£11.89
  • RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £5.10 (30%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Complete MAUS has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 8 images

The Complete MAUS Paperback – 2 Oct 2003

4.8 out of 5 stars 233 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
£11.89
£8.71 £9.97
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£11.89 FREE Delivery in the UK. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • The Complete MAUS
  • +
  • Persepolis
Total price: £18.88
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 296 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; 01 edition (2 Oct. 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141014083
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141014081
  • Product Dimensions: 23.1 x 16 x 2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 233 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,113 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

The first masterpiece in comic book history (New Yorker)

One of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory (Independent)

A brutally moving work of art (Boston Globe)

In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving (TimeOut)

Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt (New Yorker)

An epic story told in tiny pictures (New York Times)

The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust (Wall Street Journal)

Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it (Umberto Eco)

A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event (New York Times Book Review)

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' (New York Times)

About the Author

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, which was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. He lives in New York.


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

on 3 October 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2008
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2010
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2012
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: batman comic, sylvia plath, the watchmen, titan books, world of art, graphic novel

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?