Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Concert in Blues/Color Her Sunshine

5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

Price: £11.98 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 28 Aug 2015
£11.98 £28.82
Promotion Message Save £5.00 on orders £25.00 or more 1 promotion

Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Amazon's Willie Hutch Store

Special offers and product promotions

  • Get £5 off qualifying orders of £25 or more. Today only. Ts&Cs apply. Enter code BIGTHANKS at checkout. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently bought together

  • Concert in Blues/Color Her Sunshine
  • +
  • Soul Portrait / Season For Love
  • +
  • Fully Exposed
Total price: £32.94
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (28 Aug. 2015)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Caroline International
  • ASIN: B0128ZET4W
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 9,916 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Party Down
  2. I Finally Made The Headlines
  3. Baby, Come Home
  4. Stormy Weather
  5. I Wish You Love
  6. Come On Let's Do The Thang
  7. Don't Let A Little Money Keep You Acting Funny
  8. Stormy Monday
  9. Precious Pearl
  10. Shake, Rattle And Roll
  11. Come On Girl Let's Get It On
  12. I Feel We Can Make It
  13. Color Her Sunshine
  14. I Like Everything About You
  15. Shake It, Shake It
  16. Let Me Be The One
  17. She's Just Doing Her Thing
  18. We Can Make It Baby
  19. I'm Gonna Be Around

Product description

Product Description

Wlllie Hutch. Originally issued in 1976, "Concert In Blues" and "Color Her Sunshine" are making their worldwide CD debut with this 2015 two-on-one set.

As one of the mainstay producer/songwriters at Motown during the ‘70s, Willie Hutch (1944-2005) worked with the likes of The Jackson 5 (at the very onset of their career, as the co-writer and co-producer of the Grammy-winning classic "I’ll Be There"), Michael Jackson (as vocal arranger for his first solo single, "Got To Be There"), Smokey Robinson (on his first solo albums), Marvin Gaye ("Let’s Get It On") and other key Motown fellow artists.

Willie’s own recording career at the label began with the successful soundtrack for the ‘blaxploitation’ movie, "The Mack" in 1973 which spawned two US Top 20 soul singles, the now-classic "Brother’s Gonna Work It Out" and "Slick." His first ‘proper’ Motown solo LP "Fully Exposed" was released that same year and was followed by the soundtrack for "Foxy Brown" and the solo albums ."The Mark Of The Beast" (1974) and "Ode To My Lady" (1975), which spawned Willie’s biggest solo hit single, "Love Power."

Born Willie McKinley Hutchison in Los Angeles and raised in Dallas, Texas, the multi-faceted music man’s early career included work with pop singer/songwriter Johnny Rivers, soul man Al Wilson, and pop/R&B groups The 5th Dimension and The Friends Of Distinction. He also recorded two solo albums for RCA Records ("Soul Portrait" and "Season For Love"). An early morning 1970 phone call from Motown founder Berry Gordy Jr. led to Willie’s first session with The Jackson 5 and in the wake of the success of "I’ll Be There," the talented guitarist and keyboardist was signed to Motown.

The album CONCERT IN BLUES (a Top 30 US R&B charted LP) was notable for its inclusion of Willie’s soulful interpretations of a range of songs including the ‘40s classic, "Stormy Weather," the blues standard "Stormy Monday," the rock’n’roll anthem "Shake, Rattle & Roll" and the ’40s pop hit, "I Wish You Love" along with original tunes such as "Party Down," the album’s US Top 20 soul groove hit and funky cuts like "Come On Let’s Do The Thing" and "Don’t Let Money Keep You Acting Funny." The track "Baby, Come Home" has been sampled by rap, hip-hop and R&B artists including Ghostface Killah (feat Ne-Yo) and Lil’ Kim (featuring Mary J. Blige)

The follow up album, COLOR HER SUNSHINE was entirely written, arranged and produced by Willie (who also played guitar and keyboards) – while less commercially successful than its’ predecessor – was a fine showcase for the mix of soul grooves and love ballads that became Willie’s stock in trade. Standout tracks include the single, "Shake It, Shake It" and the easy-like-Sunday-morning title cut which has been sampled by Rick Ross (featuring Avery Storm) and Three 6 Mafia.

Willie – whose music has also been heavily sampled by other rap and hip-hop artists of note including 50 Cent and Kanye West – made one more Motown album fin 1977 Motown before signing with Whitfield Records and then returning to Motown in 1985.

This new reissue (produced by David Nathan of SoulMusic Records) represents one of soul music’s true heroes and is sure to be embraced by Motown enthusiasts who have long appreciated Willie’s contribution to the label’s legacy. Remastering by Nick Robbins, artwork by Roger Williams and stellar notes by renowned US writer A. Scott Galloway includes quotes from a 1998 interview with Willie.

4 customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

20 November 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 June 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
16 November 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
5 April 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
11 August 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
Chris Williams
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
29 August 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
3.0 out of 5 starsWILLIE HUTCH
17 February 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful.