Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 January 2014
The title of this excellent book under-sells itself somewhat (though it was named this way to tie in with Gayle Laakmann McDowell's previous bestseller - "cracking the coding interview"). In addition to a detailed breakdown (with solutions and example questions) of all the various types of questions you might face (coding, case, estimation, problem solving, design etc) it gives a great overview of what product management actually means, how it compares to similar roles (project management, product marketing etc.) and how the various big tech firms differ in their approach and technology.

Simply a must-have for any aspiring product manager and a handy resource for those working in the field already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Awesome book. Not only to understand about how is the interview process at large tech companies but it gives an invaluable insight on the role - so even if you're not wanting to change your current job, this book can help you to grow internally. Totally recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
A great book for product management interview preparation. Get the book, around 3 weeks in advance, of a scheduled interview. Try to practice the case interview/market sizing questions with a friend. The case interview section gives you good examples, that should provide you with valuable vocabulary for your interview. However, I would have loved a few more case questions discussed in the book.
Market sizing is the best part of the book. The ten examples that the book uses are explained in details, and would prepare you well for this type of questions. Also, drill them with a friend.
The product design questions are helpful. A set of example questions are given. You would need a friend/colleague to brainstorm around these design questions.
The coding questions are a bit easy, however probably for PM interviews they do not ask anything harder. For coding questions, however I would consult, the other book that Gayle has written. I used that book to crack my Microsoft interview some 5 years back.
All in all very helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
More than just about achieving a successful, this book provides a very informed insight as to what product management is all about, albeit mainly focussed on IT and media. Must read for anyone contemplating becoming or positioning themselves as a 'Product Manager' in these industries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
This is great - not just about the interview step but how to work your cv/resume, as well as what to be focusing on in your current role whether you're a product manager looking for a new opportunity or someone wanting to move into their first product management role. I got my first job in product management recently and feel that this really helped me along the way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
This is a fantastic book. Not only does it tell you how to prepare for product manager interviews in technology companies, it gives an excellent overview of product management, what product managers do, they way they think, the skills they have. I have learnt so much from this book and it has given me a huge amount of confidence by helping me to put my accidental product management experience into a rigorous framework. This book will help guide you to see what experience you are missing, what to look for next. I highly recommend this book for all product managers, whether or not they are currently looking for a new job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
Great book to start preparing for your PM interviews! It was really essential for me and I learned a lot! It helps to synthesise thoughts. Definitely a must to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Great book for anyone preparing for a tech company interview. Gives actionable advice and good frameworks to use for interviews at top tech firms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Really useful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)