Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2015
This is what you would expect from Kurosawa, its visually witty and I imagine that the language is probabley witty too but the subtitles sometimes seem wrong to me. The actual quality of the picture is quite poor being somewhat dark.
Its a good story and the expressions on the faces is joy to behold. Would be nice if processed to improve the quality of the picture,
Will buy others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Great film but the quality of the DVD is pants, I would highly recommend the Criterion one over the BFI one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2004
When I read some reviews below I was thinking long time befor I decided to buy this DVD but finally I did. BFI has relased new print of 'Yojimbo' couple months ago and its really great edition, transfered in widescreen with digitaly remastered and clear picture. I've bought and I'm very proud of it in my collection.
The film is one of the Kurosawa's finest masterieces beside 'Rashomon' or 'The Seven Samurai' or 'Red Beard', and perfomance of Toshiro Mifune is perhaps best in his excellent career. Highly recommend.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These 1961 and 1962 Akira Kurosawa Samurai films are presently only available on ‘BLU RAY’ in the States - “Yojimbo” on a single BLU RAY issue - and a further double that combines both movies. But therein lies a problem for UK and European buyers with either release…

Both editions of the US BLU RAY are REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Until such time as someone on this side of the pond like say the BFI gives these Black and White gems a REGION B release – check your BLU RAY player has the capacity to play REGION A – before you buy the pricey Criterion issues…
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Once again a great film from akira kurosawa these films have real emotion toshiro mifune is great in this film as he is in most of the films he has done with akira kurosawa. The scenery is amazing the story very strong the different characters are brilliant these films only rely on the actors wich is what I find great it makes it more believable there are no special effects just pure entertainment highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2005
The beginning of this tale, when our hero tosses a stick into the air to see which way it lands to choose his path, is just one of the many elements which makes this such an amazing story and one my favorites of Kurosawa's many masterpieces. What the bodyguard chooses to do first with his newfound independence is quite surprising and ambitious, like piecing together an amazingly complex jigsaw puzzle made of human nature, or staging a performance of an epic masterpiece with no previous management, production, or directing skills. But I guess he may as well tackle a mountain, since there is not much use starting small with his skills and personality. As he orchestrates the deception, our hero is much like a master puppeteer with exquisite timing and talent to incite the mayhem to achieve his goal.
While the basic theme of this story is not unique - the result of greed, manipulation of others, and the changing of the world (tradition vs. progression) - many factors add an interesting and unusual charm to this film. There are plots within plots, surprising deception, perfectly paced mounting tension, unpredictable plot twists, stories within stories, distinctive and amusing characters (the big guy with his huge mallet is a lot of fun), the seemingly never-ending face offs, backstabbing, character flaws; and our hero continually placed in the perfect position to observe, listen, and evaluate. Also, the bodyguard's impeccable timing in manipulation of both sides is nice, fulfilling our expectations and keeping the story moving along. What if bodyguards were really like this? (mischievous, brilliant, manipulative) The famous people of the world would be in terrible trouble.
The humor in this story is wonderful, even the macabre humor of the dog carrying the human hand in its mouth while trotting along to fairly spunky music. I also love the funnier fight sequences, which seem to come right out of clown school and resemble football skirmishes instead of battles. In several of the scenes, it appears that the swordsmen are miming roasting marshmallows instead of fighting with their weapons. Nice addition of lightness to a serious tale. Our hero sticking around after he has discontinued his services purely for "the entertainment" also accentuates the humor aspect of this movie.
The mix of character types is also interesting including a dominatrix, a prodigal son, a damsel in distress, several amusing drunks, and many bumbling idiots. The ease in which our hero is able to manipulate these human beings is extremely unbelievable; however, many aspects of this film fall into that category and it is still a wonderful story. This is one of those rare instances in which certain trite, far-fetched, and predictable elements are actually good and serve to enhance the story.
The nature symbolism is a nice addition to this film including the cleansing rain allowing us to shift gears from Act I to Act II, and the dust storm, which precedes the more unpredictable part of the story serving to unsettle and disorient us.
Finally, the shadowy, light dancing, night fires scene is amazing, intensifying the town's debauchery and our hero finally stepping up to get involved in the action before ultimately getting caught in his own web. This scene is perfect, like an expertly lighted stage drawing us into Act III.
I have only described a few of the wonderful features of this film. There are many others, which warrant several viewings to truly appreciate the complexities of this story. For those who enjoy this movie, I also recommend the sequel, Sanjuro, which is equally well done.
J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles, and Kurosawa fan.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2007
I never tire of watching this film. Mifune is here at his best, as the rogue ronin who manages to manipulate effectively and eventually eliminate two different gangs of criminals in a small Japanese village in order to liberate the subdued villagers. Mifune's Yojimbo is a cynical, misanthropic wandering samurai who helps out the villagers for no apparent reason.

It is easy to see how Clint Eastwood modeled some of his gunslinging cowboys on Mifune's incredible rendition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2000
Undoubtably one of cinema's greatest works and the inspiration not just for Leone's 'A Fistful of Dollars' but a whole host of action films in years to come, none of which came close to topping this. A shame, then, that the film has been so poorly transfered to DVD - not only is it non-anamorphic (forgiveable, perhaps), but the picture is muddy and soft (unforgiveable) and, frankly, inferior to both of the VHS copies I already own. The film deserves so much better. On the plus side, the commentary track by Philip Kemp is consistently informative, and gets the disk 2 stars, but only just.
44 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2000
This samurai classic will be recognisible to fans of FISTFULL OF DOLLARS and more recently LAST MAN STANDING,but the mood and humor of the original are sadly lacking in its later incarnations. Mifune is magnificent as the "samurai with no name",playing off the warring factions of the town against each other,each competing for his sevices. The film spawned an equally excellent sequel SANJURO(1962) Five stars all round
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)