Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
29
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 July 2016
I first read this many years ago whilst I was at school and I was delighted to find that a copy – the original was published over 100 years ago – was available from Amazon at an extremely attractive price. It brought back many memories and, in my opinion, is vastly better than the subsequent (Bing Crosby) movie!

The novel is a comedy that sees 6th-Century England and its medieval culture through Hank Morgan's view; he is a 19th-century resident of Hartford, Connecticut, who, after a blow to the head, awakens to find himself inexplicably transported back in time to early medieval England where he meets King Arthur himself...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
I read this book each year and enjoy my few hours of wonder with the book.

Yes, there are lots of things that seem just silly. One example is that the main character has knowledge of solar eclipse over hundreds of years which aids him in the story. But, putting this aside, it's a lovely social commentary of civilisation and a good fun read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
In this, his fifth novel, Mark Twain satirises Arthurian romance with his inimitable wit. The eponymous Yankee, Hank Morgan, suffers a blow to the head and is sent back in time to sixth-century England. There he learns that the members of Arthur's court are naive, deluded idiots who choose to believe in fantastic deeds and embark on pointless quests simply because it is de riguer to do so.

Turning this perceived idiocy to his advantage, Hank attempts to modernise the culture with the eventual aim of overthrowing the monarchy and installing a democracy. He plans to achieve his goal by subtly subverting and eventually destroying the order of knights and the outdated code of chivalry by which they live their lives. The premise of an invading American forcing his beliefs on an underdeveloped culture is one which seems more relevant today than the day it was written.

Twain uses this time-travelling adventure as a vehicle to criticise facets of Medieval British society, such as the Catholic Church (which he believes hinders technological and social progression), the monarchy and the aristocracy, and to espouse the American ideals of freedom and democracy. 'A Connecticut Yankee...' is an enjoyable and amusing parody of Medieval Romance which doesn't require a knowledge of the genre in order for the reader to enjoy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
I have not finished reading it yet but it is not dissapointing, as with all books of this kind of vintage it is sometimes long winded compared to a modern novel but all the more enjoyable as it is a classic storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 1998
DON'T LISTEN TO "A READER, 5 APRIL"!!!!!!!!
DON'T read this book if you want a nicey nicey comedy, because Huck Finn gives you a (mistakenly) warm glow, OR to find out about Arthurian legends (read E. R. White instead!) It isn't intended for either of those reasons, and you need to go back to the Children's section. Read this book because you want to be challenged, because you want your view of literature and economics to be turned upsode down. If you want an incisive insight into Mark Twain's take onstorytelling and how it affects our lives, OR to see how corporate America searches and destroys alternative cultures and communities, then this is one of the finest books that literature can offer you.
AND it's funny.
Medieval England had lots of dragons (Twain explains how come), but corporate America has infinitely worse breeds sucking our communities dry.................... read on
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Bought it because I saw a film of it many years ago. Mostly very enjoyable and it added to my perception of the time that it depicts ie. very hard and dangerous. I was hoping for a similar happy ending so I should have read the book before seeing the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2006
For me this was my first sojourn into the madness of Mark Twain, sadly it was an unfulfilling one.

Yankee tells the wonderful story of a chance meeting with a fellow in Windsor castle who professes to unravel his past in a fantastical yarn of his life in the time of Camelot and Arthurian Britain.

Having read other reviews on Amazon regarding this I chose to take a chance and was both elated and deflated periodically throughout the book. Where you are warned that fans of King Arthur should stay away, please ignore. This IS a book about Arthur's Britain and will add a layer previously unseen to the readers knowledge of the period; however, at the same time be prepared for a heavily satirical look at the world of politics that can drag on for many a page and turn the lightest of eyelids to a curtly shutting door.

To truly enjoy the entirity of this book I would recommend both an interest in politics and Arthurian legend otherwise you may find yourself skimming the pages for the "good bits".
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
I ordered and read this book having heard about it in the past. While I am sure it does give interesting insights into the life of the common man in 'Arthurian' Britain, the writing style and 'language' is extremely hard work. In addition the narrator's claimed introduction of modern technologies (trains/ telephones etc.) is laughable with not even the slightest hint as to how these were achieved and what special knowledge the character might reasonably have had to hand, let alone necessary materials.

IT grates and spoils the plot, when he always has an easy out, and a not-to-believable out. Also a disappointing conclusion to the tale. Almost as if the author got bored.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
It's a great book by a great author, especially since its considered the first book written with a time travel narrative. The only downfall though is Twain tends to ramble on more towards the end and it kind of loses focus on the main plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Having just got a Kindle I'm re-reading a lot of books from my childhood. This is totally not as I remembered it! It was far more 'wordy' and it took me a long time to become accustomed to the manner in which it was written. Once I got the hang of it I was fine but I didn't enjoy it as much as I remember
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)