Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £2.30
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Courier Run (Adventures in the Liaden Universe ® Book 18) by [Lee, Sharon, Miller, Steve]
Kindle App Ad

Courier Run (Adventures in the Liaden Universe ® Book 18) Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£2.30

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 705 KB
  • Print Length: 71 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Pinbeam Books (17 Dec. 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006NOVSU8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #536,374 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars 18 reviews
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liaden Adventures 25 Mar. 2012
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
For new readers, this may not be the place to begin in the Liaden series (I recommend Agent of Change or Crystal Soldier). For those who are familiar with the series, they are just as fun and well done as all the others.
Guaranteed Delivery: One of the early deliveries by Aelliana and Daav abroad the Ride the Luck. Not a whole lot of substance, but fun.

Kin Ties: takes place after Korval breaks from Liad in the aftermath of the book, I, Dare. Ren Zal returns to his birth world with Anthora, his lifemate. This story doesn't stand on its own as well as some of the others. Its best read with Changeling, the novella which tells how he came to leave his homeworld in the first place - which is also available for the kindle.
A combination of Changeling and Kin Ties would stand on its own quite well without any prior knowledge of the series and provide a more satisfying experience overall.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Loose Ends 2 April 2012
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
"Courier Run" is a sweet fun story with a little adventure for Daav and Aelliana on their first courier run. I always enjoy additional Liaden adventures, and Daav and Aelli are two of my favorite characters.

"Kin Ties" wraps up the loose ends of Ren Zel's social death at the hands of Clan Jabun. It's a poignant story with the promise of a better life for the only surviving member of Clan Jabun.

I'm a harsh critic, giving these four stars simply because they didn't blow me away. There are Lee & Miller short stories with more power, but these are lovely chernubia.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Treats 5 July 2012
By DebraDownSth - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Fans of Lee and Miller, especially the Liaden Universe series, may wonder if it is worth buying these stories. No, it isn't worth it-- unless you want to spend a few hours each evening wrapped in wonderful stories about characters you have come to love in the books, or know more about some of the minor characters, learn more fully about back stories and spend some time being entertained and relaxing. I bought my Kindle to get to read these stories NOW and am not disappointed.
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for tying up loose ends 22 July 2014
By CFE - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The first of these stories tells of a time when Daav yos Phelium and his lifemate Aelliana Caylon worked her ship as partners and as couriers. She doesn't yet know his true identity but their resourcefulness is clear. There's also an interesting background suggesting that celebrity is a commodity which is studied, coached and rated. Apart from that the story is pleasant but not essential.
Contrast that with the second story centered on Ren Zel now life mated to Anthora but with his relationship with his birth family and the clan that caused his exile from that same family is still unresolved. This story resolves a number of loose ends most satisfactorily. It is essential to an understanding of this story that the reader has read Changeling. But for those of us who have, and who have a fondness for Ren Zel , it is jewel not to be missed!
Disclaimer:
I'm hoping for more about Anthora and Ren Zel. Are they linked with a far distant past as Shan and Priscilla (aka Lute and his lady Moonhawk) are discovered to be in I Dare ...or are they something else?
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Okay Additions to the Liaden Universe 12 Dec. 2015
By Erin Penn - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Two chapbooks in one - "Guaranteed Delivery" and "Kin Ties".

"Guaranteed Delivery" stars Aelliana and Daav on Ride the Luck from the decades predating "I, Dare". The backstory does not influence anything else in the Liaden Universe and can be ignored. My low rating is based on worldbuiling; the unique society based on social media ratings ends up feeling like a poor Liaden knockoff. The people within the society speak very much like the Liaden and have similar social actions. I would have preferred more variations off the main Liaden society - like Humans and Yxtrang and the Clutch Turtles. As I mentioned in previous reviews, I have found Sharon Lee and Steve Miller work better the more space they have to play with and this is one of their shortest stories. The underlying thriller and love interest aspects make it a likable enough read, but "Guaranteed Delivery" is far from their best work.

"Kin Ties" carries on the Ren Zel's story found in "Changeling" (#6 of the Liaden Universe Adventures) where his kinsmen were forced to declare him dead. He returns home, a deadman walking through the doors at the behest of his lifemate and his delm, hurting on levels he did not know from his loss. Another on the planet similarly aches from the damage done, for a wrongful death affects all, and she seeks Balance for herself and her lost kin.

"Kin Ties" is a strong side road to the Liaden Universe (unlike "Guaranteed Delivery" which is little more than a dirt path) and may, long-term, impact the novel portion of the universe. So a reader-fan of the universe should read this story at some point. But the story is no where near as strong or moving as "Changeling", and, in fact, the story does not stand on its own. The end-scene motivations are a little to obscure even with the background of the greater Universe and adventure #6. I would have like to know a little more about the Jadun's delm's decision making process. I think she choose wisely; but I do not see why she came to that choice.

So neither of the chapbooks are the best by Lee & Miller, but they are not bad either. A little confusing and a little mediocre. Another dozen or so pages for each of the books likely would have solved the issue; longer is better for Lee & Miller. Both have nice romantic and thriller portions to them.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know
click to open popover