Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2014
Will not mean a lot unless you are acquainted with the first Sloane Ranger book. Not a bad attempt at ringing the changes. Waffles somewhat in order to fill out the book,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
Having read Mr York's two previous Sloane Ranger books, which were truly hilarious and uncannily accurate, I was most disappointed with this. It is quite simply a rather sorry attempt to generate a bit of income on the strength of his previous success. Best left alone - rather like those awful "Police Academy" films back in the eighties. The first two were funny - thereafter they were just plain irritating. Sorry, thumbs down.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
Pitiful. This is a shadow of the original SLOANE RANGER HANDBOOK. The first pages acknowledge that the age of the overpaid footballer has knocked the Sloane Ranger for six. But the book then tries to make out that the Sloane is, in fact, still in all traditional leadership and other roles (albeit with a modern twist). It's just not so - and rightly not so. Mrs Thatcher destroyed the hereditary authority of the Sloane Ranger along with that of the Shop Steward (something that should be remembered by The Guardian when she pops her clogs).

A follow-up on the original 1982 Henry and Caroline, and their family, would have been interesting, but a sad epitaph on people who were fundamentally decent and - at their best - resolutely determined to give back to society in a way that the overpaid footballer, with his "Bling" lifestyle, has not yet embraced.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
I have not read the other books by Peter York. In all fairness, I haven't even finished this one, because I just could not be bothered!!
This book does not make any sense to me. The format baffles me no end, the content does not raise any interest unless maybe you are part of the Sloane culture yourself. What a piece of rubbish this is!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
I found this a witty and accurate portrayal of one of Britain's most powerful and extraordinary social groups. Very funny, it frequently made me laugh out loud in the way that it captures stereotypes so accurately without being snide.

The pictures are hilarious and the illustrations brilliant. I would highly recommend this book!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Sooo funny but very nineties :) I loved it, it was like watching a british sex and the city episode
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2007
The complex and traditional society that England is can be completely closed and alien for foreigners for many reasons. This is a social manual of sorts to understand modern Britain, far beyond Sloanes' tribe, which is thriving and is now further split into classes and groups. Some newspaper reviewers argue that many of the people in this book aren't Sloanes at all, well, perhaphs, but they are 'cousins' nevertheless.

Witty, well written, the book is timely and fun. I was frustrated to had finished it so quickly and wish there were a TV series based on the theme to get a weekly fix. For once there should be something half-inspirational, tired of watching all the English losers on TV, even if as pleasant and disarming as Rodney and Dell Boy! The TV is destroyed by Little England's atrocious pronuciations, monied chavs are omnipresent, while class is hard to come by.

Great book to get in touch with the latest trends, accurate and very charming. MUST BE CONTINUED AND UPDATED REGULARLY!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Can we have kindle edition?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
From Eco Sloane to the Sloane orf [sic] the rails CFME (The Return of the Sloane Ranger) charts the reinvention of the Sloane from the glory days of the eighties (Sloane Rules OK) to the noughties (which category are we, Henry?). For the insider, or if you're wondering where THOSE people went -- an amusing follow up by Peter York (The Official Sloane Ranger Handbook and The Official Sloane Ranger Diary) and Olivia Stewart-Liberty.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)