Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2013
I have been a vegetarian for about 25 years, I have been given many books like this but this is the best by far! Wonderful recipes, especially Halumi, cous cous and courgette. Excuse spelling!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2006
The beginning of the book goes into great, interesting detail about all types of vegetables, fruits, carbohydrates, proteins and fats. It discusses all aspects of the vegetarian larder - what each adds to a balanced diet, how to spot good quality/ripe foods and how to cook them to get the best out of them.

The rest of the book contains over 500 recipes separated into categories including breakfasts, soups, starters, special occasions, side dishes and puddings. The recipes are from all over the world, they are easy to follow and there is plenty of colour photography to get your juices going.

As an avid meat eater I have used this book plenty of times, for vegeterian side dishes for a dinner feast and for variety at breakfast time, with scruptious results and plenty of requests for seconds. As a result, I have now cooked a number of vegetarian dishes for their own sake and do not miss the meat.

I don't think I would give up meat altogether but I am certainly more savvy about what and when to buy vegetables, why its important to eat them and how to cook them. What more would a meat eater need from a vegetarian cookbook?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
The best vegetarian book of recipes. So many recipes, very easy to follow, in 90% with normal ingredients you usually find in shops. Totally foolproof. Pictures accompanying every recipe and in majority of cases even the step by step guide.
At the beginning explains about different types and categories of vegetables and then the recipes come. Whenever I get stuck I just open this book and voila there is inspiration. The index at the end could have been better, as sometimes the recipes related to the particular vegetable are not listed even though they are in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Great book, bought for a friend after lending her my copy. Gives valuable nutritional information in a well laid out format at the beginning of the book with great photographs. States all vitamins and minerals available from each food along with health benefits ie: cancer preventing etc. Recipes inspiring with good photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Love the recipes in this book and the tips and informative nutritional content. Descriptions of different veg, spices and other food groups really useful too. Beautiful illustrations of all the recipes and clear directions with photos too. An altogether excellent book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
I borrowed a copy of this book from a neighbour and had to buy my own because this is the most inspiring cook book I have ever used, it is full of pictures that get the taste buds jumping and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. So far every recipe I have followed has been a success and loved by the people who have eaten it, not all vegetarians I must add. The book is also a guide to ingredients and their benefits so that a good healthy balanced diet can be achieved. The book is subdivided into sections for Light Meals, Soups, desserts or Special occassions etc so you can flick through a pick a meal that suits you very easily. The only difficult bit is making the choice as there are so many tasty meals! Buy it - you will love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Fantastic book, great recipes and actually very educational, in these days of meat costing so much these are really good recipes for everybody not just vegetarians
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Love this book!! great soup recipies!!
The lentil Dahl is a particular go to favourite
I have bought a copy for each of my children this Christmas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Bought this book after using it when staying with my son. I'm not a vegetarian but loved the recipes, which are easy to follow and so tasty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
I love this book as it serves as a good reference point for various food items as well.

One of the reasons to love this book is also because the recipes ensure that you do preparation in the most efficient manner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)