Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
10
3.9 out of 5 stars
Country Weekend Knits (Country Living Magazine)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 October 2008
I was really looking forward to seeing this book, as I loved the author's previous offering, The Traditional Sweater Book, published over 20 years ago. Imagine my disappointment on receiving it to find that every single one of the patterns was included in the previous book. The author has used modern yarns and changed some of the colours, but otherwise there is nothing new in this book, so check your bookshelves before you waste money on what is virtually a reprint of the old book. My copy is going straight back to Amazon!
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Lovely book. Something for everyone. I realised that 5 ply Gansey yarn works out at the same tension as 4 ply worked on the usual size needles for 4 ply yarn, so shall be trying that out. Fingers crossed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Very good. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Already had a few of these patterns in a fusty old book with poor diagrams and photo's but this really gives them an update. Clear concise instructions. Possibly a few more photographs with men wearing the items may be helpful as my son and husband tend to go for these even though the others can be unisex
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2016
An excellent book with lovely do-able patterns
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2009
While the sweaters in this book are undoubtedly lovely, I cannot help but be severely annoyed. I had bought Weston's 'Traditional Sweater' book not long ago and found, to my great disappointment, that most of the sweaters in the Country Weekend Knits are taken from the other book (or vice versa). So now I have two books, different titles, different format, and the same sweaters.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
This book has a section on each of the traditional types of knitting from the british Isles; Aran, fairisle, shetland lace and ganseys. It includes patterns for men and women, and each of the patterns stays true to its tradition, so you find the fairisles are knitted in the correct weight of wool and mostly use the traditional patterns. There are clear instructions, photos and charts and the designs are very knit-able. The book asumes you will have some previous experience of knitting, though there are some basic instructions on techniques relevant to the designs (e.g. cabling). It is nice to have a book that is not a 'beginner's guide to...'. At the start of each section there are a couple of large-text pages giving you some of the history associated with each style of knitting, though you may find that nothing here is new to you. There is a useful photo index at the end. It is good to have one book that gathers all these styles together.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
This is a beautifully presented book which whets your appetite for intricate, traditional knitting techniques and patterns. The patterns are well laid out and easy to understand - required skill levels clearly denoted. An absorbing read of the history of the knits chosen - makes me want to acquire far more advanced knitting skills than I have. A must have for the dedicated knitter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 March 2010
If you don't have the original Weston 'Traditional Knits' book, you will perhaps find this enchanting. 20 + year old sweaters in new yarns. To my eye, they look a little bit dated. I would have liked to have seen something new, a new twist on the original patterns. beautifully photographed and presented, the sweaters have that desirable traditional hand-made feel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Fantastic ganseys for the winter,delicate patterns and great fairisle and arrans too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)