Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
In the middle of reading this at the moment. Well organized into the major food groups and main techniques. Decent explanatory photos to illustrate the techniques and methods being taught. As well as the basic techniques them selves (e.g. making a stock), it then goes on to give recipes cross-referenced to those techniques to show what they can be used for. Also some useful sections of equipment and what to look for when buying quality ingredients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
The original Cordon Bleu book in the penguin series was the best cook book ever, with some close competition, but it required a basic skill to get the best out of it. This book assumes nothing and gives pictures to illustrate and show techniques.
For the beginner, the best there is.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Really good book. Excellent techniques which are easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
As described,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
thanks .. received in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
i think the book on its own is excellent, would rate this a 5 star book HOWEVER i have rated it a 1star as i bought it along with Le Cordon Bleu's Cook's Bible (much cheaper version) and it is exactly the SAME BOOK, SAME PAGES, ILUSTRATIONS... everything EXCEPT THE COVER OF IT and the MORE EXPENSIVE PRICE. so i'm in the process of returning it! (which is actually a pain). n.The Cooks' Bible
22 Comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2000
There certainly isn't a lack of illustrations in this book. It serves as a practical guide of cooking techniques and covers all aspects and indgredients of cooking, which includes sauces, vegetables, poultry, meat, seafood, herbs and spices, soups, desserts, bakery, dairy, fruits, and literally anything one can think of. However, do not expect to find many recipes, because as the title suggests, the book will be helpful if it used for cooking techniques. If you are eager to learn some basics, this is the book for you.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 1999
I love this book. Every technique I have struggled to pick up from other cookbooks, every vegetable I have struggled to prepare, every mystery of French cooking that left me intimidated and terrified is demystified in this easy-to-follow guide to fine French cooking. The recipes are beyond excellent, make you feel like you are following directly in the footsteps of the great masters of grande cuisine. Which you are. It's a great feeling.
All the basics are here, as well as variations, as well as some more intimidating stuff which is made less so by lots and lots of bright pictures and snappy hint boxes. I never thought a cookbook by Cordon Bleu would be perky, but this one IS. Seriously, it's like watching a TV show, but in a book.
Definitely buy this book, especially if you want to become educated about the techniques of the masters, and have it become second nature. LOVE IT.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are someone who is confident in the kitchen and looking to understand some of the classic techniques and tricks of professional chefs then this book is essential.
Rather than "hand hold" and present the basics in a "step-by-step" fashion, Le Cordon Bleu's Complete Cooking Techniques assumes you understand the fundamentals (i.e. "how to boil an egg") and proceeds to explain how to execute some more advanced cooking techniques with clear, concise guidelines.
For example, the section on poached eggs clearly explains what you need (very fresh eggs) and the technique required to produce the pefect poached egg with firm white and oozing yolk in a few succint paragraphs.
This is just one example of many in the book which also contains overviews of equipment and ingredients as well as a number of illustrative full recipes.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
I will never again wonder what something is or how to cook it - or indeed how to make such things as pasta, creme fraiche, gnocchi and a million other things which I thought appeared on shop shelves by magic until now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)