Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 6 April 2017
Recieved with thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2008
As Head of Department at a very successful sixth form college, I buy in over 150 copies of this every year for my AS students. It is simply the best text book available for students studying towards an exam in AS Sociology. It is tightly focussed on the AQA syllabus and well organised into chapters that mirror the modules students will learn as part of their course.

Each chapter contains sufficient information to get any student a decent grade if they learn everything in the relevant chapters thoroughly, although more able students might wish the book went into more depth in certain areas. If you are one of these, then buy this and supplement with text books recommended by your teacher.

The book is very clearly written for a 16-19 audience and also contains research, examples and suggestions for activities and research that are much more up to date than any other text book on the market.

There are practice exam questions at the end of each chapter section.

The book is not suitable for someone wanting a general introduction to sociology, or for someone looking for a general interest read. For this try Thinking Sociologically by Bauman or the degree level intro. texts by either Giddens or Fulcher and Scott.

If you are an A level student, buy this!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2011
This book is really useful for those who are doing the course. I'd recommend it to anyone who is doing AS level Sociology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
The layout does not help at all, it is paragraphs and paragraphs of writing, which I find hard to revise from and pick key points to translate onto revision cards/notes. It's like a discussion rather than just simply laying down what you need to know for the exams that are easily understandable. This revision guide actually makes it sound more complicated.

Instead, I would recommend the Succeed at AS Sociology: The Complete Revision Guide, for the AQA Specification by Rob Webb. I can see that majority of the reviews are positive, but trust me, being a student with no previous knowledge of Sociology; this book is not the one!! #TeamRobWebb
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2012
I have just finished my AS level in sociology and have to say this book was no way near as helpful as other reviews are suggesting, so I decided to review it for other students who are thinking of buying it. The information is quite vague and feels rushed and I found that it was not enough to get the higher grade answers in the essays since 24 and 20 mark questions need a lot of detail. The book provides many key terms which can be very useful and some simplistic overviews on topics which is helpful if you are new to the subject sociology. I would however recommend this book as a secondary resource used alongside the Robb Webb revision guide (white and orange). If studying as sociology the Robb Webb revision guide is a must!!! (can not stress this enough, you'd be a fool not to get it) providing detailed information on all topics with many studies and theories which prove to be extremely helpful when answering the essay questions. The Robb Webb book also provides potential essay questions in each topic which you can complete and get your teacher to mark to prepare yourself for the exam which is extremely helpful. Over all this book is good for a brief overview and maybe those aiming at a C/B grade but not detailed enough for the higher A grade marks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2012
Fantastic book, would recommend to anybody taking A level Sociology. Each topic is divided up into clear subheadings with a glossary of key terms at the end of the topic and plenty of 'Test Your Understanding' questions. There is also mindmaps on each topics which is another easy way to consolidate your understanding.Gives clear examples from each perspective like the views of Marxists and Functionalists, however does not have information about the founders of sociology like Auguste Comte and Emile Durkheim, which was a little disappointing.

With that said, this book has really helped me so far and I'm only 3 weeks in! thoroughly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
This was a fab book for my course i was able to use it through the whole of the course and as my lecturer was using this book to teach us from so i was able to refer to it and quote from it thank you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2012
Its a great book, i highly recommend it as its very easy to understand and isnt too complicated. the delivery was good and so was the packaging! overall a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2013
Perfect condition, quick delivery. I have got a few sociology books but this is by far the best, I'd recommend it to any one studying at any level-GCSE to Alevel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2013
A useful book for sociology students, recommended as it shows you a good and clear insight of the subject which will help students in the exam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)