Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2017
A marvellous collection of poems for children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Delightful book and an excellent teaching resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2005
Too many collections of poetry for children are rather patronizing and rather limited in their scope. My experience is that kids don't just want comic poems and/or poems about bodily functions or slugs. They really don't. Ted Hughes never wrote down to children and was passionate in encouraging poets of all ages. All his children's poetry from the slim volumes is brought together here, "graded" if you like from the poems for younger children to the more sophisticated work in SEASON SONGS. Having said that, a good poem is a good poem is a good poem- these poems are great for adults too. And they are accompanied by lovely images by Raymond Briggs.
I've bought this for my daughter as a Christmas present. She is 7 and a half, very keen on writing poems, also on animals. I believe she'll treasure it always.
If you buy this with THE COLLECTED POEMS OF TED HUGHES, you will have "riches beyond compare" on your bookshelf. At his weakest, he is still interesting-at his best, he is magnificent.
0Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
The poetry is superb of course - it is Ted Hughes. However I found the size and thickness of the book too large and unwieldy for children, and thinking it would remain unread, I bought the CD as well. Now I have the book and the children have the CD. Excellent as they can crayon and play whilst absorbing the spoken poems. (Yes I know that I could have read aloud to them, but it is not always possible.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
Poetry collection first rate really enjoyed reading these poems The book contains poems of great insight
and feeling a must for Hughes fans
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Nice to sit down and read something short!!! Poems start for younger ones and then as the book progresses they get longer. Nice illustrations by the guy who did the snowman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
i wanted something special for my friends new born baby. This poetry book was the perfect present.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
A delightful book. I gave it to my grandchildren (after I had read it!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2016
I love collecting poetry books therefore I bought this .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
My son is 13 and is enjoying this collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse