Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £2.15

Save £6.47 (75%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Read this title for free. Learn more
Read for £0.00
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Confessions of a Call Center Gal: a novel by [Lim, Lisa]
Kindle App Ad

Confessions of a Call Center Gal: a novel Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£2.15

Length: 298 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product Description

Review

There are so many memorable episodes in this novel; if this book was adapted to film, I think it would translate very well on the screen.
--Bookmarked

There are so many memorable episodes in this novel; if this book was adapted to film, I think it would translate very well on the screen. --Bookmarked

Sassy and fun. A perfect escape after a long day! --Chick Lit Is Not Dead

From the Publisher

A fun and breezy chick lit romance that will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes, and resonate with women who work in call centers and in customer service."

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 943 KB
  • Print Length: 298 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 061548428X
  • Publisher: Giffin Press (19 Jan. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004PLMHYM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #228,725 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this. Although it is a novel, I suspect the author has worked in a call center at some time as she was spot on. Written in the present which was unusual. I enjoyed the book and having worked in a call center had a few laughs along the way. No really a huge plot to it as such but still enjoyable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I am not a great fan of americian humour,as a matter of fact ninty nine percent is absolute rubbish,but this book is completely different,a very funny lady with a dry humour,well worth the money,carry on lisa give us some more laughs,a great writer
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Confessions of a Call Center Gal was recommended to me by a friend and as soon as I heard the title it reminded me of two things. The first made me think about all the jobs I have had, which I hated and would love to be able to write a book about. And the second? Well unless you are British I doubt you will understand why I had this second thought but I thought of the TV show Confessions of a Call Girl with Billie Piper. Probably because the titles are so similar but also because they are both an hilarious look at industries we don't get to see much of. Well Lisa Lim lets us delve right into the life of this Call Center Gal.

Maddy has just graduated from college, with a journalism degree and is ready to begin her career in print media. There's just one problem Maddy seems to have no luck finding a job she wants. With unemployment being so high and the economy in such a state, Maddy has only two options left - working as a service rep at a call center in Pocatello, Idaho or staying unemployed. Maddy chooses the first option and is plunged into the wild and dysfunctional world of customer service at the Lightning Speed call center in `Spudsville.' At the call center she must deal with obnoxious callers who abuse her all day long and an evil boss who won't get off her case. Maddy manages to find a way to survive and that comes in her smouldering gorgeous co-worker Mika, who Maddy has an enormous crush on. Along with a close group of hilarious friends and a lot of patience. Don't hang up on this novel, as Maddy learns about herself and just why everyone looks down on call center workers.

I loved the character of Maddy and found her so relatable. In fact Maddy reminded me of one of my closest friends, with her witty sense of humour, and unique dialogue.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved this. Hysterically funny, laugh out loud funny even. I could not put it down. It was also spot on in it's depiction of life in a call centre. Noone likes doing the job but someone has to right?

I loved the characters. Some of the names were amazing. The author has a keen eye for satire! I also like the backdrop of the 'will they, won't they' relationship of Mika and Maddy. it was there quietly simmering in the background with all the hilarity going on in the forefront.

I hope the author writes more as I thoroughly anjoyed this and I am sorry it has come to an end!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I found this book to be both funny and, while a little over-the-top in some regards (often the case with much fiction and a lot of good humor), an accurate enough portrayal of working in a call center for anyone not familiar with what this can be like.

I'll get back to the positive, but first I'll tell you a few reasons why some people wouldn't like "Confessions of a Call Center Gal." The first is an idiosyncratic approach to emphasis. This includes occasionally capitalizing all the letters in a word and frequent use of "?!?" as sentence ending punctuation. There are venues where this might be appropriate (informal emails to friends or some internet forums), but in general your words should make the emphasis, if it is needed. A novel isn't the place to use this technique. Even if it was, the technique loses its effect if overused, which was the case here.

The second issue won't be a consideration for most people. When a novel is set in a real place, it is important to get the details correct. It doesn't matter for a reader who isn't familiar with the town, but it might be for those who are. If these details are integral to the story or plot, it becomes critical.

Anyone familiar with the town where "Confessions" is set is going to spot numerous things that don't ring true and some complete errors of fact. For example, the apartment Madison moves into is at least twice as tall as any building in town. None of this is integral to the story and most readers won't recognize any of the issues I spotted as unrealistic. However, using a fictional town would have worked just as well and would probably have been a better choice. Had the book been set in a large city such as New York or Chicago, it would matter that much more.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This is not my usual genre of book but the author invited me to review it for her.

This tells of the life and loves of Maddison (Maddy) and Karrsyn (Kars)who are friends, well most of the time.

They both find themselves working in a call centre, which is not their ideal job. They work with some very different and mostly amusing characters and a supervisor who is quite fearce. Maddy hankers after her colleague Mika and ends up helping him improve his grasp of the English language by introducing him to decent works of fiction.

The story has many laughs along the way, and working in a call center like I do now, I can understand their talk of the "not ready" button, and how heavily supervisors monitor it. Maddy talks about her 8 hour shifts, speaking to some rather rude people, who she handles expertly.

I did feel that some of the calls Maddy spoke about were a bit too detailed and laboured and she rambled on a bit. I found myself getting bored in parts and quickly flicking through the pages.

For me there was just not enough substance and the book didn't grip me enough to keep my interest. Nevertheless it is a light hearted book and for those lovers of chic-lit you may well thoroughly enjoy it, as many others have.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover