Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.74


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2013
I've read Jack Higgins Novels man and boy and he's still one of my favorite novelists-still just-ish. If you're reading this review you're probably a seasoned Higgins fan and know what I mean when I say you know exactly what you're getting every time you pick up a Jack Higgins novel, a kind description of his work post 1979 would be somewhat formulaic. This is the one which set the template for most of his modern body of work. Liam Devlin in a race to stop a KGB assassin. Like most of his Novel's it very violent although somewhat tweed in that respect by modern standards and very exciting in a really accessible way. Confessional is well crafted fast moving and well worth a read. If you're new to Higgins however do yourself a great service and start with something like the Eagle has Landed or some early Sean Dillon stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Excellent ,gasp a minute fast paced thriller written with panache and bravado.Itleads the reader through a maze of Irish politics ,Russian ingenuity and double dealing to a love story of lost childhood mixed together with Fergusons department for British intelligence and manipulating politicians as well as old friends like Liam Devlin.Un- put- downable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
PLEASE CANCEL THIS ITEM AS I HAVE NO KINDLE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
Truly one of Higgins best works, non stop action from the start to the finish.

This is the 3rd published book with Liam Devlin and in my opinion, second only to The eagle has landed. A really excellent plot that makes each page turn a pleasure with a dramatic conclusion at the end which leaves you gagging for more.

I would recommend this book to all action/thriller lovers and a great way to get into the Higgins genre.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
In true Jack Higgins style, an excellent book by an excellent author. Just couldn't put it down, made for weekend reading... Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
Excellent book, third in the Liam Devlin series, set in the 80s and usefully mixing the cold war and the NI 'troubles'. Well paced and very flowing read. These books are not so intricate and climactic as, say, Tom Clancy's best; but they are well written thrillers and enjoyable for a relaxing yet stimulating read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
I seem to be missing something here. 'What shall we do now' a phrase used so often by Tanya the pianist you start to wonder if she has anything in her head besides notes. Must be me because everyone else thinks it's a great book. Sorry but rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I have the trinity!! Hard cover, paper back and know Kindle and am I fed up with it? Not on your nellie!! Jack always seems to pull out the best out of the badest of people! Can't wait for the new Sean Dillon. Hurry up Jack I miss Sean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Good story , but because it was a discontinued book by the publisher, it was slotted in a series in a dated point and never got to read it way back when, so this was a gem for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Real page turner. Great characters. You just didn't want the villain to be stopped. Very rounded characters, that you want to know. Great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here