Kindle Price: £3.99

Save £5.00 (56%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Crooked House by [Kent, Christobel]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Crooked House Kindle Edition

3.4 out of 5 stars 132 customer reviews

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£3.99

Length: 369 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £6.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now


Product description

Review

What s not to love about a chilling psychological thriller featuring a claustrophobic English seaside town, the heroine the sole survivor of a family massacre, and her intriguing relationship with an older, slightly dominating man? Comparisons to Daphne du Maurier s "Rebecca "are apt for Kent s most recent stand-alone novel. Victoria Caplinger, "LIBRARY JOURNAL "(starred review)

"A suspenseful ride with a gutsy heroine." "Publishers Weekly"

Bleak, suspenseful writing keeps the momentum high "Kirkus"

The back-and-forth shuttling between present and past will intrigue readers. "Booklist"

Demands to be devoured in one sitting. Joanne Finney, "GOOD HOUSEKEEPING "(U.K.)

Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell. " SUNDAY MIRROR "(U.K.)

A Daphne du Maurier set-up, but updated, influenced by Agatha Christie, too, and transposed to the coastal Suffolk of P. D. James. While Kent handles her mystery plot and large ensemble adroitly, what is most memorable is the atmosphere of the novel s estuarine world, where everything seems muddy, shifting and treacherous. John Dugdale, "THE SUNDAY TIMES "(London)

A tense, gripping thriller, and utterly compulsive. I loved it. S. J. Watson, author of "BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP""

A taut psychological thriller, loaded with mood, and a puzzle tricky enough to keep you guessing to the final page . . . Kent s book is a delightful reminder that absorbing and clever crime novels still exist . . . The Crooked House is a well-constructed tale with a clever premise and a strong sense of atmosphere." Carrie Dunsmore, "The Washington Post"

[A] suspenseful page-turner . . . A weird, excellent literary thriller, equal parts psychological profile and twisty, nasty plot. "Carmen Maria Machado, NPR"

"[Her] pages are stalked [...] by suspicion, treachery and paranoia. "Minneapolis Star Tribune"

"[A] twisty thriller" "Entertainment Weekly"

What s not to love about a chilling psychological thriller featuring a claustrophobic English seaside town, the heroine the sole survivor of a family massacre, and her intriguing relationship with an older, slightly dominating man? Comparisons to Daphne du Maurier s "Rebecca "are apt for Kent s most recent stand-alone novel. Victoria Caplinger, "LIBRARY JOURNAL "(starred review)

The Crooked House is a high-strung thriller set in a small community unwilling to acknowledge a past it doesn t want to face. Christobel Kent writes with assurance, pulling emotion from her characters and readers alike, and keeping the tension high. She has a rare knack for the eerie. "Book Reporter"

"A suspenseful ride with a gutsy heroine." "Publishers Weekly"

Bleak, suspenseful writing keeps the momentum high "Kirkus"

The back-and-forth shuttling between present and past will intrigue readers. "Booklist"

Demands to be devoured in one sitting. Joanne Finney, "GOOD HOUSEKEEPING "(U.K.)

Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell. " SUNDAY MIRROR "(U.K.)

A Daphne du Maurier set-up, but updated, influenced by Agatha Christie, too, and transposed to the coastal Suffolk of P. D. James. While Kent handles her mystery plot and large ensemble adroitly, what is most memorable is the atmosphere of the novel s estuarine world, where everything seems muddy, shifting and treacherous. John Dugdale, "THE SUNDAY TIMES "(London)

A tense, gripping thriller, and utterly compulsive. I loved it. S. J. Watson, author of "BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP""

Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell. Sunday Mirror (London)

A taut psychological thriller, loaded with mood, and a puzzle tricky enough to keep you guessing to the final page....Kent s book is a delightful reminder that absorbing and clever crime novels still exist. The Washington Post

A weird, excellent literary thriller, equal parts psychological profile and twisty, nasty plot. Carmen Maria Machado, NPR

A chilling psychological thriller featuring a claustrophobic English seaside town, a heroine the sole survivor of a family massacre, and her intriguing relationship with an older, slightly dominating man....Comparisons to Daphne du Maurier s Rebecca are apt. Victoria Caplinger, Library Journal (starred review)

The Crooked House is a high-strung thriller set in a small community unwilling to acknowledge a past....Christobel Kent writes with assurance, pulling emotion from her characters and readers alike, and keeping the tension high. She has a rare knack for the eerie. Book Reporter

"A suspenseful ride with a gutsy heroine." Publishers Weekly

Demands to be devoured in one sitting. Joanne Finney, Good Housekeeping (London)

A Daphne du Maurier set-up, but updated, influenced by Agatha Christie, too, and transposed to the coastal Suffolk of P. D. James. While Kent handles her mystery plot and large ensemble adroitly, what is most memorable is the atmosphere of the novel s estuarine world, where everything seems muddy, shifting and treacherous. John Dugdale, The Sunday Times (London)

A tense, gripping thriller, and utterly compulsive. I loved it. S. J. Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep

"

"Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell."--Sunday Mirror (London)

"A taut psychological thriller, loaded with mood, and a puzzle tricky enough to keep you guessing to the final page....Kent's book is a delightful reminder that absorbing and clever crime novels still exist."--The Washington Post

"A weird, excellent literary thriller, equal parts psychological profile and twisty, nasty plot."--Carmen Maria Machado, NPR

"A chilling psychological thriller featuring a claustrophobic English seaside town, a heroine the sole survivor of a family massacre, and her intriguing relationship with an older, slightly dominating man....Comparisons to Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca are apt." --Victoria Caplinger, Library Journal (starred review)

"The Crooked House is a high-strung thriller set in a small community unwilling to acknowledge a past....Christobel Kent writes with assurance, pulling emotion from her characters and readers alike, and keeping the tension high. She has a rare knack for the eerie." --Book Reporter

"A suspenseful ride with a gutsy heroine."--Publishers Weekly

"Demands to be devoured in one sitting."--Joanne Finney, Good Housekeeping (London)

"A Daphne du Maurier set-up, but updated, influenced by Agatha Christie, too, and transposed to the coastal Suffolk of P. D. James. While Kent handles her mystery plot and large ensemble adroitly, what is most memorable is the atmosphere of the novel's estuarine world, where everything seems muddy, shifting and treacherous."--John Dugdale, The Sunday Times (London)

"A tense, gripping thriller, and utterly compulsive. I loved it."--S. J. Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep

Book Description

A stunning, dark and suspenseful psychological thriller that follows one woman's search for the truth about her tragic family history; perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1014 KB
  • Print Length: 369 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (8 Jan. 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00LM9S8T8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.4 out of 5 stars 132 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #132,217 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
28 January 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
8 November 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
18 June 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
20 June 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
26 December 2016
Verified Purchase
5 April 2016
Verified Purchase
8 June 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
26 September 2017
Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?