Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2009
These guides have improved vastly from the Nicholson guides I originally bought in the late 70's/ early 80's. Colour OS maps help information to stand out clearly and the spiral binding means the pages you want stay open on the barge roof (wind permitting) when you are navigating (very helpfull on junctions or other places where decisions are required - and not just how much ketchup you want on your bacon butty). There are a couple of things they could be more helpful on though. Firstly, pub/ restaurant/ shops are mentioned, but a note as to which bridge is most convenient or safest to moor would be good. Similarly, notes on general safe/ secure/ legal overnight moorings, particularly in built up areas would be useful. Is all of Oxford safe or are there places to avoid ?
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
This series is simply the only set of books that you need for exploring Britain's canals.

The information is most appropriate, very detailed, and much better than rival publications.

My only criticism is that some canals are described in sections going from East to West. This means that, for example, if you are looking at pages 14 and 15, and you want to see where the canal goes to after page 15, then you turn to pages 12 and 13!

2010 update
-----------

I've got various books in this series, and I think they are the best available.

But I get fed up with them. As per my original comment, would you buy a road map book where the pages didn't flow simply from West to East?

And have you ever seen a road map book which didn't have an overview of all the pages at the front - so that you could immediately go to your page of interest? I don't think I've ever seen one.

And would you buy a road map book which doesn't even have any kind of contents page at the front?

All of the books in this series suffer from these failings. The ones post-2009 do, at least, have a list of the canals that the book covers. But you should expect that every time you pick up the book, you will need to flick from front to back a couple of times before you can identify your required page.

The Ordnance Survey maps look very useful at first, but gradually you find their shortcomings.

So not brilliant, but still the best that I can find on the subject.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
Nicholson has always been the guide of choice for the waterways and this one is no exception. Clear, precise maps coupled with good information about the towns and villages along the route, boatyards, water, pubs and restaurants. The only downside, as with any guide, is that it becomes dated very quickly due to changing circumstances, for example pubs which have closed since the research was done. It is worth phoning ahead to check. Overall, in our opinion, still the best guide available and an ideal companion for river and canal journeys. Excellent value for money.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
I've been buying Nicholsons Guides for years and in every edition, bit by bit they get better and better.

I tend to have both the Nicholson and the Pearson guides for any particular area. The maps in the former are by far and away the best and that probably goes for much of the information too. But Pearson's idiosyncratic text is a joy. If you have the cash, get both.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guide Grand Union, Oxford and The South East/0007281609
This guide is up to the standard of previous guides I have purchased. It has a good layout and being spiral bound is easy to use. Also the information for eating places is well laid out along with local points of interest. An economic buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I really enjoy this series of guides and I am slowly acquiring them as I visit different parts of the country and explore the canals. Excellent mapping and lots of valuable information in a very compact and practical form. A real must for those who love our canals!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
These guides have for years been the standard guides to the canals and are an essential accompaniment to a trip. This one is no different. The only caveat I have with all Nicholson guides is that the information about villages is not always up to date, even in the latest editions. It is worthwhile checking whether village shops still exist, before starting the walk from the tow path!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
The book was constantly in use by one person or another. You cannot plan your day without it. Endless advice and information essential throughout the time on the water. Where to get to when to get there, things to avoid things to do. We found it's content essential consideration in planning each and every part of the journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Very clear and informative, good idea to be spiral bound should make it much easier. On our last holiday we used an out of date book and although the canal system does not change - the pubs do!! Will put it to the test soon for a week on the water.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
This is a really great, easy to follow, in-depth guide to the canal. It would be useful for Boaters, walkers and cyclists alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)