Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 6 August 2010
I was very disappointed with this book. Mine was the latest edition, January 2010, originally produced in 2007. Whilst realising that this type of publication is out of date before it's published I feel that much of the information predates that and is often hopelessly inaccurate. Some of the chartlets don't have a scale and those that do are in kilometres and cables?? If you are going on a two week charter holiday, it will adequately guide you from marina to marina and restaurant to restaurant but to call it a Croatia Cruising Companion is stretching the imagination. It ignores the existence of Croatia north of Zadar, a further 110 miles, with many islets and inlets. If you are spending a season cruising there then don't waste your money. Buy the Adriatic pilot.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2015
This is a great book with lots of really useful information that helped us make the most of our sailing holiday this year and last. Only three stars however because;
1) I bought it as a Kindle book and found it very frustrating to use on my iPhone. As a reference book it's important to be able to bookmark the pages I was interested in and to find the start of different sections quickly. It may be my own incompetent use of the Kindle app, but I found it very hard to do this. There is a link from each index item to the page(s) referred to, but even paging through the index to find an entry is slow. I don't think Kindle works well for this type of book yet.
2) The book seems rather out of date. There has been a lot of change in Croatia over the last few years and many of the places we visited had entries that referred to marinas planned to open in 2007.
Even so, and in spite of the comments above, it was still a helpful guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2009
I sailed many parts of the world before I decided to settle down in Croatia and agree with the authors that Croatia, particularly Dalmatia - the area covered by this book - is one of the best cruising grounds in Europe, if not the wider world.

What I particularly love about the Croatia Cruising Companion is the detail, onshore and offshore. The authors have lived and worked in Croatia for a number of years and it's easy to spot that they know the area inside out, especially when comparing with other publications that are based on occasional visits. There are plenty of Pilot books around which give a section to Croatia, sometimes hidden amongst "Eastern Europe" or "The Adriatic" but all 256 pages of this book are devoted to the Dalmatian Coast and Islands, from Zadar to Dubrovnik, and all the islands in between - Hvar, Brac, Vis, Korcula to name just a few of the larger ones.I enjoy looking up the smaller deserted islands to see what they have to offer as there's not always much information around on them.

As a resident of Split, I also looked at that section very closely. There's a whole page of useful information on the town including a superb selection of restaurants, and contact details for a launderette tucked away in the back streets - UK style launderettes are very rare in Croatia. That's the sort of information that really makes it an insiders' guide. But of course the nautical information is very important too and, with so many bays, marinas, anchorages and ports in Dalmatia it's great to have a well re-searched book that allows you to choose the most suitable spot in an area, based on all the key details - shelter, access, facilities, price, ambience, etc. There's also a detailed introduction with all the essential facts and tips you need to know about Croatia - at sea and on land.

The Cruising Companion is packed with information, full of glossy photographs, detailed port plans and charts, and it's a good read too - not just a collection of facts. Well produced and A4 in size it also looks pretty good on the coffee table, even if you haven't quite booked your sailing holiday yet!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2008
For those who wish to explore the islands and coastline of Croatia by boat (and what better way to do it?), this is the guide for you. It also contains much useful information on places to visit, and on the country generally, for the landlubber tourist - though be warned, it will make you want to take to the sea! Even if you don't have or hire a boat, you are likely to use ferries and approach ports in the ways described.

The authors have clearly done their research thoroughly and at length, having taken some 4 years in preparing the guide. My knowledge of the region is, so far, centred on the area around Split and so I checked what the book has to say about it. Chapter 4 covers places like Trogir, Ciovo Island, Kastela (really seven villages with at least one castle each) and Split itself. Chapter 5 covers the islands around Split, including Brac and Hvar. I soon found that there is so much more to see than I have already, and that I need a boat to make the most of it. For example, I sailed past Vranjic Islet and it is clearly worth a visit, and I never did get to Vis Island. You can, of course, cover a lot using ferries and water taxis. Wherever you land, this book will help you find the essentials of a good holiday - restaurants, shops, markets, places of interest - as well as providing a brief history of the area.

This is the most in-depth and up to date book of its kind that I have come across. It is great for planning trips while at home and is an essential on board. It is not a pocket guide, but even if you are not cruising I recommend that you find space to take it with you.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2012
The trouble with this book is that it doesn't cover the North of Croatia (Zadar to Slovenia) and it doesn't really make this obvious when you're ordering it.
So you might as well stick with The Adriatic Pilot which covers all of Croatia (as well as the other Adriatic countries) and so is better value
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2015
Purchased as gift for family sailing around Croatia & was much appreciated & useful with lovely photos although little out of date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2014
Excellent. Quite essential when planning a cruise in Croatia ( especially when for the first time or for the first time in a new area of Croatia). Lots of useful detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2015
Life saver for my first venture as a skipper!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2015
Excellent, useful and well documented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2012
The title says it all. While Dalmatia is the most popular for sailing spots, Croatia has many other coastal regions. I was shocked to spend GBP20 on a book that presents itself as comprehensive and then to find 50% of the Croatian coast precluded. Disappointed, not impressed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)