Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2011
This is mainly a review of the boxset, rather than the show itself, which is undoubtedly excellent (5 stars!).

The Amazon listing is extremely low on product detail. So, here's some info you'll be hard pressed to find else where.

The boxset itself is made by CBS Dvd, who also made the latest Frasier and Sex in the City boxsets. Like these other sets, this set is very compact, with a hard card outer 'shoe box' box and inner folded card sleeves, where the the discs slot in. The dimensions of this set are c.110 x 195 x 140mm, and is probably best sat on it's end on the shelf. It takes up about the same space as 2 1/2 of the previous season boxsets.

The boxset appears to contain the same special features as the previous individual season releases. However, there is a 'bonus disc' which contains the following documentaries and features:

The Next Gen's Impact: 20 Years Later
The Next Gen's Legacy: 2007
Star Trek Visual Effects Magic: A Roundtable Discussion
Select Historical Data 1 & 2
Inside the Star Trek Archives
Intergalactic Guest Stars
Alien Speak
Inside Starfleet Academy Archives: Sets and Props
Special Profiles
Dressing the Future
66 comments| 268 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
Looking at the image of the box-set on this site i was expecting a box around the size of the Star Trek: Films 1-10 Remastered Special Edition Box Set [DVD]. I was surprised then when I received a small amazon box and pleasently surprised to see that the product was quite a bit smaller, brilliant packaging of the DVD's avoids needing a large area to store it. The product is no bigger than The Lord of the Rings Trilogy (Extended Edition Box Set) [DVD], surprising seeing as it's seven seasons worth of DVD's compared to just three movies.

As for the DVDs they are held in a cardboard sleeves (takes less space) and each disc has its own pocket (avoiding the annoyance with some series cases where you have to take out a load of other discs to get the one you want.)

I would definitely look at buying the rest of the complete collections.

The one problem with it is that I will not be able to sleep for five or so days watching them all.
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
The best way to get the entire 'Star Trek: The Next Generation' is to buy this DVD box set. It's a much better re-release than the cardboard original release. People complained that with the original release the discs kept moving or falling out, plus that the discs could get scratched this way too. With this particular re-release you get a sturdy outer box and three wider than normal DVD cases inside. If you intend to get the whole collection 'Star Trek: The Original Series' , 'Star Trek: The Next Generation' , 'Star Trek: Deep Space Nine', 'Star Trek: Voyager' and 'Star Trek: Enterprise', then, you can't really go wrong buying them this way. It saves a lot of storage space and they look great on the shelf. I don't think these seasons have been released better than this. Plus with 'Star Trek' celebrating it's 50th anniversary next year, it's the perfect way to get them all just before.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
This Star Trek TNG set splits the discs, exactly like the last X Files set, into three amaray boxes, the first holding seasons 1-3, the second holding seasons 4-6 and the last, a slimmer one, holding season 7. It includes only the television show and not any of the 4 feature films which followed it. For the films, i recommend buying the Stardate Collection (The Motion Picture - Nemesis) or, if you only want TNG, the seperate TNG film set (Generations - Nemesis). This si a great set if you care only about the discs and not so much about packaging. I've taken to transferring the discs into seperate cases and making my own covers.

The picture and audio is fine. Obviously it isn't going to be of the highest quality. This is DVD, not Blu Ray. It isn't as atrotious as you may have been led to believe. You stop noticing after a while. The special features are minimal but ok. There are some decent documentaries if you want to learn a bit about the shows background.

If you're poor but you want to watch Star Trek TNG, this is the set for you. You can always upgrade later. Also, this is cheaper than buying them individually.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
nice compact well packaged disk set, same extras and layout as 20th anniversary version (discs not decorated like in that set, more basic is this set but easier to read and use) but better quality, packaging (display box) less likely to get damaged and easier to use. paramout could do with digitally remastering this series but still great.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Was great revisiting this series and watching it now as an adult. Fantastic performances from Patrick Stewart and the cast. Fascinating sci-fi stories loaded with intrigue and moral debates. Excellent Special Features for each individual season too. Pretty amazing all round. Peaks during seasons 2-4 and takes quite a dip in it's final year but still holds up as some of the greatest tv ever created. Don't even hesitate about watching this show if you haven't already. Make it so.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
Ignoring the quality of the series itself (it's Star Trek with all the quirks it entails) I was very happy with the box set. It's compact and complete, perfect for my limited space requirements.

However one disc in the first season would not play properly. I skipped the episode that was faulty and carried on watching anyway. Then in season 5 I have found another disc that skips. The disc itself looks perfect, no scratches or smudges, but the final 10 minutes of one episode just refuses to play in any DVD player. As such I have returned it and had the set replaced.

It's not a HUGE issue. Out of 50 odd DVDs I have had two discs that skip 60 minutes of content, however being 50 discs if there are any issues you won't notice the errors until weeks, months or even years after you have bought the set when you finally reach a faulty episode at which point it will probably be too late to get fixed.
22 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I love this series, but there is something wrong with this box set, which might be the same for all the sets.
I ordered mine at the end of November 2011, didn't get through the whole set for a while, especially as I was away for half a year.
Just this month I realised that some of the episodes in the final series would freeze near to the end of the episode.
For some reason it worked fine on my old PS2 but it didn't work on my new portable DVD player, which never has any problems with other dvds.
I was given a new box set recently, but the same thing happened with my new one.
I praise Amazon for great customer service, I wasn't expecting anything from them as it was ordered in 2011. I was given a new box set and asked for the old set to be returned (which is free), then as that didn't work, I have returned the box set and they will give me a refund.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Firstly, this isn't a review of the show itself. If you are not familar with the Star Trek franchise, clearly you having been living under a rock with your fingers in your ears for the last forty odd years.

This box set sits compactly on the shelf & I would suggest purchasing the entire set of franchise to confirm & celabrate your inner geek (come on! who doesn't like to be nerdy?). Each season comes in a sturdy foldout cardboard wallet that should (unless you decide to throw them out the window) hold up well to repeated veiwings.

There is, as has been mentioned before, a "bonus" disk full of interesting little tidbits. My only little complaint is there is no "select all" option on the menu screen.

All in all however, if you are considering buying this set my advice would be to "make it so"!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Great full box set ,all the full collections .brand new sealed condition .never thought I would get these as a avid fan of original series but are great , interesting how they have duplicated some original stories into this series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)