Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.79

Save £3.20 (46%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Coming Up Roses by [Lucas, Rachael]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Coming Up Roses Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 179 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.79

Length: 401 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for £0.00. Learn more

Product description

Review

Wonderful escapism with a gloriously romantic setting (Katie Fforde)

Original, atmospheric, intriguing, romantic and funny - I loved it! (Christina Jones)

Reminded me a bit of Jilly Cooper's brilliant first novel, Emily . . .and in my book you can't get higher praise than that (Emma Lee Potter)

A wonderfully feel-good read (Julia Williams)

A warm and entertaining story of village life. I loved it. (Katie Fforde)

The perfect summer read, brimming with fun, flowers and beautifully drawn characters. I adored it! (Cathy Bramley)

It's a gorgeous story - funny, touching and hugely warm-hearted. I actually cheered at the end! (Miranda Dickinson)

Coming Up Roses is a delight of a book: gardening, friendship, warm believable characters and a wonderful romance to boot. What's not to love? (Julia Williams)

'A delightful read, perfect to curl up with on a lazy afternoon' (Novelicious)

'Original, atmospheric, intriguing, romantic and funny - I loved it!' (Christina Jones)

A delicious novel filled to the brim with warmth and charm (Rowan Coleman)

Book Description

A charming novel from the bestselling author of Sealed with a Kiss, blooming with humour and romance! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Katie Fforde

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1033 KB
  • Print Length: 401 pages
  • Publisher: Pan; Main Market Ed. edition (21 May 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00NLFVQ6I
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 179 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #42,854 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Welsh Annie TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 31 May 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
The story is quite perfect, beautifully written, easy to escape into. Steeple St John is a wonderful village setting, and I loved the way that Daisy started out doing little but gardening, walking the dog and licking her wounds, but slowly got drawn into village life with its large cast of characters and very real everyday dramas. The female friendships are really well drawn - both Elaine and Jo were as well drawn as Daisy herself, and their issues real and challenging. I loved the support they provided for each other, the funny moments and the tears.

There's a love interest for Daisy, of course - two of them really - but gently handled and almost incidental to the other strands of the plot. I loved the detail about the gardens, and Daisy's warm friendship with pensioner Thomas, with his notebook of details about the original plantings and philosophical attitude towards change. The depiction of village life was wonderful - the village pub, the allotments, the fete, the barbecue and the inevitable organiser with the clipboard (who proves far more likeable than she first seems).

I adore a book where you get totally involved in the lives of the characters, think of them as friends, really invest yourself in things turning out as you hope... and feel a real sense of loss when you close the book and have to say goodbye. If you've enjoyed books by Katie Fforde, Judy Astley or Lucy Diamond, you'll love this one. The writing is every bit as strong, the characters and setting as vividly drawn, the emotional engagement just as great, the humour as perfectly handled, and the whole book every bit as engrossing. And when this is only the author's second novel, that's high praise indeed - and thoroughly well-deserved.

My thanks to netgalley and publishers Pan for my advance reading e-copy.
Comment 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Gill VINE VOICE on 29 April 2015
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Coming Up Roses by Rachael Lucas tells the story of Daisy, a gardener by trade, who flees to her parent’s house in the beautiful, though small, village of Steeple St John following the shock of finding her (now former) boyfriend and (now former) best friend together. Daisy’s parents leave her to housesit while they start their tour round the world and Daisy sets about taming their wild, overgrown garden and rebuilding her shattered life. As Daisy meets more of the villagers she gains new friends who all have their own stories like Thomas, an elderly neighbour who had originally landscaped the garden years ago and was only too happy to lend a hand, enjoy the company and share the beautifully kept records of his work. Female friendships in the form of Elaine, the headmaster’s wife, and Jo who has a daughter but hasn’t told the father bring drama, humour and belonging to Daisy’s life. Ned the vet and George the Irishman are woven into the tale of life in Steeple St John along with garden fetes, delicious food, some nosy neighbours and other events all of which are told with beautifully vivid writing and bring the overgrown garden, and Daisy’s life, back to its former glory.
I thoroughly enjoyed Coming Up Roses. An easy read, the characters were interesting and the story captivated me from the outset. With many ups and downs, there is an underlying humour which made me laugh out loud on a number of occasions and I would recommend this Rachael Lucas book as perfect for holiday reading or when just enjoying some “me time”.
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Mr. D. L. Rees TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 4 May 2015
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Put your feet up, check a drink is within reach, and settle down for the lightest of reads.

Betrayed by her loved one and best friend (both now very ex), Daisy Price flees to her parents' home in the village of Steeple St. John (they conveniently off to India for several months). Tending their large garden hopefully will restore peace of mind.

Gradually Daisy becomes absorbed into village life and begins to make friends. Delightful eighty-four year old Tom is a keen fellow gardener. Other companions for gossip and jugs of Pimm's are headmaster's wife Elaine and single mum counsellor Jo. Both have secrets.

Less appealing are one or two others. (Were this Midsomer, they no doubt deservedly despatched before the first set of adverts).

Despite all Daisy has gone through, can love be in the air? What about scruffy vet Ned or twinkly-eyed George, he a charmer if ever there was?

A threat! Property developers are eyeing the larger gardens, determined to squeeze into each as many as possible extra houses. The garden Daisy has been tending these past few months becomes especially targeted. Will the villagers be able to thwart...?

Those seeking something more substantial need to apply elsewhere. I confess all was a little too cosy for my taste. Many, though, will enjoy the genteel escapism as they sip, rather pleased that quite early on they guessed what the outcome would be.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
A proper good warm feeling read for me.

Daisy I loved right from the start and her meetings with Thomas sweet.

Village life may not be quite the fast and furious lifestyle that Daisy had but what better place than this one to lick ones wounds. Lord only knows how her parents lived with the garden beforehand or jungle as it sounded more like.

The story sets out with a great opening and follow through to the end for me. I could almost picture the gardens myself the way that Thomas talked about them.

A good 392 page read full of village life and quirky characters that seem to inhabit them.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover