Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
173
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2007
Coupling probably is the funniest show I have ever seen and amazingly the show delivers top rate entertainment throughout all four seasons. Although the humour revolves around body parts for quite a lot of time it's very, very witty and clever. The characters are hilarious and the acting is splendid. A lot of the humour comes from the juxtaposition of different characters. The amazing thing is that regardless of whether you're a man or a woman at some point you have to concede that quite a lot of comments about relationships are true. If you are a red blooded male you'll be in lust with all the three lovely ladies. And of course the theme tune sung by Mari Wilson is great.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
German customer here, so please excuse some writing.
Coupling is a series I was watching a long time ago. Used to laugh a lot while hearing the german DUB on television, and finally got myself to get it in british English. Really brilliant, nice cast, where some are featured in big hollywood movies, except for one guy that was swapped in the last season.
The girls are exceptional. One "older feeling left behind", one "I'm the girl in the couple" and one "what's all that about".
Thanks for that series and for some really awesome comedy.
Love it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
Seen the episodes on tv, would have bought the box set, but since it does not contain subtitles, I will not buy it. Would appreciate it if Amazon gave more details in the product info about subtitles. Luckily customers are willing to give this information in addition, which is greatly appreciated!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This box-set collects series 1-4 of Coupling, plus several outtakes, episode commentaries and a couple of documentaries about the making of the series which all the main players contribute to.
This was one of the best written pieces of British television, not just comedy, of the last ten years. It is well acted as well with all 6 of the main characters shining, as well as the late Lou Gish and Richard Mylan who had the unenviable task of taking over from Richard Coyle's superb characterisation of Jeff.
The humour is well crafted and writer Steven Moffat can take most of the credit for that. In particular as some of the best episodes show the same scenes from different viewpoints, each one topping the previous one as you see how the same scene is seen from a different aspect. Two memorable episodes are Jeff's chatting up a stunning Israeli woman in "The Girl with Two Breasts" in series 1 and the brilliantly complex "9 1/2 minutes" from series 4 where the same scene is played out 3 times. Great acting is nothing without a classy script and you get both here.
It's not just funny it is also moving at times. All of the characters have their faults, some really blatant (Patrick), but you do feel for them throughout the series as a whole.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Coupling was often praised as the U.K.'s answer to Friends; personally, although I watched the latter show fragmentarily and enjoyed it well enough (notwithstanding the degree of essential vapidity at the heart of the characters), Coupling is by far the more humorous, heartfelt and satisfying show. Essentially centring on the hapless but kind-hearted Steve and his burgeoning relationship with Susan, the rest of the cast are pitch-perfect in their roles, from superficially madcap but actually rather tragic Jane and seemingly self-absorbed but really just chronically insecure Sally to apparently empty-headed but... well, pretty much just empty-headed, but firmly decent Patrick (not forgetting the maelstrom of craziness that is Jeff and his inability to navigate seemingly even the simplest social activity!- Richard Coyle is replaced by Richard Mylan's Oliver, a less-amusing but equally helpless individual, for series 4). While the main form of comedy stems from how men and women either wilfully or completely unintentionally misunderstand each other's approaches to life in general, the writing- creator Steven Moffat has since had a string of successes, including Doctor Who and Sherlock- elevates this potentially simple modus operandi to new heights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
if you know Cpuopling yo'ull love it.
If not watch it and you'll love it.
Yes, it's about 6 'friends' and their social lives. Yes, there are parallels, but it is more universally apealing.
For me the thighlight of any episode (except the series he isn't in - i never found out why) is Jeff. His character is just someone every body should have in their lives to make everything utterley different with his unique observations.
Would I want a series with Jeff as the only/central character- no. But he makes an excellent foil.
Some of the situations are just genious. Some of the 'punchlines' just hysterical.

Well worth a watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Brilliant, of course, with classic one liners *Steve, expressing reservations about being present at a birth "There are some places you do not expect to see a face"!).

We all have friends like Patrick (Arthur, in my case) and Geoff (Mitch) and I'm sure the girls can say the same.

It's a quirky presentation, and you need to concentrate at times, but if you missed the series, get the DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
I bought this as a gift for someone. I already owned it myself. It is one of the funniest series I have ever seen on television and I don't know why it didn't great acclaim. Why did BBC confine it to BBC 2 rather than put it in BBC 1?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I did watch this when it was on tv, it is soo damn funny , if you want a good box set for the times you feel a bit down go for it,.,. it is quite rude for kids ( if they are under say,,,, 50... no 15 ish ) you may want to check it out first, But if they are fairly mature it wont offend them v easily. I think its really hilarious and I can relate to Sally who is soo thick she will have you in stitches. Go for it ,,,,,,,, You know you want tool.. lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
I'd forgotten just how funny this was! I was looking for a comedy to watch with my wife who's not English, so thought this would be something she might like.....and I was right. We have both really enjoyed it with many laugh out aloud moments. We have only watched the first 3 series so far and so I can't comment on the 4th, minus Richard Coyle. Great value for so much screen time. Only minor criticism is no sub-titles, but for the price that can be forgiven. Image quality good and is 16:9.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)