Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 6 November 2017
I was interested to see how management techniques were applied to a hugely successful and creative hothouse and enjoyed this book immensely.

Nicely peppered with anecdotes to flesh out the Pixar development story, perhaps the most striking observation of which is his thinking on creativity itself: “If you give a mediocre idea to a brilliant team, they will either fix it or throw it away and come up with something better.”

I like his view that nothing and nobody should be sacrosanct and believe that many could learn from the Steve Jobs story about being on time for meetings.

An interesting, educational and entertaining read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2017
Ed Catmull provide a brilliant insight into one of the most creative company in the world. The thing I love most about this book is that it's doesn't shy away from the failures Pixar have encountered. Failures are highlighted and problem solving is treated as a job for EVERYONE, not just leaders. We live,always with the fear of our mistakes being at centre stage, Creativity inc provided a great lesson for how managers and leaders can provide an environment that diminishes employee fears, allowing them to be more creative and innovative. Today the world faces major, complex challenges and only through fostering environment for creative and innovation will we be able to solve these problems. Great book. Wish I could give it more than 5 Stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
This is both a bio and a "how to build a successful business" book. An excellent read highlighting the journey from an idea to one of the most successful businesses in the past 20 years.

I enjoyed both the humilty of the author (almost claiming to be an accidental success) and his willingness to share with the reader (and his employees during growth) that he has not got and never had all the answers. If I was to single out one main management fault today it is the desire to have all the answers before making a decision. The truth is, like Ed Cattmull, your workforce have the solution and are just waiting for you to empower them to deliver.

A feel good story that have made a great piece of fiction if it was not true. An excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
The early parts of the book, are comparatively slow, as he introduces himself and the formative parts of his life. The narrative thereafter quickly gains pace, and the content becomes useful and ultimately seminal and inspirational. This book is a text book on how to organise a modern business- especially a creative or consulting biz. Part of story includes george lucas of starwars fame, and also of steve jobs. For almost a generation, the author worked with jobs, and therein we gain many insights into jobs' character. Many leasons may be learnt from this book- especially those who persevere beyond the initial autobiographical parts into the organisational parts
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2015
A lot of books on creativity, confidence, risk and ways of working are packed with a lot of "fluff". This isn't one of them. Brilliantly put together, there are tons of real examples from inside Pixar, Disney, LucasFilms, etc.

The insights and lessons feel real and are well delivered. The advice along the way is valuable and actionable. It's easy to gain empathy for the struggles mentioned as well as the solutions.

An essential book full of valuable stories featuring some of the most inspiring people in the industry from Steve Jobs to John Lasseter and everyone around them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Fascinating insight into Steve Jobs, amongst others, from someone who was close to him more than most. Ends in Catmull's obituary for Jobs whom, despite everything he put Catmull through, he clearly deeply admired. Anyone who wants to understand what Jobs was like should read it. The history and philosophy of PIXAR, which is at least as much Catmull's creation as Jobs', is well laid out and clearly described.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2017
I recommend this highly for anyone who works in a technology or creative field. Pixars has an insane track record with 14 movies movies that have been massive hits. The one important thing I took away from this book is how to build a great lasting culture within a team / business
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2015
Being an animator and a huge fan of Pixar I wanted to know more about their story and I am so glad I decided to read this book. All of the stories and events that made Pixar what it is are extremely inspiring. There are also a lot of lessons to learn about how creativity works and how to keep it alive.
I have also appreciated a lot the chapter dedicated to Steve Jobs. It's a totally different view (from what everyone says) of who he really was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2017
It's not easy to create a business with decades of critical and commercial success. Ed Catmull lifts the lid on the inspiring business of Pixar and reinforces that it takes a massive effort to maintain a business with a creative heart, but its not a single person's job either. A critical read for anyone in agency or creative businesses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2014
A wonderful book for all people who work with other people - especially managers. Everyone needs to be creative, not just artists, and this book is perfect for explaining how to do your best to help people achieve this. I annotated it with important notes throughout and then found that Ed had rather marvellously picked up on all these in his rules section at the end. These should be stuck to every managers wall!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)