Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2017
Very good collection of differing musical genres from the 1950s brought together by One Day music.
This three CD collection is great value with many good tracks from artists and groups such as Faye Adams, The Nutmegs and The Mello Kings to mention a few.

One of the best in this series of " The Story " from One Day Music. The majority of tracks are entertaining and good pop tunes that allows you to listen in chronological order without continually reaching for the fast forward button. Brief liner notes of the Herald record company, it's beginning and the story of its conception. Buy this good collection while you can as it will be one of One Days best sellers.

Delivered in 24 hours by Amazon special purchase in a strong cardboard box in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
A real mixture of Do-wop, Rockabilly and RnB.

some great rare(ish) rockabilly cuts, Some Standard Do-wop with one or two more obscure tracks, Great to see Lightning Hopkins Rocking away!!

Faye Adams is cutting a rug with two of her best, copied by all but none bettered, she really has got something in the voice, not just a "blues Shouter" as she has been described, the voice is controlled and LOUD!

Of the One Day releases this has been probably the best for me not many duffers on it, even the Buddy Greco track is interesting!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
amazing collection have been searching for a number of these tracks for years, above all fantastic value
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 October 2013
Afficianados will know Herald for its doo-wop output, more than well represented here by such as the Mello-Kings, the Turbans, Maurice Williams & the Zodiacs, the Five Willows, the Nutmegs and others. It started life issuing blues, as per Little Walter, Eddie Boyd, Lightnin' Hopkins (agreeably rockin' here) and Cousin Leroy, hastily moving into r&b, e.g., Faye Adams, Tommy Ridgley, moving rapidly into the aforementioned doo-wop. On the way, they took in teen rocker Little Butchie Saunders, at least until his voice broke and rather surprisingly, the frantic r&r/rockabilly of Ronnie Pearson. So really, what's not to like?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
COME AND GET IT THE HERALD RECORDS STORY 1953-1962 has 75 hits spread over 3 Cds for a really low low price.

These sets really are a steal at this price.

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished.

Now these sets really are a mixed bag.

Some tracks and artists you will know- others not.

But that is the real joy- you just might discover some tracks you have never heard and enjoy if not then the FF feature is just for you.

However if you are like me and of a certain age you want to read which artists and tracks are featured but Amazon have scrunched up all the tracks making it hard to read so I've spaced them out so you can read them more easily.

This revised list should help?


1. Come And Get It - Maurice Williams & The Zodiacs

2. Tonite-Tonite - The Mello-Kings

3. Let's Move - Lightnin' Hopkins

4. Hot Shot - Ronnie Pearson

5. I Wanna Holler - Little Butchie Saunders

6. Ooh Baby - Buddy Greco

7. Remember The Night - The Loungers

8. I'll Be True - Faye Adams

9. Vip A Dip - The Mint Juleps

10. Woncha Gone - Tommy Ridgley

11. Story Untold - The Nutmegs

12. You Know It's True - Ricky Jones

13. Why Should We Break Up - The Sonnets

14. Waiting At The Station - Cousin Leroy

15. Darlin' - The Debonaires

16. Sweet Thing - Charlie & Ray

17. Rockin' At The Bandstand - The Royal Holidays

18. Flash Lightnin' - Lightnin' Hopkins

19. Savin' My Love - The Triangles

20. Foolish One - The Rocketeers

21. I Just Keep Lovin' Her - Little Walter

22. Ginny - The Smart Tones

23. When You Dance - The Turbans

24. So Help Me - The Five Willows

25. Lonesome Soul - The Tune Tones


1. She Bops A Lot - Ronnie Pearson

2. Baby Do Little - Tommy Ridgley

3. Stay - Maurice Williams & The Zodiacs

4. Dearest One - Charlie & Ray

5. Hear Me Talkin' - Lightnin' Hopkins

6. Knockin' On Your Door - Jimmy King

7. Sister Sookey - The Turbans

8. You Can't Fool Me Baby - Cindy Mann

9. Baby Come A Little Closer - The Five Willows

10. Lindy Lou - Little Butchie Saunders & His Buddies

11. The Only One - Gene Ross

12. Chip Chip - The Mello-Kings

13. Crossroads - Cousin Leroy

14. Shake A Hand - Faye Adams

15. Cold Lonely Heart - The Desires

16. I Wanna See My Lovin' Baby - Pork Chops

17. Dance Dance - Vocalaires

18. Flippin' Over You - Ronnie Pearson

19. Eternal Love - The Heralds

20. My Little Kewpie Doll - Lightnin' Hopkins

21. Lizabeth - The Thrillers

22. Down In Cuba - The Royal Holidays

23. Until You're Mine - The Miller Sisters

24. Comin' Home - The Nutmegs

25. Bells Of Love - The Mint JulepsCD3

CD 3

1. Baby Tell Me - The Mello-Kings

2. Mad With You, Baby - Charlie & Ray

3. Hurts Me To My Heart - Faye Adams

4. Come Back Baby - The Sunbeams

5. Take A Walk With Me - Little Walter

6. I Dig That Girl The Most - Ronnie Pearson

7. Lay Your Head On My Shoulder - The Five Willows

8. Evil Hearted Woman - Lightnin' Hopkins

9. She's Right For Me - The Tune Tones

10. You Broke My Heart - The Rosettes

11. Great Big Heart - Little Butchie Saunders & His Buddies

12. My Sweet Dreams - The Nutmegs

13. Sleep In Job - Sticks McGhee

14. Forever Love - The Dynamics

15. Bob O Link - The Smart Tones

16. Lonesome For My Baby - Eddie Boyd

17. I Remember - Maurice Williams & The Zodiacs

18. Tell Me Why - The Sunbeams

19. Marlene - The Concords

20. Boogie Woogie Dance - Lightnin' Hopkins

21. When I Meet My Girl - Tommy Ridgley

22. Please Talk To Me - The Thrillers

23. A Fool Was I - Al Savage

24. It Was A Night Like This - The Turbans

25. You Belong To Me - Fats Noel

26. No I don't! Stevie D'Or and The Dockers.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This is part of a series of cheap compilation albums and is well worth the money to add these to your collection. Even though you might have a lot of the tracks there is always something that will turn up that you do not have. Super service from the seller
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)