Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
102
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2012
I have bought quite a few 'bread' books over the years, and have followed many different experts' advice but always felt my bread wasn't quite a good as it could be. Now, armed with CRUST and DOUGH, both by Richard Bertinet, I feel confident I am creating the best bread I have ever tasted time after time. I have tried many of the different breads in both books now and can honestly say every one has worked. Everything is explained so you know exactly what to do and helpful photographs illustrate each process along the way.

What could be better on a wet Bank Holiday than sitting down to a homemade lasagne, a big green salad and a basket of sourdough bread - the BEST ever sourdough bread you have ever seen or tasted?!

Just a week and a half after I received CRUST, by following Mr Bertinet's instructions to the letter, and having watched his demonstration of the process on the included DVD, I have produced sourdough bread to be proud of! I am ecstatic!!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend CRUST (which covers the Sourdough bread process in detail), and DOUGH (the book that got me into his method of dough-making) to anyone interested in making their own bread - their own FANTASTIC bread!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Great writing style, clear instructions, good tips and really good recipes. This is a book for slow bread and many of the recipes require overnight fermentation or similar, so you have to be into that sort of bread-making. If you want faster bread, I think his other book, "Bread", covers that. We love the brioche recipe and have made it several times. I add dark chocolate chips, divide the dough into 16 pieces and shape them into little loaves (as shown at the beginning of the book). Once baked and cooled, I freeze them on the day and they freeze great. All you need when you want to eat them is to put one in the microwave on minimum power setting for 5 minutes. Comes out perfect and is a real luxury with a cup of good coffee for breakfast!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I've two other bread books by. Chad Robertson and ken forkish which are both great at explaining the science and practical advice. Both books work with the bakers formular which I think is great when you need to make smaller quantities. Kens book gives a great schedule so you can get your head around how to plan your baking. Back to this book, after the great reviews I thought it would be good to have a different baker give his way of doing things, very basic book in my opinion, compared to the above book. Other than some new recipes , didn't learn any more about bread making. DVD nice touch, but you can get similar from utube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
A very clear and trust worthy set of recipes and techniques. The French bread recipes in particular yield superb results. Totally recommend this to novice and experienced bakers alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The DVD that comes with Crust defines what the book is principally about; namely, working with wet dough. The 20 minute or so DVD lesson takes you through this process and helps in a way written instructions can't, because it is a tricky technique to master and seeing how it is done is simply more helpful. The result of working with wet dough is a better crust and a more airy crumb, What I like about the book, in addition to the main recipes, is the recipe for sourdough using honey. The book is divided into the following sections: Tools and Techniques, Slow bread-making processes and recipes, Different bread recipes, (quite an interesting section), Sweet bread recipes and a section on bread facts and some fiction busting information. In many ways, this book is not too dissimilar to other good bread books - Sourdough, Poolish, Ferments etc. and the DVD is what helps most to set it apart. There are some interesting and unusual recipes, but other books have this too - it is different, although one among a growing number of really good bread making books in print today. If you haven't got a 1st class bread making book you will not be disappointed with this one: if you already have some, or several, this will add to your knowledge base and help to develop your bread making skills. Definitely a book for bread making enthusiasts, but the casual bread maker will be glad they bought it too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 January 2010
I've been enjoying the author's earlier book, Dough, over recent weeks which has got me re-visiting bread-making by hand and gaining confidence that I can graduate to the greater delights, hinted at in Dough, that can be had by employing more complex techniques involving ferments or creating a sour-dough starter. These latter processes are explained and demonstrated in Crust, which like Dough is enticingly illustrated with mouth-watering pictures of what one is aiming at. The recipes are clearly laid out and the book is a pleasure to look at. As with the book Dough, accompanying Crust is a DVD that not only demonstrates the author's special technique for producing an elastic and strong dough, the basis of all good bread, but is also a masterclass on how to make brioche and clearly demonstrates the long-drawn-out process of creating a ferment that is the basis of real sourdough loaves. I think the DVD alone is worth the price of the book. It saves on having to go on a bread-making course.

Unless you're an experienced bread-maker I would recommend starting with the book Dough before tackling the recipes in Crust.

The author also has an on-line shop that sells some of the things you might need such as the special "lame" blade for slashing the tops of loaves and also, importantly, 500g blocks of fresh yeast Fresh yeast (500g) Next Despatch 26th January 2010.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
A bit dissapointed. He used in all the recipes Yeast. :( it wasn't what I was looking for. I thought he will use the sourdough and from there develop every recipe. Someone can advise me another book? Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)