Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2015
Roxy's 4th studio album (1974) is another interesting release full of fascinating songs including the hit singles 'All I Want Is You' and 'The Thrill Of It All' as well as several other well executed tracks such as the punchy rocker 'Casanova' (featuring some superb guitar work from Phil Manzanera and great lyrics from the masterful Bryan Ferry), the pretty Elizabethan flavour of 'Triptych' and the effortlessly smooth 'Out Of The Blue'. The contribution of the other main stalwart in the band, namely saxophonist Andy MacKay, is also quite brilliant. This is one of Roxy's finest studio albums and is well worth investing in.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
cd arrived on time tracks 4 to 9 don't play can't say I'm to pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Loved Roxy music as a young man and their music is still relevant today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Using girlfriends of the Krautrock bands that the ex member Eno admired for the controversial cover photo, Roxy managed on their 4th outing to preserve some of the driving power and skill of the superior, turbo-charged 'Stranded' but took things down a notch, a melancholy note can just be detected, this time a banal one though. This was to be the last time Roxy were a truly subversive, innovative force and they retained boy wonder Eddie Jobson, pinched from plasticky Curved Air, (a manufactured band, to be sure) who they'd been strengthened by, as players, to make the previous disc. Of the slower numbers I'll merely note that they have a bitter edge that perhaps suggests not all was right with Wor Brian but the two really wild guitar blasts from Manzanera, 'The Thrill of it all' and the only marginally less exciting 'Out of the Blue' are up there with the best heavy stuff that light-on-their-feet Roxy ever did. Best of all, we have the masterpiece, 'Casanova', with a haughty, imperious Ferry vocal and a guitar accompaniment that would put quite a few machetes to shame. In the fadeout he's still dropping bodies and a real 'bonus feature' would give us the minutes we hear fading, ears akimbo, in all their loud and certain glory; the boy Manzanera can play alright . It even boasts the album's Wilde- brilliant best line, one that I urge you to insert into a conversation this very day, "Casa Nova/Is that your name?/Or do you live there?" Perhaps the greatest put-down in rock and puts the tin lid on this, Roxy's last GREAT album
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Another astounding effort from Roxy, really proving that Eno was not the soul member of the band to make them interesting and unique. Of course the band became less blatantly experimental after Eno left but if you listen carefully it is still there, lurking about in songs like 'Out of The Blue' which recalls Eno's use of synth, then there's the Germanic romp of 'Bitter Sweet' and the subtle instrumentation within Prairie Rose the stunning closer.

Country life also blends some more standard tracks but even they are classics in their own right, particularly the opening 'The Thrill of It All' boasting another masterful album opener and of course the single, 'All I Want.' Lyrically Ferry is also becoming a little more predictable, but his voice remains as wild, hedonistic and warped as ever, which has always been a key element to the eccentricity of the band.

Phil Manzanera, the guitarist is also given a real chance to leave his mark on this album, perhaps even moreso than on the earlier ones, where his guitar was always in thrilling competition with Mackay saxophone and oboe. He really brings Ferry's more standard tracks to life, infusing them with immediacy and thrills, definitely proving that at this point at least, the band were still very much that, rather than just a backing group for Ferry's crooning.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2000
Remembered by many for its rather lurid front cover, Country Life is even more revealing to listen to than it is to look at. Thrill of it all launches the listener into an album that makes far more ground than its predecessor Stranded. Ferry proves he can survive without the whirrings and synth of the enigmatic Eno. The great single All I want is you is here in all its glory and although far less experimentation went into this album, tracks like If it takes all night and Casanova show the Ferry genius at work and as if it were the lull before the storm Really good time chills the listener out before the powerful Prairie rose finishes the work. Like the models on the cover, caught in the act, this album freezes the Roxy experience, at a crucial turning point in their music.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
...This is a very good album. Roxy's fourth album but still retains some of the freshnesh of the earlier albums. It is very much a violin and guitar dominated album with Manzenara really putting his marker down on many of the songs. Also, Ferry's lyrics appear to be becoming more mainstream but there some quirky little tracks such as 'Bitter Sweet' and 'Three and Nine'. However the outsatnding tracks jump out at you once you play this album - The Thrill of it all, All i want is you and Out of the Blue are all fast guitar and violin infused tracks. A great album and, a famous cover......
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2008
I can't believe I have only just heard this album. Obviously I have been aware of it for what seems like ever due to its infamous cover, but this is the first time I've actually listened to the album and what a treat it is.
I've always liked Roxy Music, particularly the Eno era albums, but I've recently delved deeper thanks to Michael Bracewell's excellent Remake/Remodel book and the equally entertaining Both Ends Burning by Jonathan Rigby, (Both highly recommended if you want to swat up on the influences behind the first album and the a potted history of the band's whole career).
This, their fourth album shows signs of the more polished Roxy emerging which would alienate much of their early fanbase in the band's twilight years. But don't let that put you off, this is a great album that shows the range of styles that Roxy Music were capable of at this point and the world they created around their music.
The opening track, The thrill of it all, is one of the best album openers I can recall, and certainly as thrilling as it's title suggests. Bryan Ferry's confident vocals are an invitation to forget Roxy's previous artier outings and party basically.
Three and Nine is a typically English Roxy oddity which finds Ferry musing over the old days of cinema and possibly even foretelling the advent of the multi-plex. His passion for the old time movie stars has always been obvious and this is an opportunity for him to wallow in this for a few minutes. I don't like the arrangement of this at all, but the lyrics are undeniably charming. All I want is you, is Roxy at their very best, and this was a perfect choice for a single release. I've played this so many times in the last couple of weeks, it really is that infectious. Out of the blue is typical Roxy from this era, I love the intro to this and the rest of the song is pretty good too. If it takes all night is the only real low point for me, coming across like stodgy MOR pub-rock, clashing fairly clumsily with the rest of the album.
Bitter Sweet should sound horribly dated with its oompah faux German stomping, but it is still a treat. This is Ferry at his oddest vocally since the darker moments of For Your Pleasure, and the track is all the better for it. Manzanera, Thompson and Mackay come into their own at the latter end of the album particularly, and this is where the fun begins.
Triptych is the curate's egg of the album with its medieval arrangement, recalling for me at least the music from Peter Davison era Doctor Who. The album wouldn't be the same without it though.
I'm undecided about Casanova, as much as I like it it somehow never really takes off and Really Good Time comes all too soon. Returning to the celebratory mode of the opening track, whilst not quite letting his hair down to the same extent, Ferry offers an end of the party lyric, interspersed with what sound like excerpts from a martial arts movie. A great track that signals the end of the album in a highly appropriate tone.
Roxy pull out the stops for the final track, Prairie Rose. A rollercoaster song in which Ferry's wailings and yearnings for a Texan Beauty (Jerry Hall?) who is "tantalising" him, gives way to a showcase of all the band's talents. I first heard this as the B side of Big Country's East of Eden in 1984 and loved it then. The track serves its purpose by urging you to put the album back to the start and listen all over again, which is exactly what I've just done whilst writing this.
I'm loving The Roxy this year - join me!!
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)