Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book really is a stunning book, inside and out. The outside of the book is well designed and looks great. The colours are vibrant and it looks great on the bookshelf. The inside of the book is well laid out with fantastic photographs, and clear and concise text that is easy to read. It's printed on thick glossy paper and the colour reproduction is excellent.

The information contained in this book is very in depth and it starts from the basics, and advances to the more intermediate level as you get further into the book. The book covers the basics of ISO, aperture (f-stop), shutter speed, exposure, accessories, flash, lighting, composition, RAW, JPEG, editing, photoshop, printing and much more. It really is a complete guide to photography. A beginner could pick this up, read it, and come away with a complete understanding of the basics of photography.

This book helps you take your photos from basic snapshots to professional looking print quality photos. The authors are very humble and there is no bragging about their achievements throughout the book, only a small part at the end. They are clearly very skilled as the photographs, and the in depth training they give you are both fantastic.

The book is very easy to read, it's not too heavy and it's accompanied by lots of really inspirational pictures. The authors don't assume your skill level at all, you could know nothing about photography and come away happy here. This book is perfect, both for beginners or the more advanced as it's a great reference book.

I couldn't recommend this beautiful, well written book enough.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2017
Excellent read and really guides a new student well on getting the best out of your camera. More importantly teaches you the relevant skills with alot of background information.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Not good using kindle app on IPad. Some of the photos are missing from this version and some are out of context. You have to use your imagination a little as none of the double page photos that are discussed in the text exist. Buy the paper version instead.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
As long as you know what to expect there wont be disappointment. The book is more geared towards intermediate e.g. somebody who is already knowledgeable but wants to improve his/her operations or wants a grounded recap. I have personally had prior learning online and elsewhere and this book provided me with what I needed - an all-in-one simplified recap, a structured project-base to improve my techniques.

The problem beginners will face is that the authors purposefully attempted to "leave out" the technical details but then ironically ends up in elaborated discourses using these very concepts which they omitted to expand due to their policy of leaving out the technicalities. Sometimes this resulted in convoluted sentences e.g. "You will know that wide-angle lens includes more of a scene..." which I did understood because I learnt lens optics before, but this is a recurrent tendency in the book, often literally expecting the reader to understand more than what was being said. A glossary exists but it suffers the same drawbacks - it is extremely basic, just merely enough to remind people who already has a clue about the terms their meanings. Elsewhere even though in their quest for simplicity the authors left out the technicalities, they ironically use complicated sentence constructions.
Example: referring to a picture caption: "On the 80mm setting, the camera was moved back to 9m from Antonio to keep his size roughly the same."
Again the Optics logic that underpins this was omitted due to technicalities but in this case the language is arbitrarily obscure for a beginner. The meaning in context here is: for a 80mm lens the photographer has to step 9m away from Antonio in order to keep his size roughly the same as that of the previous image.

Likewise in many other places they just make broad assumptions that the reader will know what they are talking about when this may not be the case. So they would be like: this is 30mm and the *jargon* is this and therefore that's the way it is! They decided to leave technicalities out but then ended up talking about more technicalities and jargons!

The book is quite small but very instructive in a simplified way and provides a short history of photography. However if you are a complete beginner I wont recommend it. But for the price and content I think it deserves a 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Stunning product, superbly built to a high standard. Extremely well packaged and generally a product that is manufactured by a well-respected name. All I can say is that this is a fantastic item and I am extremely pleased with it. The item was shipped extremely quickly and received the next working day. 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
This is a good reference book. I like the chapter on ISO, saying we can change for any image. Starting the exposure from there, before thinking about shutter speed, and aperture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Lovely book. For a young friend contemplating a photography career. Nice starters course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
An excellent book that covers all aspects of photography with comparative colour photo's, clear description, explanations and usage. Some of the topics covered include Exposure (inc Bracketing), Lighting (Natural, Sun, Portrait, Dark), Panning and Zoom, Shutter Speed, Composition, Depth of Field, Photoshop Effects and Tools, Filters, Portrait Shots and more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
I use this has given me more understanding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
I bought this book as a gift for my friend but i couldn't resist opening it and taking a look at what i had purchased. this book is fantastic. it's separated in projects and in each project it contains details about photography that every photographer should/must know. in the five minutes that i looked into it, i learnt so much and my friend is utterly satisfied with the book as a starter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)