Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2010
Unlike many books on Ayurveda which are all theory, or refer only to complicated proceedures that must be carried out by professionals or herbs and spices that are tricky to get hold of, this book contains many practical tips for healthy living and cures for specific ailments. If you can get to an Indian grocery with a moderate collection of spices, then you will be able to use many of the cures and tips in this book, and more unusual ingredients can be easily obtained through mail order.

The start of the book has a good clear introduction to Ayurveda, and Dr Vasant Lad gives much practical advice on living healthily following Ayurvedic principles. Next there is a large section on specific ailments and their cures, which takes up most of the book. Finally there are some appendicies with recipes and diagrams and so on.

I highly reccomend this book to those who are just learning about Ayurveda and who would like to start simply with easy techniques and tips they can try out at home. It's also a great natural health reference for any house.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I gave this book a high rating because the remedies that I have tried have worked amazingly well! particularly the home remedy for diarrhea which is half a banana mushed down with a teaspoon ghee it worked so well I was astonished, also the cure for asthmatic symptoms breathlessness, wheezy chest, a spoonful of ghee and honey mixed together and taken orally, this has been a blessing ...no more asthma pumps hooray!
However my only criticism would be, that the names of many of the items described, (names only) ie herbs or natural materials, are written and named in a language other than English, I think that every word that is written in this book or that even has an Asian name, needs to be translated into English, and additionally an explanation of what the item is! otherwise an English reader may have no clue as to what many of the items are,luckily I am familiar with a few terms, which others may not be. As Ayurveda is an ancient theory, which is being introduced to the western world through this book, In my opinion more clarity is definitely needed (only with regards to the names of stuff, the rest is very easy to digest) Note to Author ...This book needs to be written as though the audience has never heard of any Asian herb before...Then it will be a definate 5 stars!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
As a yoga practitioner and someone who is working at balancing my life, moving towards that which is positive and life-affirming, I find this an invaluable guide. The basics of ayurveda are introduced in a clear manner in the first section of the book and serve as a very useful introduction to anyone new to the subject. The second section lists a broad variety of different ailments and provides practices ranging from diet to herbs, yoga asanas, breathing exercises and meditation by which you can influence your own healing and take back your own power. Wonderful book, I often consult it daily.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
This is the first book i purchased on this subject - the information inside has honestly changed my health. It is easy to read yet contains so much useful information. I would especially recommend this to book to anyone who is interested in ayurveda and wants to start from scatch. Read it, it can chnge your life. Honest!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2001
A really useable guide for anyone seeking an alternative deeper explanation for common ailments and how to deal with them. The author is a real authority on the subject. Remedies include herbs available in the West and not just classic Ayurvedic herbs from India. The book gives a deeper insight into the causes of the illness from an Ayurvedic point of view, which can be used to regulate one's life style accordingly.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
It's the best book I could come across in Ayurveda. It is a complete guide through the basic principles of Ayurveda, helps you program your everyday activities according to your constitution and includes quick-easy home remedies for all the basic ailments that we westerner's face!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
Tries to cover many topics and written very well. The topics are condensed to fit in to the volume but is enough for most of the people. Excellent organization and both traditional Indian and Western herbs are covered. Great resource together with Deepak Chopras Herbal Handbook.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
I loved this book. It changed my life completely. It is my bible now. Easy to read, to understand and with great advice. Thank you Vasant Lad.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
I've had the book for about a year and keep referring to it very often. The remedies are easy to prepare and have simple ingredients. The list of illnesses is very comprehensive - I haven't yet found anything missing. It is also nicely written - full yet simple explanations of complicated issues. Love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
An excellent book for someone interested in knowing and learning how ayurveda works except the author uses the ayurvedic / Sanskrit names for herbs and medicinal plants etc. being the treatment. So I first need to find a translation if these and then search where I can find these.

It would really help if the more common names understandable by ordinary people could be incorporated.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)