Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £1.49

Save £6.50 (81%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Cry by [FitzGerald, Helen]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Cry Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 292 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£1.49

Length: 307 pages Word Wise: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £0.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for £0.00. Learn more

Get a £1 reward for movies or TV

Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply.


Product description

Review

'Astonishingly good. It is utterly harrowing, completely plausible, constantly nerve-shredding ... It plays on the deepest, darkest fears of all parents about their children, and embeds that everyday terror in a plot so up-to-the-minute that you'll swear it's been lifted from the pages of a newspaper ... The Cry is a remarkable novel - its devastating power all the stronger for its realistic rendering. Brilliant stuff.' (Doug Johnstone, Independent on Sunday)

A book you find yourself greedily gulping down. (Herald)

The harrowing plot keeps you gripped until the final, devastating revelation. (Sunday Mirror)

Already being hailed as this year's talking point novel for parents - the equivalent of THE SLAP ... A gripping read [that] will hit a nerve. (The Times)

My hat is totally off to this writer. (Laura Lippman)

Brilliant ... 300 pages of taut, sharp, chilling and often laugh out loud funny genius. (Lisa Jewell)

The Cry really is extraordinary. In a just universe, it will be [Helen FitzGerald's] Gone Girl moment. Read it at once. (Steve Mosby)

In this very modern novel, which arrives at a startling conclusion, Fitzgerald manipulates our knowledge of earlier cases in which women have been wrongly accused. (Joan Smith Sunday Times)

'Fitzgerald's punchy thriller fleshes out new circles of parental hell (Emma Hagestadt Independent)

Exceptional ... this powerful noir tale is by turns devastating and uplifting. (Chris Ewan, author of Safe House)

The way their world unravels is compelling and terrifyingly real. FitzGerald is a hugely underrated writer, but the initial success of The Cry looks set to put an end to that. (Big Issue Books of the Year)

It is not until the final pages and after twist upon twist that we are finally given a punch in the stomach, an ending that still leaves a question. Did she or didn't she? Is she mad or not? You've got to read this inventive domestic drama to find out. Highly recommended, read it and then all her others, particularly The Donor. She is very special. (lovereading.co.uk)

An incredible read. I couldn't put it down. A beautifully crafted, heartbreaking story. (Lisa O'Donnell)

'THE CRY is excellent; unsettling and filled with moral ambiguity. Go read her. Now.' (Russel D McLean)

This book takes a nightmare scenario and wrings every last drop of suspense out of it. It's gut wrenching in places, heart breaking in others, a purely visceral experience like very few other crime novels I can think of ... The Cry has been packaged to appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah and Julia Crouch - those doyennes of domestic noir - and while FitzGerald's style is more streamlined, darker and earthier, I think those fans will do well to add her to their must-read lists. 2013 has already proved to be a strong year for psychological fiction but The Cry is without question the best yet. (Eva Dolan Crime Fiction Lover)

'Her finest book to date ... thriller writing of the very highest order. (Big Issue Scotland)

'Stunningly good.' (Mark Edwards)

My favourite read of 2013 (so far - but I can't see it being beat). (Luca Veste)

I loved it. It's beautifully written and absolutely heartrending. I loved every page and couldn't put the bloody thing down. (James Carol)

What a book! Superb. (Michael Malone)

Book Description

The Cry by Helen FitzGerald, widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year, brings a parent's worst nightmare to vivid life.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 613 KB
  • Print Length: 307 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0571287700
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber; Main edition (27 Aug. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DAJ5AEY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 292 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #17,343 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?



Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 3 October 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 December 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 February 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?