Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2017
Excellent companion for Virgin Island cruisers
An essential and very comprehensive book and is constantly referenced during our 6 week cruise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
Essential reading for anyone contemplating a sailing holiday in the BVI's.

What it doesn't tell you:

Cane Garden Bay can get very busy and you really do need to choose your day.

The diagrams are useful data to assist in passage planning.

I hooked my iPhone to the wifi on the boat , which gives useful detailed satellite imaging which places your boat as a blue dot on the image. Helpful in marginal nav situations as the reefs are very visible. Don't rely on it but it's useful data to put in the mix for passage planning. Be aware roaming charges for data are VERY high so swith off data roaming unless you really need it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2002
An absolute must for anyone chartering a yacht in the BVI's. Includes where to snorkel, what to take and loads of great info.
Also worthwhile if you are not chartering...just on vacation
Frank Hill
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
This is the best Cruising guide I've used. It works really well for planning routes & for checking out the remote little bays that my wife and I love. The photo's are good and the hand written drawings of the bays are very clear and easy to read. My wife rates this as her favourite of the guide books we have bought. Perhaps part of the reason for its success is that it does not try to cover too wide an area in one guide, and the people who have written clearly love the BVI.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
Like the other review we bought this before a Sunsail flotilla holiday -very useful information before you go on the sailing and other interesting information for visitors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
May be old and a little out of date but has info that is not in the later versions. Also the binding and the quality of the paper is much better than the new ring bound versions which simply fall apart very quickly in the HOT MOIST Caribbean atmosphere. As to value for money you cant beat it and as far as i can tell most of the islands have not moved or changed a lot :-).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Obviously get the latest edition but this is the only cruising guide I'd use in the Caribbean. The level of detail around the anchorages and bays is superb. Notes on reefs and where to anchor and what to watch are all really helpful. As well as the maps there are illustrated photos which really help identify the correct approach.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
I bought it before going on a Sunsail flotilla to the BVIs, and enjoyed the read - interesting variety of articles and good pictures. When we got on the boat, this was the guidebook they provided. It's not an in-depth guide by any means, but I don't think there's anything available that's better.
And we loved the BVIs!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
These cruising guides are essential reading for anyone looking to enjoy cruising in a particular area. However, as we were returning to BVI I bought this as the most recent update for an old guide and was disappointed on arriving to see that there was a more up-to-date one available that was not on Amazon.........
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
This is an invaluable guide to anyone wanting to sail in the Virgin Islands.

It is full of all the detailed information needed by sailors to navigate safely and enjoyably around the islands. I have used it for planning two sailing holidays now and can recommend it highly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)