Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2009
To my knowledge there has only been one other attempt to cover the history of drag racing in the UK and that was another Haynes publication "Drive It" some 30 years ago. We now have this new book and it is excellent. Any book on drag racing has to pay respects to the origins of the sport in the US but here we have a truely British and European take on the sport focusing on some of the more unique cars and styles. This was put together by a real enthusiast who not only writes with expertise but with a true love of the sport. The photos, of the most photogenic of motor sports, are high quality, the side bar memories add to the story. It is leagues better that the earlier book and in my opinion is actually more informative that the NHRA history which is over priced and incomplete. It seems ironic that the visit of Don Garlits in the 60's and 70's is covered here but he doesn't get a mention in the NHRA book.
As you can probably tell I thoroughly enjoyed this book which brought back a lot of memories from my first visits to Santa Pod, Blackbushe and Avon Raceway. I cannot recommend enough, Brian Taylor should be congratulated.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
As somebody who has been involved in drag racing since the mid sixty's as a fan, Tech inspector, fueler mechanic, working in the tower. and working as a track maintenance fitter, everything apart from once, driving a race car on the track.
I would like to say how fantastic this book is.
It is written by a totally dedicated drag racing fan.
the photos are some of the best you will ever see in any drag racing book
It also has the iconic photo on page 107 of the Don Garlits V Peter Crane race, resulting in the 5.97 second run by Peter.
I'm not even getting paid for this :-)
Its great, buy it!
Stormy Norm :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
I ordered this book recently and was very impressed with the look and layout and just loved viewing all the old photographs. Congratulations to Brian for all the hard work putting this excellent book together and to the many photographers who supplied the pics throughout.

Reminded me of all the people I was glad to call friends when I worked at Santa Pod and also "Sugar Beet County" at Snetterton when the Pod attempted to expand.

An excellent read for anyone but of particular interest all us speed junkies - buy it now it's worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
Quite simply the most definitive history of ANY form of British motorsport! Superbly illustrated and with a depth of insight that few volumes of this kind could match, From the early `grass roots`of the sport to todays 300mph monsters, this book tells the whole story, warts and all! As an ex Drag racing commentator, Brian Taylor was obviously privy to some of the more intimate revelations, and the result is a pure gem! A must for Drag racing fans the world over - don`t miss it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Brian Taylor has produced an epic of the history of drag racing in the UK right up to the present day. I felt I was re-living the actual races as I read the text. It really captures the excitement. Wonderful to see photos of the early years as well as photos of many great dragsters year on year. So many famous racers. Must get to a race day again soon! Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Crazy Horses: The History of British Drag RacingThis is a fantastic and informative book for all drag racing fans, and for those of you who aren't - it will give you an insight to the reason we all get hooked on the sport; it is especially good 'cause I'm in it! My car is on page 99. Happy reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
Fascinating, well researched with great pictures and a good feeel for the key players involved. A great companion to the "Drive It" book about UK drag racing from the early 1980's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
if you have even the slightest interest in drag racing you must have this book ! an excellent guide to the history of british drag racing with great photos .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
An awesome book Covering the early years of our sport! Great pictures and story's, and a lot of info in there that i didnt know!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
Superb reading and photo's
A must read for anyone interested in British drag racing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)