Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
Colour and Meaning: Art, Science and Symbolism
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 August 2014
Colour and Culture was more detailed. This later version is abbreviated and has some more up to date info from neuroscience. I prefer the original.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2018
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2018
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2014
I am doing a thesis on film and this book has been of great assistance. The content is to the point and clear. Narratives are easily located.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
Interesting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2015
Despite this book being based around colour theory, the majority of the book relies on the text. However the theory behind it is very interesting! Perfect for my dissertation thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2005
Text fascinating and informative but this book is about colour and yet most of the plates are reproduced in black and white! Very disappointing!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2002
J. Gage debates the connection betwen color theory and culture: Is the way we percieve colors from culture or nature.
Then there is a collection of essays, from Newton predecesors to Goethe, Chevreul and Kandinsky by historic order. I found it interesting and sometimes compeling.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2002
More than sistematic book is a collection of essays about color and culture throu history: is the perception of color historic or determined by nature? what's the connection betewn language and colour theory? Newton Optics and his predecesors, Goethe, Kandinsky and Chevreul are interestingly exposed
I've found it rather interesting and sometimes compeling.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)