Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Recordings: 1955-59 (4CD) Box set

4.6 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: £11.27 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, 10 Mar 2014
£11.27 £66.35
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
2 new from £11.27 1 used from £66.35

Product details

  • Audio CD (10 Mar. 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Enlightenment
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 11,993 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Pogo Stick
  2. Liza
  3. Jones Bones
  4. Sometimes I'm Happy
  5. Little Leona
  6. Miss Mopsy
  7. Gone Again
  8. Hagnes
  9. Walkin'
  10. Stockholm Sweetnin'
  11. Evening in Paris
  12. Sermonette
  13. A Sleepin' Bee
  14. Boo's Blues

Disc: 2

  1. Dancing Pants
  2. Blues Day
  3. Bright Moon
  4. No Bones At All
  5. The Oom Is Blues
  6. Be My Guest
  7. Medley: What's New/We'll Be Together Again/Time on My Hands/You Go to My Head/Laura
  8. London Derriere
  9. King's Road Blues
  10. Two Sleepy People
  11. Someone to Watch Over Me
  12. I Concentrate on You
  13. Ill Wind
  14. Last Night When We Were Young
  15. Out of This World
  16. When I Fall In Love
  17. Tangerine
  18. What's Good About Goodbye

Disc: 3

  1. Quincy's Home Again
  2. Midnight Sun Never Sets
  3. Cherokee
  4. Count 'em
  5. Brief Encounter
  6. Room 608
  7. Kinda Blues
  8. Meet Benny Bailey
  9. Doodlin'
  10. The Birth of a Band
  11. Moanin'
  12. I Remember Clifford
  13. Along Came Betty
  14. Tickle Toe
  15. Happy Faces
  16. Whisper Not
  17. The Gypsy
  18. A Change of Pace
  19. Tuxedo Junction

Disc: 4

  1. Syncopated Clock
  2. Choo Choo Ch-Boogie
  3. The Midnight Sun Will Never Set
  4. The Preacher
  5. Marchin' the Blues
  6. Moanin'
  7. Happy Faces
  8. Daylie Double
  9. Pleasingly Plump
  10. A Parisian Thoroughfare
  11. G'wan Train
  12. Lester Leaps In
  13. Ghana
  14. Caravan
  15. Everybody's Blues
  16. Cherokee (Indian Love Song)
  17. Air Mail Special
  18. They Say It's Wonderful
  19. Chant of the Weed
  20. I Never Has Seen Snow
  21. Eesom

Product description

Product Description

The music made by Quincy Jones during the second half 1950s was a stunning example of contemporary jazz during that pivotal decade for the form. Listening back today to these groundbreaking records delightfully illustrate how the dynamic musician, performer, composer and arranger first introduced his extraordinary skills to the world. After spending the first half of the decade working for other musicians, including a number of freelance commissions arranging songs for renowned artists such as Dinah Washington, Duke Ellington, and his close friend Ray Charles, Jones soon decided it was time for him to take the lead. The first album release to feature Quincy as a named artist was the 1955 release on Mercury Records Jazz Abroad on which he featured alongside jazz drummer Roy Haynes. Next up was, That s How I feel About Jazz featuring an all star cast including Art Farmer, Lucky Johnson & Phil Woods - following which he would record and release a further six albums before the end of the 1950s, all for Mercury. Quincy Jones first eight albums, all released during this period, are featured on this 4CD set in their entirety, in glorious re-mastered sound, making this package the most complete Quincy Jones 1950s collection available today.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 6 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

19 April 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
8 May 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
4 June 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
17 February 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
4 December 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
30 August 2014
Format: Audio CD
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?