the Zurich recording. Put these on, and sit back, and listen: you will become enveloped in some of the finest acoustic jazz on cd recorded by two giants of the field. And I feel certain you will revisit them frequently.

(Warning: if anyone pays attention and purchases the "sets" recommended in the "frequently bought together" section, don't in this case. The disc "crystal silence" cited, in addition to this set is actually one of the four discs in this set. In other words, if you purchase "crystal silence" in addition to this set you will actually own two identical discs of "crustal silence", and have wasted money.)
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8d893774) out of 5 stars A wrong righted 19 Jan. 2010
By Martin Kasdan Jr. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
ECM is to be commended for this budget-priced reissue. Besides bringing all these recordings together, it reinstates the missing LP side 3 from the Zurich Concert. Sparkling, thoughtful, engaging music.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8d6c9480) out of 5 stars Excellent 21 Sept. 2012
By Ben - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This sessions record is phenomenal! The communication between Burton and Corea is uncanny. That they have recaptured some of this magic on 2012's "Hot House" is also quite remarkable, but there's nothing quite like the original. I recommend this highly.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8d6fe258) out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise 3 Aug. 2013
By James D. Perdue - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I followed Chick's music early on at Blue Note. His work stimulates me and expands my musical awareness. After a few years' hiatus, a heard "Eleanor Rigby" on FM. It opened up a delightful co labor of these two. The music is both subtle and inventive.
HASH(0x8d6bf5a0) out of 5 stars Five Stars 15 July 2016
By Carl Hoffman - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
great cd
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?