Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
31
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2012
I bought this book on the glowing recommendations of the two previous reviewers and I'm so glad I did. This is one beautifully produced book. The colour combinations shown are actually worked in embroidery. Rather than colour blobs in a table format you can see straight away how they can turn out.

At the end of the book are projects you can work on with diagrams and of course suggested colours. The little Tufted Flycatcher perched on a branch is 100% cute and the worked example is incredibly lifelike.

Personally I know now that with this book I will never be stuck on what colours will go with each other. This book is both immensely practical and a work of art.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This is a beautiful book which does what it says on the cover! To get the best out of it I really think you need to be familiar with thread painting otherwise known as Long and Short stitch or needle painting. The book is aimed at people with some experience in this field although there is a brief explanation of the stitches used in shading in embroidery ie long and short stitch, French knots, satin stitch and split stitch. If you are new to this method you might find it helpful to start off with Long and Short Stitch Embroidery or Needle Painting Embroidery both by Trish Burr. Colour Confidence gives guidance as to how colour and the combinations of it affects the work. There are dozens of worked examples showing which colours look good together .There is whole section which provides a colour resource to refer to when trying to combine colours complete with the relevant DMC numbers. A large part of the book is taken up with various projects based on specific colours again with shade numbers given.
This book is a feast for the eyes and makes you just want to dive in and start stitching.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
A good reference book with lovely pictures, it's helping me with my early attempts at silk shading but I am sure it will continue to came in handy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Trish Burr has to be one of the best 'thread painters' in the world. Her work is amazing. This is a truly inspirational and excellent reference book for anyone interested in embroidery whether you are a total novice or an experieced embroiderer. It has to be an essential item for a book shelf and would make a fantastic gift. The book covers every aspect of choosing colours for embroidery, which colours work well together and how to choose. It is extremely easy to follow and gives clear explanations in realtion to various colour comsbinations for many different projects. There is also some really good information on how to blend colours for the most realistic effects. The photos are in full colour and very detailed. The author has included 'step by step' illustrations as well as sample projects which demonstrate the different effects which can be achieved using various thread colours. She has included some excellent information as to the types of cloth available and makes recommendations which fabric works best with which threads. In addition to all of this information are some truly beautiful projects which will inspire. There are outlines which can be traced off to use in your own projects, colour keys with reference numbers for DMC cotton floss and various silk thread. At the end of the book Trish has included the names, addresses and emails/online shops which supply all the materials she has used. I think the thing I liked most about this book is the explanations and demonstrations as to how to achieve realism in silk shading or needlepainting. The photographs illustrate clearly how to achieve the various effects of laying threads so that the finished project almost comes to life rather than looking 'flat'.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
I saw this book favourably reviewed in Australian Homespun and ordered it on the strength of the review. I wasn't disappointed! If you're a quilter, embroiderer or textile artist, this would be a worthwhile addition to your reference library, and the excellent photographs of Ms Burr's careful and beautiful work are a delight. Her illustrations of subtly changing colour variation make my fingers itch - I can feel a new and very different quilt coming on.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Excellent just what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
This is book for anyone who wishes to learn about the use of colour in embroidery. This book has been well thought out and produced - plenty of good photographic illustrations of colour combinations. Although predominately uses the technique of silk shading to demonstrate the information, this book can be used for just about any embroidery technique. Although a little pricey, it is really good value for money and a book that would be used frequently. I purchased this book on the strength of the reviews and none have been exaggerated. It truly is an excellent book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
this is. Great book for anyone who is interested in this technique. I was impressed by the colour photographs and the illustrated instructions on how to do this embroidery technique.
There's some small projects in book to get you started . Overall a must for anyone interested in silk shading embroidery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)